Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ponce De Leon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 312 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

Very poor communication between parents & teachers! I have been extremely disappointed in the lack of concern for areas of difficulty with my child with his teacher! When he was in Kindergarten I had the most incredible relationship with his teacher. She was always readily available & more than willing to take the time needed to address any & all issues concerning my child's education, how well he was doing or issues that needed more attention. U cannot say the same for his 1st grade teacher however. She is always in a rush, seems like she is disinterested in talking with me concerning the interest of my child's education. As far as I am concerned Holmes County QWES my child a good quality education, as do they each & every child in that school. The lack if communication with parent & teacher is a serious problem. The homework that they are given come with little or mostly no instruction fircthe Parent to be able to help their child learn. I wish we had another school in our county b/c I would certainly place him there!! Not a happy parent at all!! They really need to step it up or it will be the children who will suffer not the teacher!! More involvement NEDDED!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

Ponce does NOT utilize parent involvement, computer and other technology resources ALREADY FREELY AVAILABLE BY DISTRICT. High teacher turnover for good teachers, poor in-school communication from top down, parents not made aware of programs available. There are teachers, counselors and others that do care very much but you have to get inside information to know who these people are. Administration leaves it up to individual teachers as to whether they take classes for technology and up to date information every year, so hope you are lucky enough get one of these teachers.HIGHLY RECOMMEND that if you have to attend this school, the first thing you should do is get your child an Area II district advocate to aid in looking out for their best interests keep and in touch with them weekly as TOP ADMIN AND TEACHERS HARD TO WORK AND MEET WITH. Advice coming from 5 years( Pre-K to 4th grade experiences), please learn from my naivety about all schools taking "NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND" seriously & end up spending thousands on supplementary materials, locating information, frustration and begging for information. VERY IMPORTANT TO BE PROACTIVE AT THIS SCHOOL AS WELL AS CONSTANT FOLLOW UP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

Ponce de Leon Elementary is a relatively small school, and has an excellent faculty and staff. They all truly care about the students and make an effort to address each of their individual needs.


Posted May 22, 2008

The school is great and the tachers are perfect i went to school there started in 3rd grade and mrs. peak and mrs. sims helped me out good and i love all of the faculty and staff and the school it self


Posted February 11, 2008

I go to school their and I have never learned more.It is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

I drive almost 80 miles a day from another county to bring my children here. No regrets. The administration is always easily available. Everyone is so helpful and kind. The teachers keep you up to date on your child's progress. This is a small school, with a family,, and christian base. At my son's first field day, my husband wasn't wearing a name badge. Within a few minutes, a woman from the school came up and questioned who he was, and didn't leave until satisfied. The safety here is phenomenol.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

This is an absolutely great school. I have always felt welcomed any time I visit the school. They offer many activities to keep the students absorbed in learning and thye make it fun. They are very good about sending letters home about upcoming events and keeping the parents posted on any issues concerning their child. I am very impressed with this school and the faculty. My husband and I are very pleased with the decision we made to let our children be 'little pirates!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

This is a great school because the teachers and faculty really listen to the parents and always take time to talk with the parents. The teachers are very concerned about their students and help any way they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

Ponce de Leon Elementary has excellent teachers and staff. Volunteer program helps provide extra support for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 89%
Hispanic 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANISSA LOCKE
Fax number
  • (850) 836-5325

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1473 Ammons Road
Ponce de Leon, FL 32455
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 836-4296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Walton Virtual School Full Time
DeFuniak Springs, FL


Cornerstone Church Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL


Galilean Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL


First Christian Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT