Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Canterbury School of Florida - Knowlton Campus

Private | 5-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in St. Petersburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

As parents of a child who has been at Canterbury for 13 years (since preK), we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers really care about your child's education & development, in every way--academic, athletic, moral. And to top it all off, the college advising is second to none. If you're looking for the best school in the area, this is it. Take a tour. See what it's all about. You won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

A lovely balance of academics and nurturing appropriate for grade levels. Ability to create own areas of academic interest for higher grade students and lots of studying tru play for the younger ones. As a parent, never having to worry that the child is overlooked or ignored is priceless. Children feel loved and develop amazing self confidence. A variety of community projects exposes children to the world outside of the one many live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This school is one of the rare few in the Tampa Bay Area that delivers what it promises. Bullying is not tolerated. Very few cliques with a family oriented atmosphere. The teachers are tied into the parents with several updates via email on grades and progress each month. The portal to review homework and progress is easy and gives parents a way to make sure they know exactly what the kids are supposed to be doing. We moved both kids from another similarly priced top notch private school and thank goodness we did. Won't be looking back. Canterbury is the school that is up and coming. All the best teachers from the other private schools seemed to be migrating to this small, loving, academically oriented school. My child was bullied traumatically at another school and he is finally thriving and happy again. Now I have both children in Canterbury and while it is quite the drive, we just LOVE it. We are enjoying a diverse community of very impressive, involved families and children who are not pretentious but certainly could be. It is the right mix of low key, drug free, nurturing, gentle families. I am so glad I kept looking until I found this undiscovered gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

We love Canterbury! I wouldn't consider another school for my 6 year-old. The teachers, the community feel, and the educational experience is one that is not replicated anywhere else in the area. Starting in Pre-K, the kids learn to speak to a crowd during flag each morning, they have Madarin and Spanish, and a Marine Science program that is unlike any other early education environment I have seen. Truly impressive staff and dedication to excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

We are so pleased with Canterbury for our 3rd grade daughter. She was in an "A" rated fundamental school and doing well (straight A's and in the gifted program), but we felt she was not being challenged to her full potential (academically, socially and physically.) After the first day at Canterbury, she said it "was the best school day ever". Canterbury has small class sizes, extremely gifted teachers, recess (which is critical to a good learning enviroment), and enrichment programs such as Spanish, Mandarin, Art, Music, Marine Science, PE, Strings (violin) and a focus on a family atmostphere and character. My daughter is treated as an individual, yet part of a much larger family and it is wonderful. I can sleep at night knowing that we are giving her the best education possible. And an added bonus - she is happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

Our three daughters are attending Canterbury with our oldest graduating this May 2012. She is so prepared for college! Academically she was challenged. Athletically she was trained to her fullest potential. And she was given social skills that will carry her through life productively. All of these were reinforced at home. The grass is never greener on the other side you must water your own grass and that is exactly what the teachers, administration and parents do for our children. The encouragement and guidance is consistant. The education level is high and intertwined between subjects with many hands on activities. The glue to this school is parent association and communication between faculty and administration. The only draw back that my daughters say is the student body is small. Maybe another 300 hundred students would help in the lower and high school but any more than that and I think Canterbury will loose its edge over all other schools. This is one great school where the kids can grow in confidence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Canterbury makes we wish I was back in school! Our daughter is a rising 6th grader and the past 7 years have been a wonderful experience for our family. The Canterbury Community reflects all the positive things we want her to experience and learn from. We have had any concerns addressed in a thoughtful and appreciative manner. We are confident the faculty knows our child's strengths and weaknesses, as it is relected in her academic achievements, high confidence level, and wilingness to branch out and try new things
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

If the Public School Board used the Canterbury School of Florida as a model for teaching in public school we would see a higher graduation rate and young adults who understood how much positive power they have to shape not only their future but to influence the world they live in for the better. One of the keys to sucess at Canterbury is the teachers ability to build on each students strong points and bring confidence when dealing with subjectsthat are more difficult. Students at Canterbury know they can't fail because their teachers believe in them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Who said that Florida Schools are worse than schools back East? Well, this is certainly not the case for Canterbury. Our kids spent their early years in the best private and most expensive schools in NY, NJ and CT. We found Canterbury to provide a much better education and stimulating environment than any we have tried. There is a true sense of community with other families. Teachers and administrators are truly dedicated and those who are not are soon asked to leave. This is a serious, no nonsense school that will give our kids the education they deserve by the people they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

The lower school (PK-4th grade) is a warm & loving environment. The teachers couldn't be more loving or skilled in the art of teaching young students. The middle & upper school campus provides students with a sense of freedom, tho students are never far from the watchful & caring eyes of teachers & administrators. Academics are excellent, & the school offers a broad range of electives. Most graduating students receive scholarships; the total amount each year is astonishing. Athletics have become an important & exciting part of student (& parent) life. Also, Canterbury families are very friendly & welcoming. There is truly a sense of one big family; & there are several opportunities to become involved & to get to know the teachers & administrators. Overall, a great small school with more academic, athletic, & arts opportunities than you'd expect to find at a small school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I am the parent of a soon to be fourth grader and have spent the last five years at the Hough Campus. The school is divided into two campuses ... PK-4th on Snell Isle and 5th-12th on 62nd Avenue N. Canterbury is truly a 'family' environment. the children have a flag-raising assembly every morning (Flag) which is an opportunity to have community sharing about special goings-on and visiting relatives, etc. My child has attended this school since Pre-K and I can say without a doubt that deciding to attend this school was probably one of the most important decisions we ever made as parents. There faculty is incredible. They are tireless, concerned and gifted educators. They are a vitally important part of the community at Canterbury and a driving force behind the school's success. Academics here a challenging and not for the faint-hearted. An excellent school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

I am a parent of a soon to be middle school girl, having switched to Canterbury after a kindergarten experience that was not the start of academic life that we had planned for our daughter. Having just completed our fourth year here, I can say without reservation, that we have been able to afford the best possible academic start for our child that we can get in the Tampa Bay area. As we look ahead to the middle school years, what strikes us is that we are looking forward to the next chapter, rather than dreading it as some other parents have shared about their reservations about their schools. The staff has been nothing but top notch, the small by choice size of the class has been great for our child, and I see the next phase of education to be nothing but positive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Academics-verygood Art programs- excellent Sports-very good Thearter-excelent Parent involment-very close
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2006

Canterbury is on two different campuses, one for pre-K-4th and one for 5th-12th. The academics are strong on both, probably the best in St. Pete private schools, particularly the lower grades. However, turnover has been relatively high in recent years. Re-staffing has been with inexperienced teachers. College placement is not good and discipline is somewhat inconsistent with the older children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

Extremely satisfied with the academic emphasis. Canterbury has one of the lowest student-teacher ratios in education. Parent involvement can be ripe if you want it to be. Sports programs leave much to be desired though. Not really competitive with the larger prep schools in team sports, and has taken a step backwards in individual sports over the past few years. Perhaps this is going to change as the school adds football this year and 3 athletic fields on school grounds. To support a competitive football team though, they will have to expand the student population or else that new football field will just turn into a soccer field pretty soon. Looks like everything is heading in the right direction, but at the moment Canterbury remains a great academic school, average at-best athelic program, and a disproportionately large arts focus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 13, 2004

My son is now a sophomore at UF and doing very well.He was known as a 'lifer' at Canterbury having attended from kindergarten through 12th grade.His mom and I divorced when he was young and I truly believe that the nurturing he received from the Canterbury family-many teachers have been there 20 years or more-was very instrumental in making him the fine young man he is today.My wife and I now have children in 1st,3rd and 5th grades and wouldn't consider any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

As a parent I believe this school offers the highest learning environment available in this county. The staff are involved and care deeply for their children, the small classes allow the children to explore and learn individually as well as with their classmates. The parents offer so much for the teachers to use with their students such as places to fish, offices to go and visit, materials to use in their lessons and so much more. The parents association provides a huge amount of funding for extra items the teachers request. My child is a 1st grader and doing work a public school third grader who just be starting! This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

I am not a parent of a student that has gone here, I am a student that went here and graduated in 2000. I used to think, man I am sheltered here I want to go to a public school but now I look back, this school prepared me extremely well for life outside, definitely better than any public school in the area. I would like to add, any child that gets to go here is lucky and is guaranteed an excellent education!


Posted August 26, 2003

Safety environment is the best this school has to offer. Too many of their graduates attend Community College and not major universities
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

990 62nd Ave NE
St. Petersburg, FL 33702
Phone: (727) 525-1419

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Pete Prep Pre-School
St. Petersburg, FL



Holy Family Catholic School
St. Petersburg, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT