Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Spring Hill, FL
Students enrolled: 686
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 4

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
My son attended mges through the pre-k program last year and he absolutely loved his teachers. They did an excellent job and i couldn't be more pleased with his progression. Now he can't wait to go back to school and i think that speaks volumes for the teachers and staff there.They were very involved and informative

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
The teachers my children have are wonderful- the problem i have witnessed is the way the school is setup. The classrooms are too big in size, and the classrooms are not separated very well because of the way the school was built. This causes it to be very noisy all the time. How can children learn their best when there are constant disruptions and the noise of other classrooms. I also do not understand why the superintendent would CHOOSE to be fined for oversized classrooms over hiring a few more teachers and doing it right. Fight for the extra $$ and put the children first. There are a ton of under privileged children and a lot of children who have parents that simply never get involved to an extreme measure to say the very least. It is really sad. There is not sufficient parking and parents have to pull in the dirt to form a pick up line every afternoon. It is simply unacceptable. The teachers are doing their best with what they have. I really hope things can change for the better at MGES. There are some great kids and teachers and they deserve to be given an environment that is conducive for learning.


Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 4

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
We simply love this school! The staff is friendly.The kids all seem to be happy, my daughter loves her teacher. Both the teachers and administration are very involved with the students, and there is plenty of communication between the teachers, administration and the parents. I couldn't ask for a better environment for my child!

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughter loves this school. She went to shady hills elem. first and hated it ,now she loves to go .

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 4

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
Dr. Mary Giella Elementar School. This will be our 1st year at this school. We are looking forward to being here this year.


Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2013
- a community member
As a parent of children that attend this school, I do agree with the last comment about the disruptive kids and the other comment about kids being a priority. I've seen some of these behavior kids and it just isn't right for the welfare of the class or the teacher. These kids should be removed from the school, homeschooled, or in an alternative program. The staff and other students shouldn't be subjected to this everyday. This is a fault of certain parents and how can other kids expect to learn? More discipline and suspensions should be taking place. Great school, caring staff, but they are trying too hard to turn kids around and may be losing out all the way around.

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 3

Posted July 04, 2012
- a community member
I found the review below very valid. But in talking with some of the parents, this school still has some issues that need to be addressed. Mainstreaming behaviorally challenged students into a regular classroom doesn't seem to be working out very well for this school. Also,negative behavior on a professional level is not flattering and this was a very big disappointment for the school community. Maybe if the school would stop putting disruptions in their classrooms, the scores would go up.

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2012
- a community member
My children have attended this school and I've had the opportunity to work with the staff at MGES. The teachers and staff do their best to provide incentives for ALL the kids. Some teaches work many hours after school to come up with activities that the kids will learn from and enjoy. As I read other comments, I feel that the staff at this and any other school, may have a stressed day and may encounter a parent during this time; however, a school shouldn't be judged on the actions of a few. Parents, teachers, administration, and kids should work together to achieve success. School doesn't end at 4:00, but learning should continue at home as well. Everyone should be positive and discuss concerns with the teacher or principal. The teachers do care about the kids and work together to find any minute of the day to help them get on level. Some kids don't test well, that doesn't mean they are not good students, but society judges everything on 1 day and 1 score...Really? Does your boss judge your worth on the one bad day or the tons of great days? Kids are no different. MGES is a very good school with a family type of staff...Kids are the priority!!!


Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
My child is attending MGES and loves it. I have noticed that the kids are happy and proud of their school. The staff truly care about the children.

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2011
- a parent
I am sick looking at the declining FCAT scores for 3rd grade over the last few years. You can see them just get worse every year, so I'd like to know what is being done about this??

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School
14710 Shady Hills Road, Spring Hill, FL  34610
(813) 794-5800
Last modified Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr. Mary Giella Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top