Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cypress Elementary School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
Everyone I know including me have taken their children out of this school. It is by very bad neighborhoods, the parents do not participate. There is a good neighborhood close by, but the parents refuse to send their kids there. It should be considered an ESOL school.

Cypress Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2008
- a student
Cypress Elemntary Is The Best Elementary School That I Haved Ever Wish To Go To Because It Has Helped In Through Out The Years. Now I Am Going To High School And I Have Good Academics To Go To The Next Grade. Thank You To All The Teacher In Cypress Elemntary.


Cypress Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2007
- a administrator
The classroom teachers that have been there a while are good. My oldest son had teachers leave in the middle of his 3rd and 4th grade years - and he had to endure months of multiple substitute teachers. I think this is a sign of how difficult the principal is - it typically should not take months to find a replacement. When working with administrators it's difficult for them to respond in a timely manner. I've expressed my concerns to the principal, and she takes no corrective action, and makes no effort to make things better. Ms Portman is difficult at best - this school needs better management and they will excel. There are some incredible teachers and some that are just OK. Teachers make all the difference. Both of my kids will be going elsewhere next year.

Cypress Elementary School 4

Posted July 04, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Cypress Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cypress Elementary School 2

Posted May 27, 2005
- a parent
Cypress has great potential; there are committed teachers and parents who want their kids to succeed; it is hampered by a principal who seems more concerned with statistics than with people. As a result the atmosphere is tense and teachers are unhappy. Parents can make the difference if they are willing to stand up to her and fight for their children. The PTO is weak, partly because the administration is very controlling, and as a result extracurricular activities and field trips are practically non existent. With more parental involvement this could be a great school.

Cypress Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cypress Elementary School 1

Posted January 21, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cypress Elementary School 3

Posted January 03, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cypress Elementary School
851 Southwest 3rd Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
(754) 322-6050
Last modified Cypress Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cypress Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.