Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 664 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

I believe this school has potential and needs the help of not only the staff but parents as well. I feel that there are some wondeful and experienced teachers at this school. I also have never had a problem with office staff and they strike me as very down to earth and knowledgeable and concerned. I do feel that with the new leadership of Dr. Smalls and the new attitude and excitement they have adopted that this school has and will continue to prosper with the help of us all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I have two children at Springwood ES and this is the worst school they have ever attended! I am trying very hard to rezone them to get them out of this school. 1 out of 5 teachers has responded to my questions and concerns without me having to copy the principal to get a response. The general attitude and teacher to parent coomunication is horrible!! This school needs a thorough evaluation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

My daughter has been a student as Springwood since kindergarden and she is now in the 5th grade. Over the years the school has gone downhill I am sad to say. I have found when I voice concerns about teachers I am met with excuses instead of ways we can make things better. There are some awesome teachers that really care about their students. Unfortunately, the teachers that don't seem to care out number the ones that are really trying to make a difference. The office staff is awefull too. One of the ladies that works in the front office actually has a teenage grandaughter that stays with her in the office all day. I think that is just crazy. Fortunately this is my daughter's last year at this school. I already moved her younger sister to a different school because it has gotten so bad there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

The school needs to improve the teachers one on one interactions with the students, seems as though the interns spend more time teaching than the teachers. Front office staff could use some training on parent and student do's and don'ts, What happened to teachers that greet students with a smile and encouragement at the beginning of the day! Teachers who truly care about the students and have experience in educating as well as teaching are needed at Springwood. Hopefully a change will come soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Less than impressed with this school. My childs best interest was not put first. This school could use a better principal and teachers. needless to say my child no longer goes here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Less than impressed with leadership! Securing the students is last on the never ending list of improvements needed. Needless to say....I moved my child!! (Which was sad because we loved our teacher but had nothing but concerns with upper leadership)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I really enjoy interacting with the school teachers and principal. The scholl is an excellent learning facility. I especially enjoy the time and caring that the two afterschool instructors display with the children. Chris and Matt are doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Springwood is doing a Great Work in the lives of our children! Lines of communication are wide open. I can see new hope and inspirationunder the guidance of our new leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

I think it could still improve a great deal, starting with getting rid of the assistant principal there, but overall it's a great school. The teachers have all been A+ so far, and Principal Burgess is wonderful and always a delight. The school could get better, but is on its way to greatness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

My daughter has gone to Springwood the past couple of years and we are extremely impressed. I absolutely love the principal..I think she is fantastic with motivation for the school. I do wish information on different things were sent home sooner. The current director and assistant director of afterschool are two of the best gentlemen you could meet. The are GREAT with the students and much more organized than the previous director. Having gone to Springwood myself when the school first opened and seeing how things are from my childs years there I believe they have carried on a fantastic tradition of excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

I have two children at Springwood, both boys, both considered ADD. We have had good and bad teachers, but our overall experience has been good. I have volunteered regularly for the past 6 years. I don't have a good opinion of the current principal. I find some of the logistical procedures at the school redundant and useless. The afterschool program has gone downhill since the new principal has come to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Very solid educational facility. Excellent Speech and Learning Disability Centers. Caring teachers and administrators. We highly recommend Springwood Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

my son attended springwood for 2 years the teachers are great.kindergarten and first grade has the best teachers.And the staff is great too.whatever you need they will help you with it.we really miss springwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school is fantastic. My kids really enjoy going everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

All in all, Springwood is not bad for a public school. I personally feel that there is far too much TV watching going on (especially during the so-called 'special areas' classes). We do not encourage television in our home...I do not want it encouraged at school. I will say, however, that I am impressed with the level on which the students are working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I believe this school needs better parent/teacher communication. Phone calls to teachers go unanswered and information sent home should be sent earlier, not the day of or only one day before.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 63%
White 27%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Fred George Road
Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone: (850) 488-6225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Academy
Tallahassee, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT