Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vineland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 607 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2014

I had 2 boys go through this school and can tell you that it is an excellent learning environment. Both my kids were part of the full time gifted program starting in 4th grade and their teacher was exceptional. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I had 2 children in this school. We moved to get away from this school. My son is gifted and mildly autistic. One of his teachers use to put him in a closet. They told me if I didn't medicate him for ADHD they were going to kick him out, even though his Dr. said he didn't have ADHD. When I told them he was to smart for the work they were giving him, which is why he was acting up, they told me he wasn't smart because of his behavior. I moved and my son is now in the gifted program and doing much better. I suggest you don't go to this school if you value your child's education!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I have 2 daughter's that are in their second years at Vineland. My experience has been overall FANTASTIC. The principal, staff, and teachers are all amazing! We love Vineland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

My son and stepson both attended this school. I say attended because we moved just to get out of the school district. If your child is smart or different, then this is NOT the place to send them. Both of them were labeled with psychological issues, and I was politely told I needed to medicate my son for being hyper even though his Dr says he does not have ADHD. So they sent him home every chance they got, put him in ESE classes where he began hitting and crying. Still, I was relived because he stopped coming home with bruises...he said his teacher hurt him...which the school denied. Then, I met a middle school student that used to have her as a teacher and told me abusive horror stories of how she was treated! The school refuses to do lice checks. Has teachers who are so burned out and unhappy, my step son comes home stressed out from the teacher yelling at him. They have a wonderful front desk staff and a few wonderful teachers, but overall they have steadily sunk over the last 3 years and we are happy to be rid of this school, and so are our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

My boys attended Vineland for 3 years. If your children need extra help look elsewhere they won't get it here. One of my children was placed in a class where the standards were so far below grade level he played most of the time and the other was just passed along. The 2nd one would get 15 spelling words a week and even though h e would never get more than 2 or 3 correct the class would move on and leave him behind. My concerns were completely ignored. We have since moved and they both now attend Toledo Blade in North Port. The ESE teacher there is a god send. She is very experienced and no nonsense. She requires the children make a sincere effort perform as best they possibly can. She really understands that she is teaching them life skills and if they need to work harder to achieve she makes them believe they can do it. Vineland convinced my children they were not able or expected to achieve. I will probably have to have one of them repeat 2nd grade to make up for all the time lost at Vineland
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Fantastic, creative teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My experience with Vineland has been poor overall. The office staff has been rude and very unproffessional. The principal and assistant principal intimidate the children and do not communicate well with parents at all.The teachers seem to be more interested in socializing with eachother then paying attention to the children in their class. Some of the teachers are very good and well educated to teach elementary, however some of the teachers just couldn't be bothered. The experience my family has had with Vineland has been very disappointing . This school does not seem to care about the students at all. They do not encourage parent involvement and would rather the parents be left in the dark about what goes on at this school. I would not reccomend this school to anyone. My children no longer attend and their new school is light years ahead of Vineland in every aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

My boys love this school. We moved to Rotonda from New England and Florida has a very bad reputation as far as education goes, so I was worried my kids would be bored at school because they'd be ahead of the other kids. I was pleasantly surprised to find, not only were they not ahead, but they were being challenged to catch up! Love Vineland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My children have been going to Vineland for several years, and I could not be more pleased with them. They thoroughly love the school and the teachers are wonderful. the school is the reason that we stay in the Rotonda area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

The teaching staff is great!!!! Many opportunities for parents to be as involved in the school as they choose. Administrative staff in thorough and on top of the current issues of todays youth
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter started going to Vineland school in January of last school year from kingsway in pt charlotte, I am sooo much happier with the chalanges she is expected to meet. Andrea
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Excellent school. Fantastic teachers throughout evrty grade who are commited to their students and routinely go beyond the call of duty. A very good principle who commands a 'tight ship' and ensures a safe environment for children as well as instilling a sense of community. All FCAT and NRT results are good and there is also an excellent program for gifted students. Music, art, sports are available for all. Parents and grandparents take a very active part in both their children's progress as well as the school itself. Music, computers, art and spo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

I had one son in pre-k and another son in k. The parent involvment at this school is excellent. There is always something going on at this school. My sons were evaluated for speech, and I felt they handled everything very professional and in a timely fashion. They will soon be in a class at the school to help them with this obstacle. My boys always rave about the media,art,and p.e. classes. I enjoy them going to this school, we will hope to find a school in equal value! The teachers are priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

This is the best school my child has ever attened. You could not ask for a more invovled staff,or parental involment. When you are at the school you almost feel as though you have know every staff member your whole life. They treat each child with the respect and compassion they deserve. It is almost like my child is going to a second family. The academic quality of this school is far superior to any other he has attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My child has attended Vineland for 2 years now. Starting in kindergarden, now he's in first grade. From what I've seen the teachers he's had are working together to progress him to the next level. They are well aware of what the prior grade has taught & they pick it up & send him forward. They are very willing to involve parents & ask that if any parent has a problem to let them know so they can try to resolve any problems. I have been very happy with his teachers so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Hispanic 9%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. LAURA BLUNIER
Fax number
  • (941) 697-5902

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

467 Boundary Boulevard
Rotonda West, FL 33947
Phone: (941) 743-0188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT