Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Highlands Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 650 students

Our school is best known for outstanding excellence in Christ-centered education
 
 

 

Living in Pompano Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2014

As a Christian parent, I was looking for a Christ-centered private school that would encourage my child's faith and offer a well rounded educational program. From the first day my child started school at Highlands Christian Academy, the admin and staff worked on finding my childs strengths and led him in getting involved. The administration are compassionate for each child and sincerely care for their spiritual and social development as well as their educational and extracurricular activities. The experienced and long term administration has shown stability for the school that many schools I looked at, did not have to offer. They have an online grading system that also allows me as a parent to know how my child is doing academically on a daily basis. I love that my child has chapel weekly too. They attract outside speakers to challenge the students. I would have to give HCA an A+++ for the most well rounded spiritually focused school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

Very disappointed with Highlands. One thing I've learned is they will do anything to get a dollar out of you. Several of staff members smoke, dip and drink out of school hours witch I would think would be a no no, and has been well documented over the years I should add. Deerfield is a much safer and better option for your son or daughter


Posted August 24, 2014

Excellent Christian education. Loving and safe environment. Easy access to faculty and administration. Fantastic campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

To a parent the worst thing that can happen is to have your son bullied. The second worst thing is to have the school do nothing about it. STANDARD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

Not worth the money. It's a bunch of clowns that get pleasure out of getting your children in trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

I give this school a BIG FAT ZERO. They have no team spirt they Do not have the emotional well being of the kids.They are doing bad finically because kids are leaving the school.No parent participation. I have heard of middle school kids being bullied and they don't handle it they just say lets pray about it. They hide behind GOD because they are NOT doing their job. I do NOT recommend this school . My kids had a terrible experience and school should be fun. The teachers act like the kids friends then turn on them as soon as they get the chance. They are all hypocrites. TERRIBLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

I am a junior in high school and have attended this school since I was three years old. Both my older brothers went here as well. My oldest brother went to Liberty University. My middle brother has autism and now works in a welding shop. I love all the teachers. I love my school. I don't know what some of these posts are talking about with lack of discipline as that has never been my experience. I feel all my teachers, office ladies, lunch ladies, daycare ladies, and the principals really care about us. There is no school I would rather be at than Highlands Christian Academy. I know my brothers loved this school too! If you want your kids to have the best education in an environment where the people who work there really care about you, then this is the school for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I currently attend Highlands Christian Academy, and I have been here since fourth grade. So far, the experience has been great, until this 2013-2014 school year. My classmates and I truly feel it's going downhill from the amazing school it used to be. We don't get to do half the things students in the past got to do, and the education and discipline is so poor. In most of my classes, my teachers are too busy trying to settle down the students to even teach the lesson. It's not always the teacher's fault, but the students here are wild almost, they never stop trying to get themselves in trouble. The education doesn't get good until junior year, apparently. Also, the authority figures always seem so unorganized and 'too busy' to even just talk to students who ask to see them. Still, this is an amazing place to make lifelong friends. And although the small student body can cause some drama, it feels like a huge family when I'm there. It always seems like everyone is laughing! The pros weigh over the cons most definitely, but I just thought I'd share how I see the school from a students point of view.


Posted August 29, 2013

I went to highlands Christian academy for 11 years and loved it! I just graduated this year (2013) and miss it already. The teachers are great! They truly care about you and will become your best friends when you leave highlands. They also are very good at their profession. I learned so much while going here and they prepared me for college well. They are a great Christian school and helped me grow closer to The Lord. I actually want to go back and teach because I loved it so much! I recommend the school!


Posted August 27, 2013

I had a very terrible experience with this school and I am being generous in offering them one star. I have never posted a review of any kind in my life but this time truly has to be an exception. The school lacks discipline in the middle school and the kids just simply try to best each other in getting the most detention for the week. I paid a very hefty sum to learn my lesson about this school and I would never recommend to anyone. Parents, do your homework and look further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

We have been at Highlands Christian for 6 years and moving into our 7th with two boys. Although the the tuition (fairly low for a private school) and campus ( fairly large for a Broward county private school) wer the first things that drew us, it has been the people that have kept us here. The teachers and staff really care about the students, not only grade wise, but as individuals. There is a reasonable number of kids per grade for social development, but not so many that ours get lost in the crowd. The academics are not top magnet school caliber, but they do offer a challenge and push for any intelligent child. There are additional programs within the basics for those who want to stretch themselves. We haven't experienced the high school yet, but we have noticed that there are about 4 AP classes and a number of honors classes as well. One negative that I have seen is that they do not fully utilize the wonderful parent base that exists. I think that with a more active PTA and more input from parents, Highlands would rise to a whole other level. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

