Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Apple Tree Montessori School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Southwest...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2009

My daughter attended Apple Tree from Pre-K through middle school. I found the teachers to be very knowledeable, kind and very attentative to each child and their education. Although my daughter has graduated and is now in High School, her basis for loving education was planted in Apple Tree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My son has been attending ATM since Pre-K and I am amazed at what he is doing in the first grade. It is a very well rounded and cultural education. He is basically at the same level as my niece who is in 3rd grade in New York State, mind you NY is number 6 of 50 states in terms of public education, so it is very good. Florida is number 39. My son is doing similar work in the 1st grade at ATM. Yes Ms. Levin has little to no personality at all, but who cares the rest of her staff does and they all do a great job! Ms. Levine sets the rules and everyone follows and the SAT results each year prove that her method, no matter how unfriendly, is interpreted and put to 'friendly' use by her teachers and staff. I am very grateful to ATM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

My daughter has been going to ATM since she was 3 (Pre-K). She is now in the 3rd grade at ATM. We moved her to another montessori school in the area for 2nd grade, the school we moved her to was a total waste of time due to the fact that the teacher was not good at all and I felt that the principal had no idea how to develop good teachers or teaching methods. I must say that Apple Tree Montessori is a very good school. I am amazed at how much my daughter has progressed in Math and Science at this school. The teachers are very caring and communicate effectively with the parents. My daughter loves the school, the teachers and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My Daughter has been going there since pre_k and it has been the best, she is very advanced compared with the kids that go to public school. I Know Miss Levyn is very simpatic, but she is nice.besides; it is a very peacefull and safety place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I love the school and the teachers are doing excellent job there. I have a good communication with them. My son is learning so much there. I'm so happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

My child attended ATM from Pre-K to 8th grade. She took an entrance exam for 8th grade at Sagemont and had one of the highest scores ever for 8th grade. As a result she was offered a full scholarship for the remainder of the year and became eligible for the Best and Brightest Scholarship for 9th grade. ATM provided my child with a sound moral and educational foundation and helped open many doors. This school focuses on education and helps prepare children for the next level. This is the best thing I ever did for my child. The teachers are friendly and the Head Mistress is very respected by the student body. ATM provides a fun and nurturing learning environment while focusing on the individuals needs and providing a sound education. My child has left this school as a well rounded, autonomous, educated individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

It is all about money there and no concern for whether the student advances at his own pace. This school is a waste of money for gifted students. I was very disappointed in their Kindergarten and first grade teachers. This is day care not quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

Overall quality is poor. School has had significant deterioration over the last two years primarily due to the principal's unwillingness to invest in the school combined with high teacher turnover ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

I am very happy with the staff and quality of education at Apple Tree. My sons are doing well and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My granddaughter has been in the school since third grade. The education she has received at Apple Tree has been wonderful. Her teachers have been great. They are available for extra help when needed and, I think, go over and above with the children. The head mistress is not a PR person. However, she runs the school with an 'iron fist.' Her first priority is the education of the children and the test scores reflect that. If you want your children to be in school for the fun and games, and few repercussions for bad behavior, Apple Tree is not the school for you. If you want your children to get a great education and have fun learning, along with learning proper behavior and 'team work', Apple Tree is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

My son began preK at 3.5 years old at ATM. I LOVE the teachers. The assistants were cycling though the first year, but that has not happened this school year (06-07). I was considering sending my son to public school for kindergarten, and did as much research as possible. In the end, I will be sending my son to Apple Tree. Also, my 2nd son will be starting preK there this Fall. If we're still here, my daughter will attend when she's old enough. Ms. Levine, the headmistress, has recieved lots of negative words here. I have never had a problem with here and she's always been willing to talk to me. I treat her with respect and it is returned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

Everything about the school is money, money, money. They are always having frivilous drives and sales to get money for the teachers. The teachers don't communicate with the parents and the quality of them are declining.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

The academics are great, as are most of the teachers i have encountered. Both of my kids were reading at 3.5-4.0 Yoa. Last year my kindergartener was reading and doing math on a 2.5-3.0 Grade level. We are very happy with their education. One fall back is music & art. There are none during school time. This would benefit the kids tremendously as they would actually have fun at the school. Parents beware! This is not a feel good school, and I don't think it is a fun school. If that is what you are looking for, keep driving. It takes about a year or so to get over the atmosphere of the school, but once you do, you will really see and feel the results of your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

The Director is exceptionally difficult to communicate with, and the teacher quality has suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

As for the lessons and education go the school has been great. Although in the last year or so there has been a decline. As far as the director goes she is unwilling to discuss any critical issues that a parent may have she is defensive and unwilling to listen consructively to parents legitimate concerns regarding their childs eduction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

My daughter has been there for pre-K, she is will be starting Kindergarten there as well. I am very happy. It is an excellent school. My daughter is reading already. I think she will be able to read more complex words by the end of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

My son has been there for five years, I am a believer in Montessori, and I think this school has a very good balance between Montessori and the traditional education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I have to agree with both reviews. My child was also able to read while in Pre-K. Her first teacher at the school, later promoted to K, was great. Caring and would alwatys keep me updated with my childs progress. The teacher that my child had the second year was not quite as good. Very critical and offered very little guidance. I do believe that the students are hand selected to guarantee easy learning and as little trouble for the teachers as possible. I have heard from other parents whose children were not accepted to the school because they were somewhat of a challange. I do believe that Maria Montessori created this method of teaching for those very students. As for the director is a piece of work. The school would have few students if children or parents had more dealings with her. I have mixed feelings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

My children have been going to this school since they were in PK. My daughter learned how to read as soon as she turned 4. My son, who is now in Kindergarden, is doint 2nd grade math and reading. The accademics are excellent and the parent/teacher communication is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

The head mistress at this school is extrememly overbearing and does not make parents feel welcome. I think they have good teachers and a dedicated staff but if a child does not fit in or has difficulty they will give up on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 37% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 7% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6301 Southwest 160th Avenue
Southwest Ranches, FL 33331
Phone: (954) 252-9250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hawkes Bluff Elementary School
Southwest Ranches, FL


Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Silver Trail Middle School
Southwest Ranches, FL



The Masters Academy
Southwest Ranches, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT