Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hunter's Green Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 842 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2008

We moved from another country and my daughter who spoke no English at the time had a superb welcome and succeeded very well. Kuddos to Liz and Gladys the two ESOL para-professionals. My son's experience has been a little more rocky. I do feel that the school doesn't take working parents into consideration when planning their events. Open House is in the middle of the day, most teachers try to schedule parent-teacher conferences early inthe morning and not on conference day itself. PTA is good if you have the time. It is a public school but it seems more like a private/public there is always something you need to send money in for. The parents, most of whom are stay at home moms or people who own their own business, have very superficial concerns and expect that everyone is going to have the same availability they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have 2 kids in this school. Having a new building is great so that we have more space. Very good neighbourhood school. Principal and teachers care about the kids which is excellent. Couldn't deny and should appreciate all the volunteers around school with many ways. Wonderful parents involments. They do have some rooms to improve to still as one of top school though. BTW, front office staffs need more smile so that make a better day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

My son has been enrolled in HGE since he was in pre-k. He has had a wonderful expereince there and I could not have asked for better teachers. He will be entering second grade this year and he is as excited as ever. The teachers, parents and administration work hard at making sure every child feels successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I have two children at Hunters Green. I have been very impressed with the school. The administrative staff is awesome the principle knows the children on a first name basis. The teachers are wonderful, great parent teacher involvement. The PTA is wonderful, all the activities planned throughout the year are great If
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I have two children at Hunter's Green. The teachers are excellent and the administration is very responsive. The school has a great neighborhood feel to it. The parents are very involved and the AGP program is great. The think the school is good for every student. The intgration of special needs students into some regular classes is awesome for both typical and special needs kids. The principal is great, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My son loved his first year (kindergarten) at this school! Here s what we liked: - his top notch, creative, thoughtful teacher who embraced thorough academics - the great sense of community - that parental involvement was encouraged - the strong, compassionate, determined and dedicated leadership - their superb library - their wonderful reading program He s ready to take on first grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I would have to say we have had a rough two years at Hunters Green. If your child has any sort of academic challenges (learning delays), be prepared to fight to make sure your child is receiving the services they need. The school teaches at a level for only the Academically gifted students, the class rooms are over crowed and that is why many of the grades are co-taught. Just because it is in a good neighbor does not make a school great. The front office staff are warm and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Ok I am a student at this school right now. It is a great school. I am in the fourth grade, and all the teachers I have had are EXCELLENT!!! Ok when it comes to parent involvement...every friend I have at that school (WHICH IS A LOT!!!) Their parents are PTA. (including mine) The academic programs are great. Like, today we just had the Battle Of The Books! I came in 3rd!! Sorry off topic. The availability of the specials are great! We have almost never have had specials canceled. Wait, I would just like to say something! Hi, Mrs.Landers(3rd grade teacher) Mrs.Rodriguez(current teacher) and Mrs.Brisco! Sorry, had to do that! Well, I would just like to sum up that our school is the best, but one problem is the class sizes...there is like 23 kids in every class! In mine there is, 29! Sorry HGE. But it's great!!! BYE!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

Great school. Tons of parent involvement. Top notch teachers. Strong math and science gifted program. Located in a great neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

The younger grade teachers are good though. If your child is in fourth grade I would go to another school. We took our children to a nearby school and they are much happier The old principal did nothing about the bad teachers there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Its a good school. Have good teachers. Good on parent involvement. Good on discipline. Have substantial extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

Excellent school with great parental involvement. In tune with student needs. Caring staff with the student's best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

School is a great one. New principal in year 2005-06 will improve school even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I feel this schools academic program is great, although the overcrowding could be better dealt with. I like the new principal and have had nothing but good experiences with her. The last one I am not so sure about, but then that could be the reason she is not there. I can truly say from past esperiences my children are very smart, but when it comes to the school and them notifying parents on things ahead of time, that could use some work. I guess it just depends on who the teachers are. I also say the extracurricular is very limited when it comes to sports or language being the variety of ethnic background they could be more diverse in this area. Safety is also an issue I think they could use a security guard or two.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

An excellent school with high level of parental involvement. There are music, art, and PE classes for all grades as well as AGP (Academic Gifted Program) classes for selected students. Parents and kids tend to be quite happy with the school and the major complaint (as in all Tamps schools) is the challange of large class sizes. Luckily, the ballot initiative passed last year is forcing the State to attack the class size problem instead of just playing numerical games.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

It's in a very affluent area of Tampa and the requests from the staff and PTA reflect this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

My child attended this school for a short time. He was overwhelmed by some of the chaos of the other students. The teachers truly cared but were overwhelmed by the uncontrollable disrespectful students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2005

I was shocked that the school does not teach spanish/english as a second language when almost half the students are ethnic. Northern and eastern states all provide this option and are less likely to warrant knowledge of spanish. The class sizes are too large and the students spend much of their time waiting. The parent participation seems excellent. The music and art programs are good but the sport programs are limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

facility is good. staff is friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 32%
Black 30%
Hispanic 26%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%67%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVE MCMEEN
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4525

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9202 Highland Oak Drive
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 973-7394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT