Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sarasota Suncoast Academy

Charter | K-5 | 489 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 18 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

Sarasota Suncoast Academy is a fantastic school. It is not for every child or parent. Parents sign a contract which is easy to read and understand about the rules and expectation of parents and child. This school provides an excellent education in academics and social skills. The Principal, Support Staff, and Teachers are the best I have ever encountered!! It truly is a community where children and families can flourish .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

Our experience was unpleasant. My child attended Suncoast for a year and I would not recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

SSA is the best school in Sarasota. I have a daughter attending now and won't graduate for another couple years and already I am dreading that she can't continue on there past 5th grade. We have absolutely the best teachers and I hear from my daughters 3rd grade teacher several times a week. She's always coming up with suggestions to help my daughter stay focused. I would absolutely recommend this as the best elementary school in Sarasot, hands down!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

The responsive classroom and CARES used at this school has benefited my child greatly. They have more than accommodated him, getting him an IEP and really working with him. He is a straight A student now!! It is like having a second family. They care about the individual child and families, and know all their names. We love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

Wow, don't let the last review from 3-19-14 deter you. Someone must have an issue with respect for Principals, teachers ect. How about a school with a little structure? If the parent doesn't show any respect towards the school, I know why their child didn't fit in... I's a great school, with great staff, and great families. You are welcomed every morning by the admin & some students while dropping your child off. I have always had a nice friendly wave & have a great day while leaving drop off area. Never have I had to "salute" anyone. A little common courtesy for others is hard to come by these days!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

As a parent who started with the school when they first opened in a hole in the wall building, to the move to the current facility. I can tell you, I would never put my children any place else. Mr. Crump and his staff are very dedicated to the safety of all the students and parents. Here are some Facts. FACT: the local back roads to the school, when the school moved into the current location, they actually had to go to a zoning hearing. During that hearing the School s Board of Directors and the principal promised that the school would not impact the small back streets, and said parents would strongly be encouraged to use Clark Road into the facility. FACT: the accident at Proctor and Clark, that intersection has been horrible for decades, and accidents happened there long before the school was even in existence. The school has policies in place which are part of the parent contract, which has to be agreed to prior to enrolling in the school; and yes, choosing not to follow them is cause for removal. I now have a kindergartener starting and can t wait Suncoast here we come again!


Posted March 19, 2014

The posts for the week of 1/30/14 are a direct result of the principals facebook post to friends and family requesting that they post on here and give a good review so that others planning to enroll their kids for kindergarten will think the school is wonderful. Its a complete indication of his dictating and controlling personality. If you don't salute him, he will kick your child out of the school. He has only kids and families at the school who are conformed to his ways. This past year, as another example, he sent a note home to parents stating that if they drive up a back road leading to the school (that is not a local only or non public street), then the kids will be kicked out of school. There was a bad car accident on the main road that was being avoided the next morning with 2 Suncoast kids and their families involved. Be careful before you enroll your child here. It'll send you into a complete tizzy and out of nowhere you'll be dealing with drama and immaturity you cant even explain. The school is a charter school so they feel invincible since they're not monitored through the school board like a public school. It feels inner city vs like a small school at the church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The teachers and staff are amazing! This school is like an extended family, I feel safe leaving my child with them every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

If you are looking for a school where the teachers care about your child, the administration knows each student and the parents are actively involved you've found it here. Love that my kids are getting such an amazing education while learning important social skills as well. Couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

I am a stay at home mom of two. My daughter is in 3rd grade and my son in kindergarten. I volunteer a lot and go on field trips. Each time I go the people where we visit say they have never seen such well behaved children. Thanks to Mr. Crump and his staff these kids learn C.A.R.E.S. (Cooperation, Assertion, Responsiblity, Empathy & Self Control). In 4 years I have never had my child tell me they had an issue with a kid bullying or being mean to them. Thanks to Mr. Crump who instills the CARES, my kids are getting a great education and learning the tools to know the difference between what is right and wrong both at home and at school. I am so grateful a school like this exists where they still hold true to old fashion values in a society where it just doesn't exist anymore. I also hear from many mom's of other schools all the negative things that go on that I never hear at this school. The parents at SSA are amazing and I never hear anyone talk behind another parents back. Very rare! We love our school, our principal and his staff! `Renee Daluise
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

My children attend Sarasota Suncoast Academy. This is a great school! Involvement by parents, teachers, and the staff are what make this school so special. Everyone works together to create a good learning environment. Expectations are high and common sense structure help the children reach their goals and feel successful. It's a really wonderful school and I feel very grateful that my children are having such a positive learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

We love Suncoast! It is such a positive and nurturing environment. I have minimal worries sending my child to school here....And that says a lot these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

This is our families 8th school year at Suncoast Academy. With 5 children attending through the years at different academic levels (gifted and otherwise), We've had the best experience both educationally and otherwise. We appreciate the foundation of integrity and love for our children. Suncoast is more than just a school it is training ground for life! You could't pay me to take my kids anywhere else. Some of my children have moved on to middle school and have been shocked by the unkind behavior of others, having come from an environment of caring that Suncoast Academy offers. Some may feel that the Principal is strict and controlling but the truth is he loves the children and the only "control" that he asserts is to protect the environment from parents that bring in strife! There are other good schools out there but none that prepare children socially as well as academically quite the way Suncoast does. We have never been to the church there or even been asked to visit it. I would HIGHLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Suncoast has exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this school if you are looking for great leadership, education and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

This school has been wonderful, and families who don't end up choosing this school could benefit from learning about their approach. Some of the schools' practices sound controversial at first, but after learning about the motivations behind them I'm impressed at the willingness of the SSA administration to make the choices that are best for students; even when they are not easy or popular. I'm grateful for the consistent & fair approach. There are many great schools in the area and I'm grateful our child is here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I currently have 2 children attending Suncoast and an older son in middle school who attended as well. This is our 4th year at SSA and we love it. We have the best teachers, staff, and Principal in Sarasota. I drop my kids every morning knowing they are safe, loved, and getting a fabulous education as well as a stellar Character development program. Cooperation, Assertion, Responsibility, Empathy, and Self-Control (CARES) are modeled and taught on a daily basis. So grateful to have found this treasure of a school when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Sarasota Suncoast Academy is more like an extended family than a school. I can't imagine our daughter going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

The principal is a nut. If you have any level of understanding human behavior its clear. Be very careful of them and keep your kids away. He is a control freak and loves a power struggle and children are his cup of tea to push around. Be careful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

We left this school for another about a year ago. I did not write a review sooner because I wanted it to be a fair review after I had to time to compare this charter school a public school, that has an A rating, high FCAT scores etc... Long story short, I was not happy with the teacher, and the principal refused to intervene, help us. When I contacted the school board, they basically told me they could not help me either, because they were a charter school. I had to file a formal complaint against the school/teacher, at the state level. I think their academics are average. They state that they want to be challenging, but I think any parent of a truly "gifted" child will be better off in one of the districts "gifted" schools. These reviews talk about community, and small town feel, which the school does have, so in that way it may be attractive to some, but we now attend a non- charter district school and have the exact same thing, and many more resources!Suncoast has no formal lilbrary, no playground, and way too many rules! It always felt a little military to me.I have met 3 other parents who pulled their child the same year and ow go to our school, for the same reason
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

We have had all three of our children spend their elementary school years at SSA. I can honestly say that when my older two children graduated from 5th grade, I was sad that they had to leave and attend middleschool. I know that it's been challenging academically and through CARES there is an intentional process put into play to address the character qualities that every child should have as they grow towards maturity. We have had excellent teachers each year and for each one of our kids. We know there is no perfect school but this school has that "small town" feel of community. You can come in any time to help in the classroom and that is a blessing to have such an open door policy. We will miss Suncoast when our last one graduates. This school has been such a beautiful and prosperous experience for our kids both academically and socially. If you are looking for a close knit team of staff and community, This is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%41%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8084 Hawkins Road
Sarasota, FL 34241
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 924-4242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Park School
Sarasota, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT