Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springhead Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 802 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

I love Springhead Elementary.l am a teacher at another local school. We are zoned for Springhead. Our experience has been wonderful. I have no complaints. The staff are all very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Wonderful teachers and staff. I am so greatful my children are lucky enough to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This is by far the worst school my daughter has been to. The staff is rude she has a really bad teacher & it is just all around BAD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

Absolutely love Springhead Elementary School. My son has been there since Kindergarten and is now in 3rd. All of his teachers have been wonderful and very caring. The entire staff at the school really put our children first!!!! Great job Springhead!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

So far i am happy with this school. My kid is in Mrs. Blacks kindergarten class and she is very good about her paperwork, and keeping up with each individuals needs. My kid has had a lot of problems transitioning, and she has helped a lot. So far So good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Awesome school system! Teacher/student ratio is wonderful. Teachers are a cut above the rest with amazing patience and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

this is a wonderful school u guyes help out so much especially dr.kilgore and all of the other teachershere at spring head
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2008

You could not ask for a better group of teachers. Absolutely wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

My children have attended Springhead Elementary School for eight years. I love the school. Mrs. Black the principal is great. The teachers are there, because they love to teach, not just for the paycheck. I agree about needing volunteers. I work in the classroom a couple of times a month. I never see other parents working in the classrooms. The school is in the process of being remodeled, which is greatly needed. We are getting a larger lunchroom with a stage for the PTA plays. Hopefully there will be enough room for everyone to see the plays. Parents are always welcome. The staff knows the children by name. Each child is treated as an individual. There are many incentives for perfect attendance, AR reading goals and good behaviors. I am looking forward to the improvements of the school, as we will be there for many years to come. ~Tammy Anderson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

My two children have done very well at Springhead. They both remained on honor roll and both got involved in the reading programs. I just wish the school had a web site, like a lot of the other elementary schools. The other schools have an advantage over the summer with posted reading list, like the battle of the books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

The quality of academic programs is excellent, I have a child in the gifted program who has excelled in Springhead. Music and art are available to the children with an emphisis on music. Parent envolvement is ok but could be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2004

Great school. The teachers are willing to work with students and parents. Principal and asst, principal have an open door policy. Very child-friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

My daughter has been at this school for three years and it's wonderful place for a child to learn. They do need a little more parent envolvement. It seems to be the only time they get Volunteers is when there is a Fieldtrip. Don't get me wrong. They do need Volunteers then but they also need volunteers during reagular days at school. I am a didicated Volunteer. I want to be involved in my daughter schooling. The more we have volunteers the more time the teachers have to teach. The only time the teachers have on a break is about 30 minutes and I have spent all day in the copy room before. And one more thing These schools need better Copy machines, the whole time last yearone of the two copy machine weren't working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2003

Springhead Elementary is a wonderful enviornment for a child to attend school. It provides a loving, caring place for a child to learn. You won't find a better staff/faculty/administration to teach/care for your child.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 29%
White 41% 42%
Black 7% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%67%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Ann Rushing
Fax number
  • (813) 757-9500

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3208 Nesmith Rd
Plant City, FL 33566
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 757-9321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT