Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bellamy Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 679 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

This school is very good. I'm so happy with that. My Child that has learn a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I'm not happy with this school, my daughter ends kindertgarden this next month and I have only one conference in the school year because she is very intelligent and does not require conference (though I ask, I did not quote). .. so bad! comunnication poor with the teacher, who responds to my notes of 3 or 5 days after
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I think bellamy elementary school is a great school when when it comes to teaching with kids also teachers are wouldful. but i have one major question is that the school did not get in touch with me one it came to me son of testing for passing grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

My youngest son goes to this school and loves it. The teachers are very responsive and the principle always has a presence in the class rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I like the school and the teachers. The only thing I don't like like is that my daughter watches more movies and has more junk food at school then she has ever had at home. I feel that there is no point in giving a child cookies, chips and hawiian punch then telling them to sit still and stay quiet. I just want more teaching and if they have a party why don,t the teachers use their imaginations and have a music party or a treasure hut.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Bellamy has the potential to be a great school but falls extremelyl short. They have no discipline practices expecially for children the age of 7. The principal is rarely on site and is not a presence at the school. The asst. principal is great as well as the nursing and teaching staff. This school also no longer has what has been reported on this site as an open classroom policiy. The contact between the teachers and parents is only as good as the teacher you are dealing with. This school does not appreciate the role of an active parent and is oppositional to an active parent if it requires dedication and effort on their part. A school is only as strong as its weakest student. I would not recommend this school to anyone who has a difficult child and is educated in helping them succeed in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

My oldest son is in his last year at Bellamy. He has attended Bellamy for five years. Bellamy's teachers, staff and principal have made a great impression on their students. My son was struggling with his grades the first two years. After some tutoring and speech therapy at the school, my son is now a A's and B's student. Thanks to the teachers who care at Bellamy. Parents need to be involved in their childrens education. If something is not going right for your child, you need to call a meeting with teachers to discuss your childs options. If you do not help your child strive, the teachers could only do so much. Parents need to be advocates for their children in order for them to successed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I have two boys that go to this school since kindergarden. The teachers are wonderful and the school itself is designed beautifully. I am very involved with my childrens academics. I give this school A+ for teahcer,student and parent involvement. The teachers communicate on the daily basis with the parents whether via notes, progress notes, telephone calls, etc. One of the reasons I haven't move is because my children enjoy attending Bellamy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My son is attending Bellamy for his 3rd year. We are very happy with the school. We actually love the open classroom concept. We were hesitant about it his first year (I thought it would be distracting and possibly disruptive), but after spending time in the classroom, I realized it is actually wonderful. The gifted math program here is awesome with a wonderful teacher. In fact, we have no complaints about any of the teachers our son has had. They have all kept him challenged and we stay in touch with both of the teachers he has had prior to this year. As a parent, I always feel welcome to come to the school and be involved with what's going on with our son - that is very important to me. Teacher/parent communication is great via progress reports, notes, conferences and occasional phone calls. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Good School but I dont like the open classroom concept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I have 3 daughters that started at Bellamy Elementary this school year, the school is great!teachers are wonderful, helpful, very involved with parents. Academic programs offered are great and they have advanced classes. My children are involved in music and art and are on the honor roll. My experience with this school has been wonderful. From school functions and meetings parent involvement is high. I feel the academics, staff and the safety of the school are all excellent. And what speaks the loudest my girls enjoy school and their grades show it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
White 13%
Black 9%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. FRANCINE LAZARUS
Fax number
  • (813) 873-4877

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9720 Wilsky Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33615
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 872-5387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT