Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Jerusalem Christian Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2011

Njca has been a great blessing for our family. It is not only a school, but a family. No school is perfect, but NJCA strives for excellence. They have good quality eduaction and teachers who care. My children enjoy learning and they love there school. I highly recommend this school to others:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

This school has one of the highest education program in the tampa bay area. The students are well prepared for the next grades achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this school. We came from public and will never go back. The teachers and staff are concerned for the students and are so warm and loving. My kids are in the 5th & 7th grade and couldn't be happier. Happy kids learn better and I know they are getting the education they deserve. I love, love, love this school. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My grandchildren have been attending NJCA for many years, spread over five kids and more than eight years of association with this school. The administration is totally concerned with the quality of the children's education and they are nutured as well. My granddaughter is in first grade and they have her reading on a third grade level as do most of the kids in her class. They begin writing cursive in K4 and by lst grade their manuscript looks better than the parents. Hillsborough County public schools cannot even begin to measure up. Tuition is kept low by parental involvement and fundraisers. Safety has always been my biggest concern given the violence in todays society. I feel totally confident that my grandchildren are safe from the outsiders and that the quality of the teachers hand-picked by the principal will always be the best she can find & she has 3 there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My children attended NJ for four years before they had to experience public school. They learned absolutely nothing and refused to let my first grader use his cursive. When tested by the public school they found him reading at fourth grade level. Also, my kindergartener had no discipline at public and was allowed to do what she wanted when she wanted. At NJ she is thriving academically and very well behaved. She is reading at wonderful!!! I love NJ and will do anything to keep them thee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My child has been at New Jerusalem for 4 years, I absolutely love this school. My child has learned so much and enjoys learning. This school has a very loving and caring faculty that are ready to help. They have great discipline, which sadly now a days some parents do not appreciate, but I want my child to grow with good discipline and procedures so that she is successful in the future. I would not change this school. If your are loking for academic excellence than this is a great school! This private school does not use public school curriculum like others do. If you hear Bob Jones, beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

All of the teachers work so well together. We share ideas and give direction to those that need a hand in his/her class. Overall, the teachers at NJCA love what they do. I am so pleased to be a part of such a dynamic team. This is such a great year; the impact we're making is so evident in the lives of our students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

ya i went to this school for like 8 years and i just arrived in public school and i am struggling because of lack of knowledge and the public schools are 10 times better than this school so refrain from placing your child in this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

I found this school to be disorganized and non-communicative during the school year. Hopefully the 10th year of this school being open will be the charm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I can honestly say that NJCA, School of the Arts has been one of the best decisions I have made as a parent. Your child is not another 'student I.D. number' in a grade book, but a seed that is watered daily with the love these teachers bring each and every day. I am so satisfied with NJCA, because they're real people, doing God's work, partnering with me to raise up my children to serve the Lord. The education is awesome and the arts program can not be beat. The tuition is the lowest I've seen for what this school offers. Don't take my word for it and don't judge the school by a negative comment you might hear - talk to the principal and see her heart for the school. My kids are blessed to be apart of the NJCA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My daughter attends NJCA. She learned a lot during her K5 curriculum. She learned to read, add, subtract, cursive writing, ballet, tell time along with various other Christian aspects. As a former teacher in public school, I appreciate a smaller class size which allows the teacher to better identify my daughter's learning needs. Overall, NJCA is a small private school that is striving to do its best for the student body. If you are looking for a fancy state of the art private school then NJCA isn't for your child. If you're looking for small class sizes, teachers that care, ABEKA curriculum, Christian foundation, dance, music and an affordable private school then NJCA is right for you. My daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

My son went there for almost 2 yrs for his pre-school. Now we have taken him out. The Parent in Participation [PIP] program was nothing, but meeting with the school for fund raising activities . [ Forcing every parent to sell chocolates was not healthy, to say the least.] The school authorities were very unprofessional in their approach. We are very happy to be out of that place forever!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

I have withdrawn my child from the school. Nothing very great about it to rave about! Every private school lets their pre-school kids to perform on stage, nothing surprising about that. They have the ABEKA curriculum and for a pre-school it is sufficient. If the parent is looking out for quality science and math programs, go somewhere else, even if you have to pay more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I recommend this school to everyone. It's nice & tha faculty is always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I have had much experience with NJCA. My two kids go their and before them all my nieces and nephews. Our family has had a wonderful experience and our children have always been ahead of the public school curriculum. Working in the public school system, I have seen the difference in public and private school education, and the difference is huge. It's well worth it to pay the extra money and have them in a private school. The school is small and like a family. The teachers are very involved with their students academic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

NJCA promotes parental involvement? As a parent of two former students it took nine months to receive any information from the staff and teachers regarding our children's academic progress. Thankfully, even though having to 'catch up' with the other students and back into the pubic school system they have been able to make the honor roll and are where they need to be academically and socially even after falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

As a granparent I appreciate New Jerusalem Christian Academy for the excellent education that my grandchildren are receiving. The teachers really care for their students and they promote the parents' invlovement.


Posted December 28, 2007

This school is a great school! I taught there for a year, and it was an experience that I will never forget. It not only helped me become a better educator, but a better christian. I love everyone there, and miss them very much!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 25, 2007

Honestly, I cannot say I hold NJCA in a very high regard. The cirriculum is substandard and the staff is unprofessional to say the least. My utmost reccomendation is to look further if contemplating a private education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Small Christian school, that teaches from the ABEKA curriculum. The school teaches Spanish, and over 85% of the students are native spanish speakers. Teachers keep you informed of students progress. School doesn't offer band, however has computer lab, spanish, library, and PE. I miss the sign lanquage classes. Tuition is reasonable, class size is small, safety is a priority, and the teachers are great. My son loves the food prepared in the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 3%
Two or more races 12% 3%
White 11% 42%
Black 4% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (813) 684-0051

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 1238
Seffner, FL 33583
Phone: (813) 684-2754

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bay Life Academy
Seffner, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT