Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunbar Elementary Magnet School

Public | K-5 | 229 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2007

I put my daughter in Dunbar after hearing many good things about the staff and program. At the rate things are going, I may pull her out before Christmas. She has a teacher who apparantly cannot control the class. My wife visited last week and the kids were yelling and throwing things while she sat there, and the teacher didn't even say anything. It's bad, and the office doesn't seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I removed my 4th grader from dunbar after last year. The teacher turnover has been terrible for the last few years. I think it's because of the principal. That's a shame, because dunbar was a great school when my son started 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Our son went to Miles elementary until 4th grade at which time we couldn't take it any more, we got him enrolled in the magnet system and chose Dunbar because of their science and math curriculum. At first the neighborhood sort of frightened us but as soon as we were 'welcomed' through the doors by ms Carson and her staff we have never looked back. What a great job the whole staff does to making u feel like a big family. ms Fortman, our sons fourth grade teacher was absolutely fantastic. she always has a positive attitude. she didn't wait until our son was going down hill to ask for a conference if he was getting c's she called. (even Sunday evening!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

The neighborhood Dunbar is in might not be as good as some other school neighborhood but never judge a book by it's cover. I went to Dunbar ever since 2NDgrade, now I am still at Dunbar in 5thgrade. My brother use to go to Dunbar but now he is in middle school. We both thinks this school is fabulous. The staffs at Dunbar is wonderful! The teachers are very funny, and caring. The specials teachers (music,P.E..etc) teaches you things that you can apply to the real world!Dunbar offers many fun things but educational at the same time too, for example clubs. Some of the clubs are the chess club and the recycling club! There is also a 5THgrade banquet. (A party for 5THgraders since they are graduating elementary school) Also Margareta Spellings, The Secretary of the United States visited Dunbar! Trust Me you won't be disappointed if your child(ren) attend Dunbar.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I have watched with sadness this once very good school swiftly decline over the past couple of years as my children worked their way through. 'A fish rots from the head' is true at Dunbar. An outstanding principal was replaced by a very good one, but then she was replaced by another new principal who has alienated parents with very disappointing decisions followed by very poor communication. During these transitions, many of the best teachers have also transfered. My youngest is in 5th grade, where the teachers are still experienced and excellent. I wouldn't recommend Dunbar to someone starting out today, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I wanted to take time to say that my son has recently begun attending Dunbar and he has made great strides. He's enthusiastic about school and his teacher Mrs. Gibbs. I visited the school last week and sat in his class. The staff were very courteous and helpful; I felt as if I've been associated with this school years. The teachers were very patient and attentive to the kids, even those who weren't following directions. All the children, amazingly, anticipated their 'quiet' reading time. I found this astonishing; my son is steadily making progress and the first quarter hasn't arrived. I'm really looking forward to what the future holds for my son and I at Dunbar Elementary! My son, only in the first grade, was explaining to me how the music, art, and sports instructors are very pleasant; 'Mommy they're great because they enjoy teaching us. I was impressed!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

First I believe every good academic program start from the directive given to the staff as well as the teachers from the administration. Dunbar's administrative staff has a wonderful rapport with the parents. They are very active in meeting the needs of the student as well as addressing the concerns of the parents. It has been my experience that if you have any difficulty communicating with a teacher the administrative staff is always willing to intercede and acts as a liaison between the parents and teacher to resolve the concerns of both parties. Most of the teachers are giving excellent support to the children to ensure their academic success. Supplemental materials are always given to help with the current lesson. Additional feedback is given to parents on status of the children's progress. Dunbar is fortunate to have great teachers; it has been for the most part a wonderful experience for my children. I wish all the school in Hillsborough County were as successful as this one. KUDOS FOR DUNBAR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Excellent staff makes for an excellent school. Dunbar's math program is especially outstanding. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

This is a wonderful school with an outstanding staff. My son attended this school from 1st grade, now he is in third and I continue to be amazed with the quality and diversity of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

I am a former student that attended Dunbar and I think that it was a great school. I went there since 2nd grade. The teachers had good personalities and my parents got along with them very well besides a couple. Overall I enjoyed my time at Dunbar and am now an honnor roll student in the 6th grade at Williams Middle Magnet, which is also a good school. If you are thinking about going there then you are on the right track.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2004

My son has made an immense improvement in his math skills. His teacher provides support in more than just teaching; she has help improve his self esteem by focusing on positive attributes. He adores his 2nd grade teacher Ms. Van Name and he enjoys going to school. We moved to Brandon and live walking distance from another elementary school but he chooses to the take bus across town to continue his education at Dunbar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2003

Perhaps the best public elementary school in Tampa. My daughter has attended since 1st grade and we've been very happy with our choice. The staff is especially outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My child is no longer enrolled at Dunbar due to the lack of administrative responsibility. Our time spent there last year was a nightmare! We moved our son to another magnet and have never been happier!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
Hispanic 32%
White 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%67%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SARAH JACOBSEN-CAPPS
Fax number
  • (813) 272-2254

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1730 West Union Street
Tampa, FL 33607
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT