Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deep Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 724 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

Great changes!!!! With the new addition of the principal & assistant principal this year, I've seen many great changes in the school. My daughter is in 3rd grade this year (4th year @ school) & is very blessed to have an incredible new teacher (Ms. DiLena) among many new great additions. Way to go, DCES!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

This is a great school! We moved here in February from a neighboring county while my daughter was in vpk. I was very nervous for her to start kindergarten in charlotte county due to the fact that I knew nothing about any of the schools in the district. Deep creek is really amazing and my daughter loves it. Her teacher is awesome and knew that my daughter was a little a head of the other students so she started giving her more challenging work to keep her occupied. I honestly couldn't ask for a better school. It's smaller and in a quiet neighborhood. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

HIGHLY recommend DEEP CREEK !!!! We just moved here in July 2009 & didn't know a thing about this area.My son was starting 5th grade. They made us feel so at home! I joined PTO and met so many people in the same situation! LOVED the principal, teachers and the secretaries are so nice & friendly !! Great experience!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

They care about the children. They make time for the students that have a problem & the ones that get bullied they obide by those rules!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I am a previous parent to this school. This is an exceptional elementary school. Highly recommended and rated. This school is also in a lovely golf course community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

This is a wondeful school and the staff is nice as well as the efforts they make..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My son just started Kindergarten at Deep Creek Elementary and I was extremely concerned being that he was in a Private School environment for the past 4 1/2 years prior to this change. So far Deep Creek has been such a wonderful experience. Every morning he is greeted by a smiling staff at the parent drop off area to start off the day, his teacher is wonderful and has been terrific about keeping me updated on my son's learning skills as well as his behavioral skills on a daily basis due to their fantastic 'Good Manners Board' system. So far we have been very pleased at not only the things mentioned, but on how organized everything is including the extras like the Book Fairs, Mid-term reports, Fundraiser's etc. I am very pleased that my son is attending Deep Creek and give it the highest rating possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Deep Creek Elemetary is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff go above and beyond what is required of them. There is a very strong parent and community involvement. My child has excelled greatly in this school both academically and socially. I am glad to have him in such a positive atmosphere and am looking forward to sending my younger children there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

Parents here are very involved. Excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

We are very happy with this schooll! Both my son and daughter go there and every year the teachers get better and better. The school is very family oriented and you feel very welcomed walking in the front door every day. The school especially welcomes parents to volunteer and interact with their children and the school which is a big plus! Lots of school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

Excellent Elementary school, concerned teachers and staff. The teachers, including the principal greet the children in the morning at the parent drop-off and remarkably I notice that they know my 6-year old son's name everyday. What a great environment for a child to start their education experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 13% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%53%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Adrienne McElroy
Fax number
  • (941) 255-7541

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26900 Harbor View Rd
Port Charlotte, FL 33983
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 255-7535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Florida Prep School
Port Charlotte, FL



East Elementary School
Punta Gorda, FL


Kingsway Elementary School
Port Charlotte, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT