Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Sanford, FL
Students enrolled: 215

2 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Journeys Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is not at all good they constantly pick with the kids to keep them there some of the staff are very rude.the teachers don't teach these kids nothing that's why I'm only giving one star. They really need to do better!!!!!!

Journeys Academy 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
This place houses the worst of the worst. The kids that go there have no place in normal schools. The kids that get sent to journeys are the kids who can not. Survive in normal society. These kids belong there. Its just the last stop before the graduate and go to prison.


Journeys Academy 1

Posted May 24, 2013
- a community member
I live in a gated apartment complex in winter springs and there are 3 kids from journeys and they are a constant problem. Just about everyone knows about journeys. Its a prison prep school. If there are kids there without records its simply because they havent been pinched yet. This school houses the worst of the worst. If you think your kids there for poor grades then its obvious you are the reason there there.

Journeys Academy 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
My children did not attend the school. But last year students from journeys were allowed to attend winter springs hs. There were fights taking place almost everyday. These students should not be allowed to attend schools in better areas. It's not a building that gets a bad grade it's the people in it. Some people might get offended but I'm speaking what many are thinking. Obviously journeys does not have the best of students according to its ratings and what just a few of those students were turning winter springs hs into.

Journeys Academy 4

Posted December 13, 2011
- a parent
Not every child that goes to Journey's have an arrest record or have a behavior problem. My son had a Math deficiency and the teacher did not know how to help him so she started a behavioral paper trail which ended up in referrals and suspensions. It caused him to lose hope because of the many times he missed instruction causing him to receive F's in all of his classes. He ended up in a fight because of a negative comment made by a student about his grades. My son is now a B student because the majority of the teachers and staff at Journeys cared about his academics and his life as a male; especially his Math teachers. This experience gave him a whole new outlook on life and his future. If your child is not headed in the right direction, and want to do better, Journeys is a good choice. It might be that there may be a negative in one child, but that negative may bring out the positive in your child and cause him/her to want to do better.
1 person found this helpful


Journeys Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a community member
This school is a last resort for students that have been deemed by teachers, administrators and a member of the school board to not be able to behave properly in general population. For the students that go here and parents that children end up here, wake up. The signs were on the wall. Students that attend this school are expelled for a reason. Most have arrest records and behavior problems. I know from personal experience volunteering with the students at this school. The teachers are very educated, some have PhD, Masters and even former administrators. These children are here for a reason and need to be taught lessons with zero tolerance. They can adjust fine to general population, especially if the parents wise up and admit that it is the child and there fault. Stop blaming others and focus on your family and you will see success. Students don't end up here for no reason.

Journeys Academy 1

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
my son will be attending this school, and i'm not very happy about it, this is his first time ever getting in trouble, he is a good kid, this is his first year in high school, i feel this will bring his grades down, i hear so many bad things about this school, they better hope nothing happens to my son.

Journeys Academy 1

Posted August 16, 2011
- a community member
Journeys Academy seems to focus more on holding your child back other than helping them to succeed. Mostly, innocent kids come to this school and hang out with a bad crowd and overall become worse. The students at Journey's Academy dont do well when/if they transition back to a normal school. Its harder to keep up. The see administration and staff as a joke. Definately not a healthy enviroment for anyone. I dont see how Journeys was even thought to be a good enviroment when all they do is take all of the trouble kids and but them all in the same place.


Journeys Academy 3

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is currently attending this school and this was the first time she ever got in trouble at all. In a way I think that Journeys has helped her to realize some things... helped her to know that she doesn't want to be like some of those other kids that have been in there two or three times already. She wants better for herself. I do believe that her teachers have a great deal to do with her being refocused and her stepdad and myself talk to her every day and encourage her to do better and let her know how proud we are of her. Granted, I thought Journeys would be different. Like they talk about zero tolerance for this and zero tolerance for that, but there are still kids using drugs daily at Journeys and finding a way to do what they want to do. May daughter tells me everything that goes on in there. It's scary, really. It's like alot of these kids have already lost hope for a better life and a good future.

Journeys Academy 1

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
this school is a trap for innocent kids who get expelled for silly reasons and dont have behaviour problems. but later on the student hangs around with the wrong crowd and picks up bad habbits thus leading to seccond and third expullsions. but there are some good teachers there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Journeys Academy
1722 West Airport Boulevard, Sanford, FL  32771
(407) 320-7827
Last modified Journeys Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-12
Journeys Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top