Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hunter's Green Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 847 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

The school has big problems. One positive is Coach Harris. He is respected by parents and students and is the one bright spot at the school. My kids love him. Coach Harris is the best teacher at HGE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

About social dynamics: My son goes to this school and we live around the corner so we frequently walk home. One day on the way home he points to a tree and tells me it's like the tattle tree. That's confusing to me, so I ask him what he means. He is in first grade this year. He tells me he and some other kids were playing tackle football at recess and he ended up in the bottom of a dog pile with another boy. When everyone was getting up one of the other boys punched him hard in the arm. He told his teacher what was going on, she and another were on the playground supervising, and the other teacher (NOT his) told him to go tell a tree. I asked if kids are permitted to play tackle football because that's a pretty rough sport and they had not helmets or gear and he told me no, they could play touch or flag, but they play tackle at recess anyway. So here is my confusion: while SUPERVISING the class, my son's teacher and a colleague allowed them to play a rough sport without protection and when someone got hurt the solution was to tell a tree. I asked him what the tree did about it, he said nothing, looking as disappointed as I felt. This is not unusual, this is typical.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

HG is not a community school. Before you send your child here look at the school boundaries. Be aware that due to the zones, a large number of disadvantaged children are bussed in from the USF area. These children need a lot of attention and help. That means there will be less help for your child. This rezoning policy has resulted in the school dropping from it's grade A which it had for over ten years, to a C which it is now. The school is unlikely to become an A school again any time in the near future until the zoning issue is addressed. Hunter's Green families no longer send their children there due to these issues. And it doesn't matter how many times the PTA and the staff post five star ratings on this web page - it won't change the facts. The school board needs to remember they are elected and do something about this school as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

HGE is an amazing school. I am pleased with the caring and loving attitudes of the teachers and administrators! I was incredibly pleased to see the principal and teachers with umbrellas in the rain helping the students get out of their parents vehicle safely to class. That is commendable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

Did you know that despite increasingly difficult measures imposed by the state, our lowest quartile FCAT scores in math improved by 30% this year? :0) GO HUNTER'S GREEN TEACHERS AND STUDENTS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 27, 2013

I'm super excited to say my son is really enjoying school starting out this year! We moved into Hunter's Green district this year and I was worried based on the mixed reviews. It has already been a 180 turn around from last year. I will rewrite my review at the end of the year to see if my opinion has changed. So far I'm happy to see my child happy and learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

I have been a teacher at Hunter's Green Elementary for over 12 years. One thing has remained constant; the teachers' dedication to their students and to the families of Hunter's Green Elementary. Our staff is creative and energetic with tons of new ideas to make our school better than ever. I would recommend any family to come and visit HGE to see for themselves!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2013

I have been at Hunters Green for years. The environment that the teachers and the PTA create are wonderful. It's not always about test scores and data, many other qualities make up a school? The amount of work that the teachers and PTA put into making families feel welcome is amazing. Teachers and staff members care about their families by constantly providing supplies, food, clothing, support during the school year and holidays. Their community outreach to local churches and business' have been evident throughout the years. There are many teachers that have been at HGE for years and they are fantastic. I believe that this is one of the few schools that still care about the students and their families and not look at them as just a statistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Six years ago, I chose to join the Hunter's Green family and I have never looked back! Yes, the school has had some changes but overall it is still as fantastic as the first day I stepped into it. The faculty and staff are a wonderful group of dedicated, compassionate and very knowledgeable leaders. They strive to ensure each student is making progress and actively reach out to the parents for assistance. My kids can not wait for another school year to begin!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Our school is an amazing diverse community of learners. Our teachers are some of the most dedicated and professional educators in our school system. They are knowledgeable and supportive of all the families at our school. The principal makes time for each and every family that would like to meet with him to listen and answer questions and concerns over any ideas they would like to bring our school to enhance the expectations of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

Before our new Principal, two years ago this school was like Harvard, now we've gone from an "A" school to a "C" school, two years with a new leader and down a letter grade each year. Do not pur your kid in this school if you have any other option!!! There are many other issues with this school, teachers could care less, kids are bullied, the list is endless but the decline in academics should speak for itself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

Hunters green is no longer a community school! Look closely and you will see any "good" reviews are older reviews when it was once a great school. FCAT scores show the school is ranked last in New Tampa and below Hillsborough County averages- only 50% or less students passed the standards test. LESS THAN 50%. Those parents that continue to allow their kids to attend this school are cheating their kids. I hear "But there are still some good teachers at Hunters Green." but when less than half your students can pass a basic test you no longer can call that teacher a good teacher! When the communities property values start to be affected then the people will start paying attention. This school is a failure to ALL the students attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

Hunter's Green was an awesome school which I have always been happy with. Since the new principal took over a couple years ago, I feel like the school has gone down hill drastically. I am very disappointed with the way the school is run currently. Some of the teachers have been awesome, and I have been lucky to get wonderful teachers for both my children. Neither of them will be going to Hunter's Green again due to my unhappiness with it. It's sad :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

There are only a handful of teachers who are committed and fair. Unless you can spend most of your day at school, your valid concerns will be ignored. Kids of "involved" parents can bully and get away with it repeatedly as their parents are 'friends' with the teachers! There's no worthwhile after school activities offered here. The gifted program is no longer what it used to be. Very very disappointing learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

We have 2 children at this school, the younger of whom is in the school's EELP program. His teachers are extraordinary - they are warm, kind and patient, as are the therapists and volunteers, and we have seen much improvement in his development in the few months since he has become eligbile to join this program. Both children are excelling and are very happy. The principal at the school is very involved and leads with great example. We feel very fortunate that our children's educational experience has been such a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

Hunter's Green is an EXCELLENT school. My son started at this school in kindergarten he is now in 5th grade and every year has been absolutely WONDERFUL. When he started at this school he was in the OHI(other health impaired) classes and they took such great car of him. His teachers and his aid took such wonderful care of him, I can't thank them enough. He is now in regular classes and the teachers are just as great. We love this school!!!!! The teachers, staff and Mrs. Tonelli are GREAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

This is a hit or miss school. If you are lucky enough to get a good teacher they are phenomenal! However, if you get one that can not/will not meet the needs of your child (whether in AGP, regular ed, or special services) you are just out of luck. The principal talks the talk, but has no follow through in getting needs met and making appropriate accommodations. Other than that we are pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

We moved from another country and my daughter who spoke no English at the time had a superb welcome and succeeded very well. Kuddos to Liz and Gladys the two ESOL para-professionals. My son's experience has been a little more rocky. I do feel that the school doesn't take working parents into consideration when planning their events. Open House is in the middle of the day, most teachers try to schedule parent-teacher conferences early inthe morning and not on conference day itself. PTA is good if you have the time. It is a public school but it seems more like a private/public there is always something you need to send money in for. The parents, most of whom are stay at home moms or people who own their own business, have very superficial concerns and expect that everyone is going to have the same availability they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have 2 kids in this school. Having a new building is great so that we have more space. Very good neighbourhood school. Principal and teachers care about the kids which is excellent. Couldn't deny and should appreciate all the volunteers around school with many ways. Wonderful parents involments. They do have some rooms to improve to still as one of top school though. BTW, front office staffs need more smile so that make a better day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

My son has been enrolled in HGE since he was in pre-k. He has had a wonderful expereince there and I could not have asked for better teachers. He will be entering second grade this year and he is as excited as ever. The teachers, parents and administration work hard at making sure every child feels successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 42%
Black 27% 23%
Hispanic 26% 29%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%67%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dave Mcmeen
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4525

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9202 Highland Oak Dr
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 973-7394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sand Pine Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT