Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

717 students|St. Johns
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
I am friendly with quite a few teachers at this school. They are afraid of Joy Taylor. They have been unhappy with her and her philosophy on how to run the school. They are aware of many incidents of being quite unfair to the kids.

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
No matter how hard my son tried, he realized it would never matter. Joy Taylor would always change the truth.


W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My son learned to not respect the authority figures in the school when they disrespected him. Even in elementary school, my son learned dishonesty from joy Taylor

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Joy Taylor has altered the truth to fit her version of the truth. She took out her irritation with me on my son. She placed completely incorrect information in my sons permanent record. She is a terrible woman.

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
The principal Joy Taylor sets a great example of dishonestly and underhanded behavior to achieve her desired result. She is willing to alter the truth to fit her need. A lack of integrity and fairness at the top trickles down to everyone below.


W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
When my child attended this school, a classmate of his was found walking down US1. Somehow he walked out of his 2nd grade classroom and out of the school without being stopped. When I approached Joy Taylor about how this occurred and how it was being prevented, she was very unpleasant. A week later, my son left his computer class and wandered back to his classroom without anyone stopping him. Again, a visit with Ms. Taylor did not end well. After that point, she took her frustration with me, out on my son. She was rude, allowed my son to be bullied, and watched my son with a very very critical eye. She created such a unpleasant learning environment for us, we pulled our son out of this school. When my son found out he was not returning to Hartley, he was so happy. He told me, "they made me feel bad about myself everyday." We are so happy to be away from that horrible woman. We know many many people who have had similar issues with her. If your child is not a statue, you will eventually have an interaction with her.

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
If you are moving to St Augustine make sure you are zoned for Hartley. This is the BEST school in the county. I wasted a lot of $$$ in private schools for my older son who is now in college (and was not prepared at all for college). I have my 6 year old in Kindergarten and we love it! Ms Jones is great. Hartley is safe, great parent involvement, easy to communicate with teachers and principal and most of all best test scores.

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Both of my kids go to Hartley and have awesome teachers and since it is a small school they have never had more that 20 in classes.


W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a parent
Hartley is a wonderful school. My youngest daughter finished second grade there and she simply blossomed. It is a safe enjoyable environment for children to learn in. The teachers and administration are fabulous and are always looking for parent involvement and are always there if you need any help.

Nearby schools

W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School
260 Cacique Drive, Saint Augustine, FL  32086
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (904) 547-8400
Last modified W. Douglas Hartley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top