Highlands Christian Academy provides a Christ centered education by offering quality educational and extra curricular programs, such as athletics and fine arts. Over the years, I have witnessed my children grow to be well rounded individuals who have excelled academically, but most importantly, spiritually. The administration and faculty genuinely care about the students and work hard to help them succeed. I would recommend HCA to those parents searching for an excellent Christian school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

My children have attended this school for ten years. This last year was a disaster they took their eye of the prize of teaching about God. They were focused on many problems they had from a new computer system , many students not from Christian families and they fired the high school principal and a few others. They lost over 100 kids last year and they continue to say the decline is based on finance. The decline is based on you and how you run a school. In todays competitive market you can't be winging it for Jesus daily and survive. I pray that HCA will survive. The school is academically suffering in the high school and the educational standard is declining. We used to love the school but they have learned how to focus on a few kids and have idolizd them. They have not maintained the high standard God calls us to be which is excellent. We used to have better parent involvement and know we have nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

As a parent I searched high and low for a school that would meet our standards for our daughters education. Florida has one of the lowest rated schools in the country, I am so glad to see that at Highlands they fight to maintain quality academics and athletics...and the fruit of their labor reflects in the students there. I love that they are providing an amazing CHRIST-CENTERED education when so many other schools are trying to be of the world. I see us being here through graduation and encourage everyone to bring their child to be part of the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

My child is entering 7th grade as a parent I believe this is a crucial and influential time in her life. I am blessed to know that she will be in an environment that focuses on putting God first. My interactions with the teachers and principals so far has been AMAZING....I strongly believe that the education of my child is a partnership we take on and I am glad to be partnered up with them. I STRONGLY recommend anyone to send their kids to Highlands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

My child attended the VPK program at this school. It was a horrible experience. They discouraged parents from being involved in the class room or volunteering at all. They over used time outs for the smallest offense. They also made children hold the "BIg Book" in the preschool directors class room till there arms tired as punishment. They took away play time on the playground with time out where they sat children in the sun along a hot fence. I spoke with other parents and they had the same experiences and where really upset as well. They are new to the VPK system and are majorly lacking in providing a positive and joyful introduction to school. Do not send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My child has attended this school since K-3. The elementary school years are quite challenging. They are now working on more challenging strategies for the secondary school years, which they did not have before. I LOVE that my child has the opportunity to be surrounded by those who want to follow Jesus Christ's leadership. They are missing a school nurse and guidance counselors, which is needed in any school out there. This school wants the best for your child spiritually and academically, which is very rare to find in any private or public school. HCA is a diamond in the rough. I highly recommend it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

This is the 5th year my kids have gone to HCA. The teachers, principal and students are all wonderful. Academic excellence is stressed, along with a love of faith and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

I have kids that attend HCA as well. They offer a unique family atmosphere where the teachers care for the kids and the parents. They truly want your kids to succeed in life. They give them the academic and spiritual tools they will need to move onto college and beyond. I can't say they are not without their faults but what school doesn't have some sort of faults if you are truly honest about your current school. They welcome parental involvement in all areas of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

This is a wonderful school. I just moved to south Florida and this is the only school i found to be clean, welcoming and worth driving 18 miles each way for! i had searched for a school in many areas and this one I felt the best about. I have two girls, one in fourth and the other in pk. Both love going to school and both have wonderful teachers that care deeply about the children in their academics and personally. Its a close knit Christian environment...Just great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 12% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Abundant Life Christian Academy
St. Paul Lutheran
Lighthouse Christian
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 70% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 6% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty University
Palm Beach Atlantic
FAU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Clubs
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ken Lopez
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (954) 421-2429

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
178
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
700
Students typically come from these schools
Abundant Life Christian Academy
St. Paul Lutheran
Lighthouse Christian

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty University
Palm Beach Atlantic
FAU
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 70%
Military - 6%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 NE 48th St
Pompano Beach, FL 33064
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 421-1747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Deerfield Beach High School
Deerfield Beach, FL



Bright Horizons
Pompano Beach, FL


Tedder Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL



Norcrest Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT