Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,022 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pompano Beach Middle School 1

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
This school is TERRIBLE! The current Magnet program is a total joke and they are starting a new theme: Information Technology and Computer Engineering for the 2016-2017 school year. If this is run as well as the last theme.......RUN AWAY!!! MANY promises have been made about this new program and the fact of the matter is nobody knows if those promises are true.They will say or do anything to attract students to this school. There are students with terrible behavior such as cursing, threatening, spreading rumors, and assaulting other students and stealing phones. Nothing is being done about it. Racial tensions are high. Students were evacuated from the school a few months ago because of a bomb threat. The teachers lie to parents when they have questions, and refuse to meet in person. They have excuses not to answer my questions. I was lucky enough to get my daughter into another magnet program in another school starting in August.

Pompano Beach Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 11, 2016
- a student
They give students homework on everything that they should've taught but never did and expect them to know it all


Pompano Beach Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a student
They don't do anything but eat and be on they're phones . They don't care if the students have education or not

Pompano Beach Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a student
No one has respect . No one shows respect . All trash talk . No good grammar . All street talk.

Pompano Beach Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a student
This school doesn't care about the students education or well being . All they care about are the negative part about the students


Pompano Beach Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a student
Teachers / Staff don't do anything for students. But yell at them . Ex: Lesson plan of the day? Rewrite the textbook in your notebook .

Pompano Beach Middle School 1

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
AWFUL, AWFUL SCHOOL. My child attended a very good elementary school that feeds into this dreadful disaster. There are fights all the time. The school is classified by the federal government as a "HIGH NEEDS" school and does not attract top teaching talent. From the open house we attended there were many, many promises made which simply are NOT true. Try to get a reassignment to another school.

Pompano Beach Middle School 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
This school is horrible. Dont understand how they continue to let Mrs. Brazil be principal. I have tried numerous times to meet with the principal and front desk staff always has an excuse as to why she is unavailable. Front desk staff is so rude and tries to intimidate parents. I personally have stood there and watched staff talk bad and very rude to parents that speak spanish and dont understand english. Staff and administration do not care for the kids. They belittle parents and staff. They gossip about kids, with kids and also instigate. Mr. Zimmerman and Mr. Berkowitz are great administrators, they interact with the kids and they care for the kids. I wonder how many of us parents actually met the principal. Next step is the school district. Lets see if the principal will meet with me then!!


Pompano Beach Middle School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This is a horrible school. Look at the test scores, way below state average and dropping 3 of the past 4 years. How the principal stays here, for so many years, with so many problems, is beyond me. Bullying is rampant, as is drug use and fighting. And nothing is done. They can claim they offer various programs, but that really is a sham to try to disguise what is truly a horrible school with a principal who should have been removed long ago.

Pompano Beach Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is beyond terrible. I first attended in 2010 for my 6th grade year. The guidance is terrible. They do not investigate any sort of situation, they even favor some students over others and will take their opinions over others! My sister goes there now and she is in her last year and boy, am I glad for that. Too many fights & bullying and nothing being done about it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pompano Beach Middle School
310 Northeast 6th Street, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. (754) 322-4200
Last modified Pompano Beach Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top