Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ruskin Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1094 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

This school is great for children.The teachers are wonderful ,they tell me what my children need to improve in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

The school staff is very helpful. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure my child is successful. My child loves her teacher and the principal Ms. Amos. My daughter comes home excited about what happened that day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Great teachers, have a great experience there. I have two boys, one in 2nd grade and another in 4th grade. The teachers are in constantly in contact with parents so we know what is going on and how to help our children better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Ruskin Elementary is an up and coming school. This is my sons second year there, and all of the teachers are very friendly. The one complaint I have about my child going to Ruskin Elementary is you can not drop off before 7:30am and there are not any before school care providers that I have found that will take him to school for those of us that start work at 7am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

My child has attended Ruskin Elementary for 2 years now and the communication at this school is below poor. The school believes in letting a child fail before getting the child assistance to further develope. This is unacceptable. I have asked the school what scales they use, who's method they are using in the classroom, etc. I still have not been given an answer. If you send your child here, be ready for a whole lot of, "I don't know's" from this team. Sickning that our schools have come to this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Great school and great teachers! Its my girl's first year here and she was very happy. The service, communication and support to the parents is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

Today was my sons first day of school at Ruskin Elementay school. Everything seemed to be going well at first, I took him to school to sign him up for class and walked him to class to meet his teacher. My son was supposed to ride the bus home in the evening so I waited. 20 min after the bus was supposed to arrive I called the school to see what was going on and they said they had to do a head count to make sure all of the children were on the bus so it was running late. When the bus finaly did show up my son did not get off the bus. I went up to the school to have them check to see if maybe he got on the wrong bus. No come to find out he never got on any bus, he was still on campus with some teacher. This was about 3:30 they found him with the teacher on campus. The school never called me to let me know my son was even on campus and when I got to the school they did not know he was even there. My son just started the first grade, it would have been his first time riding the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

I am a teacher at Ruskin. This is my first year teaching here and I love it already! The teachers and staff are very helpful and friendly. The school is clean and appears organized and well-run. I love going to work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2010

I have a child in 4th grade and he is miserable. The racial divide is so great that he is kicked, pushed, spit at for being 'not a Mexican'. Those were the exact words the student said in front of the principal and myself in justifying his actions. It is actually common after speaking to other parents about this. The teacher has never taken action against any of this. It took my child coming home bruised and scratched and going to the Asst. Principal to get this matter addressed! Eventually two of the kids did get a three day suspension.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

My son started pre-k two yeras ago and he has learn alot. The teachers are great to comunicate with one as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter is now in 4th grade. She came here during the 1st grade year and has had excellent teachers along the way. Last year, Mrs. Armstrong and Mrs. Auciello were especially caring and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

seems as though they cater to people who do not speak english. lacking behind compared to other hillsborough county schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

Great school, my son went there from Kindergarden to 5th grade. Now my daughter is attending. The principal and the staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I am proud that my child attends Ruskin Elem. in Ruskin, Fl. This school kicked it up a noch from earning a B in 2006-2007 to earning an A 2007-2008. This is a great accomplishment considering the year they earned the A the school had a student population of approximately 1,200 students in the K-5 school. The staff is dedicated and works hard to provide a quality education for each student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2008

My daughter attended kindergarten here and will continue. The curriculum is wonderful; however, your pockets need to be deep. Besides tuition, seems every few weeks they were demanding more money. All in all, it beats the alternative of Ruskin elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

I love this school. my daughter went there last year for the first time and everyone there helped her and our family out the best. I cant wait for this year when both of my kids go there. BRAVO Ruskin. Proud parent and a PROUD PTA member.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

Ruskin is a great school. It is the only elementary school in the district that currently has an elementary band program. The teachers seem varied between being educational experts and at best mediocre. I'm sure that in time, this will improve. Ruskin has just had a great turnover in staff and is about 50% new this year. I'd personally like to see more activities available for students with music, art, and PE. The administration and staff of Ruskin are the nicest people on the planet and it is always a joy to talk to any one of them. I think Ruskin is on the right track. They should be proud to be a 'B' school considering their heavy migrant population and the inability of many parents to help with their children's learning. Bravo Ruskin!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2005

Ruskin is a great school with many dedicated teachers that maintain high expectations for each child. They go the extra mile to ensure that each student in their class is sucessful in their individual level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

I went to elementary school here and all the teachers were very nice and friendly. I had Mrs. Craft for a teacher and she was the greatest teacher i ever had!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 67%
White 22%
Black 9%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%67%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA AMOS
Fax number
  • (813) 671-5182

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 East College Avenue
Ruskin, FL 33570
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 671-5177

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Berean Academy
Tampa, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT