Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcdonald Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I haven't signed child up yet. Want to see reviews first. I just want to see how the school is rated.


Posted September 20, 2013

This is a great community school,My children and now my grandchildren attend,they have a great staff and try very hard to have a safe,fun and friendly place for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

My daughter is in Kindergarten this year with Ms. Stonesifer and we couldn't be happier with her progress. She loves going to school and she keeps the children interested in school with activities and holiday related projects to keep them engaged. My daughter was reading halfway through kindergarten and has made excellent progress in math. The school itself is a bit drab and I feel it tends to reflect negatively on the school even though it's a wonderful school. Don't let the appearance fool you, it's the teachers that count.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

My daughter is in Kindergarten at McDonald. I volunteer in the classroom every week and I absolutely love her teacher. Being a preschool teacher myself I know how difficult running a classroom can be and I am impressed with what I have seen. The principal goes above and beyond when it comes to monitoring the teachers, and being involved with the students. My daughter is doing so well and I wouldn't have her at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My daughter loves this school. The teachers and staff are very friendly and are working at their best to challenge their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I have two daughters that attend this school, and i will say that this is a very good school in the long run, there are some people that you really dont like dealing with there but in the end it has been a good school!!! be carefull cause this school does have certain students they make there favorites as i have seen since one of my daughters have been there since she was 5 and now 10!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

My son also had Ms. Senhauser last year and we were very happy with her as his teacher as his Kindergarten & 1st grade teachers. He still visits Ms. Senhauser & Mrs. Medero (his Kindergarten teacher is no longer at the school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I want to thank Ms. Senhauser she was my son's teacher and I have to say I was so pleased with the way that she was interested in my son's schooling before and after my son went on to higher education. My son always speaks of her and that he was so pleased and treasured her opinion. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Great school. Very good teachers. As with all schools, people may have one bad experience, but it shouldn't cloud the over all quality of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My Child, now in 1st Grade at this school, is suprising me daily with her expanded vocabulary and her thirst for more knowledge. The school seems to provide ample resourses and I've had no issues with the Staff. My 'lil one' has had no medical issues except colds, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My daughter went to the VPK program there from 2004-2006. The teachers for that program were wonderful. She then went to Kindergarten and again had an amazing teacher. Her 1st grade teacher was also wonderful. The office staff are very friendly. The library staff needs to take some classes in professionalism. They get angry if the parents try and solve a problem instead of the children. The principal is okay. There are serious issues with head lice at the school. The 2 years she was in the portable for VPK she never once came home with head lice but once she entered the school building it was bad. They do not stay on top of the problem areas the way they should so they continuously get reinfested in the building. Other then spending $300-$400 a year on head lice treatment it is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

My little Girl has made tremendous advances at this school, especially in reading and computer skills, at age Six. I'm very impressed with her Teacher's planned work efforts. We'll see next year , but so far so GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

My Child spent her 1st session here at VPK, and I was amazed how much she learned. So far, I highly recommend the Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

I think that all in all it is a good school. I was bothered however by the way the staff was talking to the student or rather yelling at them during my last visit. And I find the color coded behavior charts very confusing,my child gets a bad color but a note saying he had a good day. It makes it hard on a parent to help the teacher. I mean why tell me that that they are getting bad colors if your just going to send home a note saying it's ok they had a good day if it was a good day then why did they get in trouble 3 or more times. Our hole family has become aggravated with this system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

McDonald Elementary school has a quality of academic programs. They have an excellent music program that my children enjoy. My son has been in the chorus for 2 years and he loves it!! McDonald Elementary has an excellent level of parent involvment also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 27%
Black 11%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. GREGORY CANNELLA
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8012

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Pruett Road
Seffner, FL 33584
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8154

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT