Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bair Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 922 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

This is school has its problems just like any other school. But if your child is attending this school ARE YOU AS A PARENT INVOLVED? I am part of the PTSA and the parents don't get involved in the kids education. You want something different for your child at Bair Middle get involve. Don't sit on the sideline and throw punches. I love the teachers and the principal. Some kids are trouble but you have to ask yourself who is guiding them at home. It all starts at home. That is the foundation that teachers have to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

This is a D school. Why would anyone in their right mind choose a school that can't seem to get their act together. This school cares more about how many they enroll. They are sweet talking new parents into the new and improved JADA program the orange line and the current Blue line...all these lines will keep you safe only during class time. They need to get rid of the students that cause problems. A slap in the hand for HARASSING other students; Its a shame that while our neighborhood are nice the school they have to offer is GARBAGE! CITY OF SUNRISE NEEDS TO GET INVOLVED. CHARTER THIS SCHOOL, GET PARENTS INVOLVED AND STUDENTS ACCOUNTABLE!


Posted December 6, 2013

This school is horrid there are bullies everywhere if you dont have the longest hair or the best body your picked on and singled out some teachers care and try to stop it others just dont do anything some teachers pick on the students to I do bot recommend this school to anyone also they dont know how to teach discipline as in suspension detention and iss or oss is more important wich is not good at all this school needs hepp in everything including dances witch dont have great anything including food they dont even dance only twerking while guys try to get behind them this school isnt good and the lot of us that want to learn are picked on becuase were not at the top of the social status


Posted February 12, 2013

I love this school, The principal is very involved with everything that has to do with the school. She is so kind and you can tell she really cares for all her students.The teacher's keep you informed with your child. If you need to speak with them for any reason ,they make to Time for you. I love Mrs fuller, she is one of the administrator in the front office and one of the kindest people I've ever might .she will help you when ever you need help. This is a really great school and I'm proud to say that. They care for the students and they try to keep the parents involved with there development . I highly recommend this school..I had two children that went to this school , one attending right now and one that will be going there next year. If you care about your child's education take the time and check out this school. Talk to the principle, teachers and staff stay involved and I'm sure you'll be very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2012

The school feels like a prison, the students are unenthusiastic about learning. It seems although they just don't care and many of them do not even have proper grammar and spelling skills. This school is more like a daycare in which students will rather socialize than work which still is good but it's a school so learning should be going on as well and the schools FCAT grade used to be subpar now it's okay but the teachers emphasize passing the FCAT and only teach students to pass the FCAT and there are very few students who will actually learn instead of distract the rest of the class. I DO NOT RECOMMEND ENROLLING YOUR CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL!


Posted October 24, 2011

My daughter attended this school for 3 years and my son is now in his 3rd year at this school. I am very pleased with the school. My children never had a single problem at this school yet others who chose to re-assign away from their home school did. It is time for all parents to support their assigned local school. I like the fact that it is a small school and the students have equal opportunity to participate in sports, clubs and other activities unlike the over-crowded schools in other cities where 400 kids try out for a soccer team. No thanks! Bair has an excellent front office and they are offering the virtual school accelerated program now for its gifted students. This school is way ahead of others on innovative ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I love Bair Middle School it is wonderful.The teachers are nice and the kids are very smart. I love bair but they need to work on ther kindness. They school is quiet and clean trust me Bair is a good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

Bair middle school is a wonderful school! Lots of great people there. I've learned so much over my years at Bair. Teachers work excellant with the students! Some of the students are rude though. It's a problem they need improving on.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2009

Bair Middle School is one of the worst schools I've ever been to. The other students are rude and I'm glad this is my last year there. The front office is pure chaos and needs to be more organized. Also, the school is not kept up at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

bair is a great school!!!If you want to learn and care about your education you will learn. Bair has alot of after school programs from artclub to sport teams to student council.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

I have been going ti bair for three years and i think it is a great school. I am in the gifted program so my friends and i have been together the whole day for the past 3 years. The teachers are great. I really dont want to leave bair next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

bair middle school iz da best school i have ever known its the best you can learn a lot and have fun the teachers are great
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2008

I just graduated from Bair, and I loved it. I was in Math Club and Spanish Club in 7th grade, and 8th grade was the best year of my life thus far, in academia and in terms of friendships (I was in the Gifted classes so my class stayed together the whole way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

The Administration is very, very, poor. One of my teachers is absent just about every day because she has to be part of the Admin. She is one of the youngest, lowest paid employees in the building but she is also the one who works the hardest to maintain her class and also the Administrators.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2007

Bair middle school needs to make some changes this year. Bair middle is way overpopulated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2006

This school has alot to be desired. Can't wait to be done with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I think bair is a great school i love everything there and that is coming from a student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

The teachers in the Advanced Program were excellent. They are dedicated and encouraging. They know and understand their students and were never afraid to push them to their highest academic capability. They have all been easy to talk to and easy to contact, always making that follow-up call. The academic program was appropriate for the grade level and challaging. The teachers all seem to be qualified to do the job and communicated with the parents, which is absolutely important. My son attended grade 7 and one term of grade 8 and he was very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

Good teachers, good guidance, wonderful gifted program, not enough extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

My daughter is in 6th grade, therefore, she has only attended this school 1 year. She does not like it. She is a straight A gem student and she tells me the kids are bad and out of control. She has been hurt on campus by roughhousing and no one in the staff called me, has seen many fights and she dreads going to school and it is very upsetting to me. Something needs to be done and I do not feel that the school is a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

298 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

298 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

299 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 58%
Hispanic 20%
White 13%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 9%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES MCDERMOTT
Fax number
  • (754) 322-2985

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9100 Northwest 21st Manor
Sunrise, FL 33322
Phone: (754) 322-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Blake School
Plantation, FL



C.G Smith Academy
Sunrise, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT