Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sebastian Charter Junior High School

Charter | 6-8 | 203 students

Our school is best know for having high academic standards/Character Development

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

As parents we are very happy with the progress our son has made, not only academically, but emotionally at Sebastian Charter. We know that the school is providing him with a secure foundation for the rigors of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Excellent school for the middle years. Always have the care and concern of students in mind. Academic programs are best I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My school is full of students who want to learn. The teachers are positive and smiling with a great sense of humor. The Administration is friendlier then I have seen anywhere and they bend over backwards to help their students and teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2013

THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT I JUST WISH AND COULD IMPROVE IF THE KIDS HAD MORE SPORTS RELATED ACTIVITIES NOT JUST 2 - 3 DAYS A WEEK. IT SHOULD BE EVERY DAY IF NOT THEN AFTER SCHOOL EXERCISE PE OR ANYTHING TO DO WITH EXERCISE. OBESITY IS A VERY SERIOUS THING AND WE NEED TO AVOID IT JUST MY INPUT. THANK YOU
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Wonderful school. Cannot say enough good things about it. Fantastic smaller atmosphere, excellent academics. Family-like environment. Love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Awesome school!! No bullying. New building which is beautiful!! Fantastic leadership and teachers. Love the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Wonderful school. They teach the kids according to their level. If the child does better, they advance them to a higher level to keep challenging them. This school has a wonderful, family atmosphere. The teachers are great. They really work with the students and encourage them to do well. I have had two children at this school, and my third will be going as well. Love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

This school gives students who are bored with regular school a challenge and challenges their minds. This school is a awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

I like the smaller school atmosphere and my child has not had to deal with any bullying from fellow students! On the other hand my child does have to deal with bullying by the teachers!! Some of the teachers do not know how to leave their problems at home and therefore they take it out on the students who can do virtually nothing about it because excuses are always made for the teachers behavior!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I am happy to say that SCJH is a great school. it is very well structured& the teachers are very attentive to the students needs. Here's an example-when my child started 6th grade i already knew he needed extra help with math class, but before i could get to the math teacher,he called me !,set up a meeting,came up with a plan & told my child he would have a (B) by the end of the school year. He worked with him all year long & that "D" was definitely a "b"! thanks Mr. Mac:)! All of the teachers at SCJH operate in the same manner, they work together to build confidence& self esteem & well educated children. I would highly recommend SCJH!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Words cannot express how awesome this school is! I was scared to death when my oldest daughter was getting ready to enter middle school because I knew the traditional schools would have eaten her alive. But at SCJH she was safe and was able to grow into a self confident young lady who is now doing fantastic as a high school freshman taking all honors classes! In fact many of her high school teachers wanted to know what school she came from because she was SO prepared! Now my younger daughter is attending SCJH and I cannot wait to see her grow and mature under the guidance of the fantastic SCJH Staff. For my family SCJH is a perfect fit and the education that my oldest daughter received, and my younger daughter is receiving, is second to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I am a current student at this school. I tried Storm Grove Middle School during my 7th grade year for one semester, but it was definitely not worth the time. SCJH has excellent teachers, a great principal, and even if this school is slightly small, it is definitely better than any schools surrounding it. There are great classes for all subjects. The school is currently attempting to build a new building, and they promise it to be bigger. If you want a good learning environment, come to this school. It is worth the time. And the waiting list lol! ;*}


Posted September 18, 2009

Amazing caring and educated teachers who strive in academic excellence for the best interest of their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I attended SCJH from 2002 to 2004. I loved it--my favorite school ever! You stay with the same group of kids while moving from room to room, which helps a lot if you're not so happy about the changing rooms aspect of middle school, or have a hard time making friends. I felt like I belonged at the school, Mrs. Taylor (in the office) is wonderful and all the kids were pretty nice! Teachers wise, things were a bit rough at first, because the english teacher left in the middle of the school year, so then we got several replacements (as well as a few different science teachers) however, by the begining of the 2003/2004 school year, everything was sraightened out again and wonderful--the teachers were terrific, I learned a lot! I wish SCJH would become a high school too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

My son just completed the 8th grade.My niece is going into the 7th grade. I believe with the caring teachers and staff it has helped my son and niece to really grow and want to learn. The whole school staff was great, they wanted me to be involved in every step of my children's education. My son and I felt like we belonged to one big family. The principal and the rest of the staff are caring and are very interested in each and every child. I personally have never felt like that before. Even though my son no longer goes to the school he still wants to go back and help out whenever possible. I think there should be more Charter schools around. I just wish this school had been around earlier for my other 2 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

My son (6th grade) is the our third child to attend the SCJH. His two older brothers (gifted) were found academic success there. Great principal and staff. I would recommend the school to anyone who desires a small, caring atmosphere. Excellent Science, PE, Social Studies, and Language Arts program. All of the teachers are strong in their areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

I cannot say enough terrific things about this school!As parents we struggled with the decision of what middle school to enroll our student. Our student has 'soared' in academics and feels safe daily when at school.There are School Resource Officers on campus daily for guidance and other character development programs.The teachers at this school are dedicated to each students success,and genuinely care about the students learning styles.They push the individual to meet their personal best and know they are an individual.The leadership of the principal and administrators is visible from the first time you enter the doors.Thank you to all involved in the success of SCJHS,you are angels in many lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

My daughter goes to the school and she is doing well there.The school is small yet offers gives the children a variety of things during the day and after school .Their best friends program is such a positive program and I think it should be in all schools .It would help alliviate alot of the teen pressures they face day to day.The faculty is caring and i feel this is the best place for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

This school provides the best education and lowest student to teacher ratio outside of an expensive private school. The contact between teacher, student and parent is phenomenal. The structure of the school and classrooms is a prime example of how a school should be. The uniforms are affordable and simple, creating a unity of the kids instead of the usual competition of 'who has the trendiest clothing.' The children are literally taught disipline and school violence is nil! The children switch classrooms but stay with the same kids to every class all year which creates a close environment among them. As you can see I can not say enough nice things. Dr. Mc Adams, you and the staff have done a wonderful job! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

My daughter has been through 1 full year with SJCS and I could not be happier. I have found that all the teachers are professional and the open communication has helped my daughter achieve a high grade average and self esteem. I thank God for this school and people who care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 30%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 44%68%65%
Master's degree 44%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 11%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 20%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Highest Ranking Middle School in County (2011)
  • High Performing Charter School (2012)
  • Book Battle Champions (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • DR. MARTHA L MCADAMS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (772) 388-8815

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
  • Strategic Instructional Model
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Impact 100 of Indian River County
  • Sebastian Clambake
  • Banov Construction
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Intramurals
Girls sports
  • Intramurals

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lego Robotics
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Pelican Island Elementary
Sebastian Elementary
Fellsmere Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sebastian River High School
Indian River Charter High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

782 Wave Street
Sebastian, FL 32958
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 388-8838

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crosstyle Academy
Sebastian, FL


Crosstyle Academy
Sebastian, FL


The River School
Roseland, FL



Wabasso School
Sebastian, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT