Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Suncoast Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 889 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

Very dedicated and caring teachers! They put in LOTS of unpaid overtime! Professional administration, family atmosphere, safe environment, beautiful campus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

they really care about the kids,and show it in sso many way's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Suncoast has great teacher and staff. My daughter loves Suncoast Elementary so much that she gets upset if I have to pull her out of school early for an appointment! When School is not in session she misses her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

The school administration is horrible. Anyone that has had to deal with the school administration would agree with me! The teachers are great however, the principal is doing the school a disservice by not holding the bad students accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am very thankful and delighted to have my daughter enrolled at Suncoast Elementary. She is in first grade and it is her first year at Suncoast. We have had great sucess and her Teachers have been fantastic. My daughter has made very good grades and has been on the Principals list every quarter. WE LOVE SUNCOAST!!! See you for second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I last posted on October 28,2008 when my twins began attending Suncoast Elementary. It is now the end of the school year and I can say that we had a great school year! They were challenged with the schoolwork and learned a lot. We only got to experience 5th grade at Suncoast but I think I would have been happy in any grade at this school. I thank Suncoast for making my twins feel comfortable since they came from NJ and were nervous going to a new school. If your child is a good student they will excel at Suncoast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Great school. The teachers are caring and knowledgable. Communication through the website and Daily Planner are helpful. Great use of technology in 1st grade. My son loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

The administration at this school is disgusting and the staff is almost as bad. The Principal has a non shalont attitude of I dont care; its not my problem. She is oblivious to the problems not only with the staff but also the students. There is constant bulling that goes on between children and a lack of supervision by the staff. A complete and total house cleaning needs to take place at this school and it needs to start with the Princpal. There are much better schools in this county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

I agree with some of the other reviews. The administration in this school is horrible. I have had several issues and have called the office and they never return calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Administration at this school ignores behavior problems. Someone needs to question why so many teachers have left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My child loves the school, teachers and principal. We feel that we are at the best school in the county. Keep up the great work you are doing for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

Suncoast is a great school my son has learned alot in the short time he has been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

The principal is holding the school back. Her comments to me often defy logic and reason. When presented with factual information she repeats her own falsely drawn conclusions. Either she believes that repeating an incorrect assumption over and over somehow makes it true or she is so used to having her employees agree with her she feels she can just blurt out anything she wants. I don't see how a good teacher could tolerate her for very long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

My child attended this school for 2 years. I am so glad that we transferred to a magnet school in the area. The teachers were not the problem. The administration is terrible. In addition, there is a huge lack of parent involvement. If you search hard...there are much better schools in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

This school is wonderful! I am a parent of a special needs student and also have two other children that attend this school. The administration and the staff are fantastic. They go above and beyond in many ways. I am amazed that they know most children by name are aware of their siblings that attend. Communication is wonderful between parents and teachers as well as administration and other providers at this school.I can not say enough good things about Suncoast Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Faculty and Staff are extremely professional and dedicated. They go beyond what is expected in order to have the students learn to their maximum level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2007

When my daughter started Kindergarten she knew all of the basics ie. alphabet, colors, numbers, spelling, and letter sounds, although only a few in her class started school knowing this she wasn't held back in any way. Her teacher provided her with work that was in her level, after a month and a half of school she was reading to us. The teachers and staff are very much on top of everything that goes on and are very involved. Great communication! I also feel safe leaving her at school everyday, they have a good system and no one is allowed into the school, gates are always locked. Couldn't have asked for a better first year for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

I have had 3 children attend this school and all are doing well in middle school and high school. Suncoast gave them great basics. I do believe that the more a parent is involved the more their children succeed and Suncoast gives parents many opportunities to volunteer and stay involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

I've had great experiences with my kids (Kindergarten and Second grades). However, the announcments that the teachers pass out to the students to bring home to their parents are passed out late. I feel that the kids are safe and well educated. I have yet to meet the principal also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

First year at Suncoast- kids in my child class were ill mannered (child complained of items being stolen from desk/bookbag) and bullies. Academically my child did okay despite the mean spirited kids and teachers/coaches ignoring kids sometimes when they needed assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 7%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%64%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11135 Quality Drive
Spring Hill, FL 34609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 797-7085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Christian Academy
Spring Hill, FL






Wider Horizons School
Spring Hill, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT