Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shalimar Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

I can attest to the fact that the school counselor did not say the learning disability didn't matter. What was told to the parent was that our county does not recognize dyslexia for ESE services but that other avenues would be followed to allow for the best learning envirnoment for the student. Shalimar has excellent staff and students. Learning and student needs are a top priority at Shalimar.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2014

We are a military family who transferred from North Carolina. I have never been so disappointed in a school program. My son is in the 3rd grade and unfortunately he suffers with dyslexia which makes academics difficult for him. The teachers and the counselors ONLY concern is the FCAT testing. They teach taking a test rather than actual learning skills. Then when your child has a hard time with the FCAT they fail them. I was actually told by the counselor my son's learning disability didn't matter. FCAT is what matters. I have a daughter graduating from college with honors, another in her 2nd year of college (Dean's list) and two in high school (one in AP classes the other in early college). We have been in four different states and never once have I had such a hard time with a school program. And yes, one of my daughters actually had a hard time in school with reading when she was younger. The school (Fort Meade) helped her not made her feel stupid. Now she is on the Dean's list at Medical College of Virginia. Amazing what a good school program can do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

My son has attended kindegarten and is now in the middle of his 1st grade year at Shalimar. He test above average in every metric, an extremely smart child. Even still this year his 1st grade teacher is dreadful. She has no patience and is swift to give out zero's and F's to first graders without offering assistance. 1st graders as we all know are age 6-7 and very active. This teacher is unable to handle the class and very rude to the children, raises her voice and rarely smiles (which goes a long way with kids). Because of this I am pulling my son from her classroom and this school and enrolling him into a different school. I am heart broken that my child had to experience such awful teaching but we will overcome this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

The teachers, the parents and the administration make this school the best place to have my son for his education. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love Shalimar because it really operates more as a family than a school. We have wonderful parent support and our teacher's are dedicated to seeing each child succeed. I travel 45 minutes every morning and afternoon to have the honor of working here and I would not change it if I could. I love this school and it's people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great teachers and support staff. Mrs. Lightborne is a wonderful teacher and both our kids liked the school. We have 1 now in the school and we are happy with his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Shalimar Elementary is an excellent place to grow and learn. Teachers are caring, inviting, and inspiring. Each one of them goes the extra mile to give a child what is needed. There is a family atmosphere. We take care of each other and call on the expertise of colleagues in a problem solving environment. Students love to come to school. They look forward to all the activities like Science Lab where hands on is the only way to fly and Computer Lab where they practice Essential Skills, Harcourt Math and FCAT Explorer besides preparing for special projects. There's also a parent based Art in Action program. Once a month a team of parents brings all classes to the Art room for a special lesson. Our art is displayed at the County Art Show and throughout our school. Our music department causes toes to tap, bells to ring and our hearts soar with the music developed there. Children perform on stage for the school and their parents in our annual Talent Show. Five of our students have gone on to the City Talent show competition. We love our Coach who also gets our hearts pounding with the Miler club, station activities, loads of smiles and hugs. Shalimar is a very warm place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

It is simple - It is the best elementary school in Okaloosa County! Great Principal, great teachers, great staff and the very best students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Have really enjoyed our two years a this school. Staff are very caring and helpful with both the students and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The faculty and staff are top rate. They keep the students motivated in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

We have a second grader at Shalimar and he has had a few problems adapting to the classroom. The staff at this school were more help to us then i could have ever asked for and i didn't have to. They set forth a plan of action to help my son and he is coming along slowly but is doing better with the staff on his side to help him every step of the way. I wouldn't want my child to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I have a third grade child at Shalimar who's attended since kindergarten. He's had wonderful teachers so far and has thrived! We had an opportunity to enroll him in a charter school but we chose not to and don't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2006

We have had three children attend Shalimar and our last is starting K. The quality of the instruction is good -- a little too focused on the FCAT perhaps but that is district wide. We have been personally involved with all the teachers over the years and have been favorably impressed. In the summer of 2006 all the classrooms were redone so the school is in good physical condition. Will have a new principal in 2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I work at Shalimar Elementary. It is a great school. The teachers and staff are the best in the county.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 17, 2005

My son is just finishing Kindergarten at Shalimar Elem and he really enjoyed it so much. He really enjoyed his teacher and classmates. The parents in the class were pretty much all involved and his teacher was so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Black 14%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 10%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%57%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN WILLIAMS
Fax number
  • (850) 833-4357

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 Joe Martin Circle
Shalimar, FL 32579
Phone: (850) 833-4339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Kenwood Elementary School
Fort Walton Beach, FL



Elliott Point Elementary School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Okaloosa Blended School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT