Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Julington Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1068 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

Julington Creek Elementary has the BEST teachers. I have 2 boys and both have wonderful, loving, caring, and highly intelligent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

One of the top rated Elementary schools in Florida! So blessed my children are fortunate enough to go there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Strong administration does matter. I would not have thought so when my son was in K. The administration at JCE is making a real effort to improve. It's a tough job and Mr. Story has grown into his role at principal. The school will continue to improve. With the budget shortfall, it has gained a focus that it did not have - - - that is true of our own household. We will have many happy memories as we move on to Fruit Cove Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Julington Creek Elementary has the most amazing teachers! I love how they work together and each contribute their own unique style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Although construction has given the school some challenges, JCE's leadership team has tried to meet the needs of all. I love the new safety measures put in place and feel our children are safer than before. We also love the new math enrichment program that has been put in to place to challenge our child. Many times my child is overlooked becuase he will do just fine in the general education class and there are others in need of more direct attention. It is nice to see enrichment activities put in place versus the normal remediation practices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I second the issue with administration, the school no longer has a strong positive leadership and it is showing with staff morale. The construction has been a nightmare and instead of actively trying to find a solution the administration is ignoring and squelching complaints from parents and staff. I don't expect tremendous change until the administration realizes their most important asset is their teachers. A shiny new cafetorium is wonderful but the knowledge served up daily is where their concern should be focused. Mr. Story this isn't OZ, this is a school with issues that need to be addressed, pay attention before the children pay for your lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

As a transplanted northerner, I was skeptical about FL schools. I have been blown away by JCE! The teachers, administration and staff are ALL outstanding. My children have enjoyed every of minute of education at JCE. They are treated with respect, expectation and love. Teachers utilize the latest technology and are continually educating themselves to increase active participation of the students. Our kids LOVE FCAT week because they are so well prepared and the teachers make it fun, not daunting! Teachers are fair-expecting their students to try their hardest and do their best. There is no favoritism, no cliques at any grade level. Everyone is treated equal and fairly. I, personally, couldn't have picked better teachers than what JCE has to offer. I wish my kids could stay here for all 12 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

I am a very involved parent at this school and have major concerns regarding the adminstration here. Overall it is a great school when it comes to the teachers with the exception of a few who are too strict and inflexible. The problem arises when one encounters these teachers and try to find a solution with the Principal. He is very teacher supportive and leaves little room for parent's conerns in these instances. There are many parents who have encountered same problem with Principal and teachers here. Also this administration has a habit of hiding issues from parents and the school district to the kids detriment. Great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

This school has great parent involvement. The kids really excell with all the attention. The new principal, Mr. Story, is great. They really challenge the kids academically. The art program was great also. I heard over and over about the wonderful music teacher also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

JCE is a wonderful school! The teachers and staff are among the best. Parent involvement is incredible. Truly an A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

Academics and parent involvement take center stage here. Extracurricular activites are readily available, as are educational enrichment activities such as foreign language and computers. Only concern: Poor drop-off and pick-up routine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

My son transferred to Julington Creek Elementary in October and we could not be happier! The Principal, Teachers and Staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Julington Creek is a fantastic school. I have 3 children currently enrolled. A 3rd grader and 2 1st graders. The teachers and staff truly care for the well-being of their students. My children constantly amaze me with the things they accomplish in their classes at JCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 10%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2316 Race Track Road
Saint Johns, FL 32259
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT