Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Mary Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1002 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

This school was excellent great teachers, organized, and safe environment. All and all had a great experience for my 2 kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

They don't have a clue. Terrible experience. Bullying issues that are not addressed. If a parents challenges administration or asks to many questions they find a way to transfer the student immediately. Less than a 24 hour notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

I have 2 children that attended the school for their 1st year. Children are left outside classroom until doors are opened to their room at 835. Anyone can walk onto the grounds easily. Needs more security. The teachers are new and no personal attention. One of the kids in my son's class spit gum in the teachers face and he was back at school the next day. No Discipline. First and Last year for us at Lake Mary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This is my daughters last year in Lake Mary Elementary and she will miss this school. It has been a great place for her to be challenged and learn and prepare her for 6th grade. We had great experiences with her teachers throughout the years. I am not sad to see the car line end. People do not know how to properly merge, they drive in the wrong way to avoid the drive to get to the front, how many times I had to brake to allow them to pass is quite annoying. Hopefully they will remedy this for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

My daughter now attends Lake Mary Elementary school after we moved here from Minnesota. She is in 1st Grade with Mrs. Chaires and she loves it! I've had nothing but great experiences with the facilty and staff, but I have never met the pricipal. Other than that, nothing but good things about this school, the parents, and the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My child transferred to Lake Mary Elementary from Heathrow Elementary earlier this year. I felt a bit hesistant. However, I am amazed how much he has grown (from an academic and emotional standpoint). His teachers are outstanding! They actually care. The environment is warm and accepting. I am very thankful that my child is a student here. He enjoys attending school here. What a great change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

After transferring from Hamilton this school was a big improvement. However, my daughter is asking to attend a different school next year. She explained that the art teacher is constantly yelling at the students and the art class is very dull and boring. She explained that her previous teacher at Gompers Elementary made art fun but not here. I also have had complaints about the P.E. classes. There have been several incidents that other students were not listening or following directions and the rest of the kids had to pay the consiquences for their actions by having to sit down in the pavillion for the entire gym class without moving or talking. Don't get me wrong the curriculum teachers my children have had have been great but this school needs improvement. Also all of their technology equipment is outdated and not enough for all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I am relocating to the area and am inquiring information about the school, from the reviews I am wondering how true is the unwelcomed feeling parents get when visiting, I am very involved in my childs education and love to help and assist in school. Will this be an issue? Also, is traffic bad when picking up and dropping off your children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

There are some wonderful teachers at this school. Some great parent volunteers also. Some of the reviews I've read here, using the office staff or the car line traffic as an excuse to not get involved in the school is pathetic. A school is as good as the team of parents, teachers, and administrators make it. Get involved instead of griping about administration. Lake Mary Elementary has been a great school for many years, and hopefully the new team will continue the success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I agree with the last post. There are many fine teachers, however we have also been made to feel most unwelcome and treated with a lack of respect by the office and support staff. I agree that it tends to dampen the community enthusiasm as I do not want to get involved if I am made to feel unwelcome. I also don't enjoy being yelled at by the staff when I have waited in the car lane for 40 mins to pick my child up in the afternoon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

There are many fine teachers at Lake Mary Elementary. The problem is the principal. She has a very heavy handed management style. She is always right and will not accept a difference of opinion gracefully. Parents are not made to feel welcome which tends to dampen community enthuasiasm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Wow! It is extremely surprising to read so many negative reviews about such a wonderful, hardworking school. I am a teacher at LME and I have been there for many years. I have watched numerous teachers, assistants, and administrators work so hard to provide a successful, positive learning environment for a diverse group of students. In reading some of these reviews, I find it appalling to read things like 'some teachers are just there for the paycheck' and 'the principal's management style is her staff is always right.' We come to school early, we stay late, and we think about our students while we should be sleeping at night. Our principal is a valiant leader who supports her staff and has made all of LME's students' education a top priority. It seems the only thing lacking is community support.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2008

I agree! The principal at this school is unaproachable. She runs the school like a dictator. I dont believe she still has a clue my childs name even though she is an excellent student. I believe the focus here is all wrong. We have been blessed with some great teachers along the way but I think they are even stiffled by the managment at this school. What a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

If your child has no issues, and you can go with the herd, this is a good choice for you. We moved to LM 8-06 for the schools, and are bitterly disappointed. I hope there are good teachers at this school, but I do not have experience with them. Investigate, do not go on school report cards alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

Once upon a time this school amazed me. You could see the teachers planned together and cared for each other. A new principal came in 2003. Since then the school spirit and enrollment has gone down. Teacher that have worked at the school for years, have left. This school has really changed for the worst.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2006

There are many wonderful teachers at lake mary el. However the administration does not hold all teachers accountable. I was not pleased with the ese program nor the technology training both which have drastically declined with the new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

I am very pleased about the academic program at Lake Mary Elementary School. My child is doing very well. I attend every PTA and stage production. I will say there is a teacher that throws stuff around the classroom and yells, and makes students cry. Now I know that young students can exagerate sometimes, but I heard enough incidents of this that there must be some truth to this. Lake Mary Elementary has a high rating among the elementary schools of Seminole and Orange Counties. I am glad I sent both my children to Lake Mary Elementary. I purposely kept the district in mind when we moved to our house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

After two years at a very expensive private school in the area we switched our daughter to Lake Mary Elementary. Instead of being ahead of her new classmates, she was behind. The teachers have been wonderful, the academic program is right on target and the administration is approachable. The buildings do not compare to where we came from and the classrooms are cramped but the education is top flight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

Don't buy into the hype that this is an A-school. Yes the students score well; however this is mostly because they come from stable and somewhat affluent backgrounds (not everyone, but probably higher than the surrounding area). In my opinion, many (but not all teachers) seem to be there for a paycheck. I suspect that these same government employees are there because the kids are easy to teach. The administration, including the principal, did't impress me as effective leaders or very responsive to parents. If you child wasn't born gifted, I would recommend against this school -- there are other schools in the area with dedicated teachers and a cooperative, caring administration. I think the quality of the academic programs, availability of music, art and sports to be average. The school doesn't seem to handle children with discipline problems very well. I saw a lot shouting and berating; with inconsistent consequences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

My oldest daughter went here and I was very happy with the teacher and curriculum quality. The prinicpal was a strong leader. Last year, some changes were made and the high standards went down. Parents are very involved and this is what fills in the gaps for more help in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 26%
Black 10%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%53%61%
Master's degree 56%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

132 South Country Club Road
Sanford, FL 32771
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-5650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT