Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Learning Community

Private | PK-8

We are best known for Service Learning.

 
 

Living in Tallahassee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $103,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

Totally amazing place! We say we can't really afford this school but we can't afford not to send our son there. He is in first grade now and attended K there. He absolutely LOVES going to school and even wishes there were no weekends so he could go to school more. The school fosters a love of learning and is focused on development if the entire individual not just the academics which are themselves incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Cornerstone Learning Community is an amazing school. My daughter has been going since she was 3 and is now in kindergarten. Cornerstone is a community of parents, teachers, staff and administration working together for the best interest of the children. The children learn through hands-on projects and real life experiences! I highly recommend Cornerstone and honestly believe it's one of Tallahassee's hidden treasures!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

This school is amazing. The whole community is warm and welcoming and the staff is outstanding with great leadership and people who are genuinely dedicated to the school and its success. My daughter attended kindergarten and 1st grades there and she would still be going there if we hadn't moved out of state. There was never a day that she did not come home happy and I loved seeing her show me the amazing things she had learned. Cornerstone students thrive and the parents are actively involved on a daily basis. I cannot say enough how much I love this school. It is also relatively inexpensive as far as private schools go and there is financial assistance available to promote a diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

As a grandparent, I have always felt welcomed to participate in the 'Community'. I have had two grandsons there since 2005. CLC is a fabulous emotional, physical, and intellectural environment. My older grandson is now in high school and has made the honor role each term of his first year. My younger grandson loves learning and loves going to school each day.


Posted January 4, 2009

My child is in K at Cornerstone, and it is an amazing learning environment. Students are taught to be good citizens by simply having them interact with their own vegetable gardens, their school community, and society. Weekly newsletters from each teacher describes what the class did, and community service is not a 'project' but a way of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I am a student at Cornerstone Learning Community, and I'm in the Middle School Class. I think that this school is a great place where we can learn things in a completely different envirment then at the public schools here. This is my 2nd year here, and me and my sibling have had very little problems. I do think that the discipline at the school could be a little bit higher, but it's alot better than at public school. Keep up the great work Cornerstone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2006

Cornerstone effectively teaches its students a love for learning, along with core values of respect and acceptance. Somehow Cornerstone has mastered the art of teaching in a structured, but relaxed, environment while meeting the individual learning style of each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Best school in tallahassee. Parents involvement is superb and the teachers are terrific. Wouldn't go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

We have two shildren attending Cornerstone. The academics are excellent, challenging students while meeting the needs of each child. The small classes allow for individual attention and the curriculum sets high standards. What we like best about the school is the supportive community of parents, teachers and students. We also chose Cornerstone for its emphasis on social justice and responsibility which is evident in the curriculum as well as its service learning projects and the overall atmosphere of the school. Both of our children are so happy to be there that they actually hate missing school. The art, music, drama and physical education classes are also excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

Cornerstone Learning Community's academic programs are outstanding. The teachers and faculty work together to create a learning environment for children that encourages exploration and discovery. Teachers are leaders in their classroom and are actively involved in curriculum development. Class sizes at CLC are limited to 18-22 students - varying by grade/age. Teachers use a variety of techniques to help children understand and use what they are learning; within the walls of the classrooms and outside. Children are given adequate time outdoors to explore and play - the outdoors classroom is the best! All grade levels actively interract in learning together and helping to build a strong community that teaches honesty, respect, responsibility, self-discipline, perseverance and giving. CLC encourages parents to be partners in our child's educational experience; working with teachers and faculty to ensure that each child's needs are met. More schools should follow the lead of this exemplary educational facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

Cornerstone has been a breath of fresh air, complete with a curriculum that emphasizes active learning that's both practical (Everyday Math) and engaging. My son has thrived in this environment which stresses community service as well as academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Community is the keyword at Cornerstone Learning Community. The kids, teachers, administrators, and parents work together to build a true love of learning in the students. Children learn by hands on activites and projects. Community service is experienced as kids participate in making Tallahassee a better place to live. Kids come a way with a sense of the importance of Community and helping others. Parents are extremly involved in all school activities. Kids are motivated to excell not for a score on a test, but from a curriousity of the world around them. Academic excellence is achieved at every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 42%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 2% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Beverly Wells/ Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-Denominational
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (850) 386-5421

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • archery, ultimate frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • archery, ultimate frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2524 Hartsfield Road
Tallahassee, FL 32303
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 386-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Amikids Tallahassee
Tallahassee, FL



The Magnolia School
Tallahassee, FL


Heritage Academy
Tallahassee, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT