Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jesuit High School 5

Posted March 29, 2014
- a community member
This "parent" right below me is completely wrong. First of all, I wouldn't tab schools like FSU and USF as top schools, even though I am attending USF at the moment. And the fact that they suspended nine of their top baseball players for an infraction that they would have suspended non athletes for, kind of shoots down your argument that they treat athletes better. Jesuit truly is a great school that holds their students (both athletes and non-athletes alike) to a high standard with regards to grades and behavior.
1 person found this helpful

Jesuit High School 2

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
The school, students and some parents hold the school in such high regard that it is unrealistic. The school is not the all- it -be shinning star and in fact has a few scuffs (ie 9 baseball players being suspended see Tampa Tribune) where "moral character" is involved. In addition students are not getting in the colleges of (first) choice. If you play a sport you should be fine but on merits of GPA watch out! Top schools (FSU, USF, UF, etc) are not so inviting to students.


Jesuit High School 4

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Jesuit is a great school with a challenging curriculum. The problem is they do not "pad" the grades like the public schools do. Therefore, when it is time to apply for college your GPA is not as high as the public school students. The public universities in Fl do not take into consideration that Jesuit is significantly more difficult. Many Jesuit students are having trouble getting into public Univ. because of this. All that matters is the GPA, even if you ace the SAT and ACT. Just be aware, I wish I had been.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school! Not only does it offer top academics, but also a strong moral expectation and brotherhood amongst the students.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
We have been very pleased with the education that our son has received at Jesuit HS. We were concerned that, because we aren't Catholic, he would be at a disadvantage. We had nothing to worry about! Yes, this is a Catholic environment, but it does not completely "define" its students. The education is 2nd to none. Sports are important, but so are ALL of the extra curricular offerings. Community service is an extremely important component to JHS. Giving back to the community and becoming a "man for others" is the backbone of the Jesuit education. I agree that there are some teachers who are not of the caliber expected at JHS and I feel the guidance department needs an overhaul, but you will find this necessary in any school -public or private. This is my only complaint. These young men are held to a higher expectation than may be found at other schools. Those who do not follow the rules are dealt with by the administration, unlike public schools that tend to "look the other way". It is a competitive process to get in to JHS, and it is not for everyone, but those boys who manage to get the opportunity and embrace it, emerge as leaders of the Tampa community.


Jesuit High School 5

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
Jesuit is hard, it is rewarding, and it has been life changing for my son. I have seen him grow in his Freshman year to new levels in both learning and morality. Do not listen to the reviews that say this is not a Catholic institution, it is. Aside from his English teacher, all of the teachers are fair and caring. Sports are important, BUT so are ALL of the extra activities. Their debate club is second to none, their environmental club is fantastic, and they give all the boys an opportunity to shine. It is cool to be a jock or a nerd here, basically it is cool to be yourself.
1 person found this helpful

Jesuit High School 3

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
The education is good, however, discipline is not equal (depending on who you are) and many things are overlook/exceptions made for certain people. This doesn't teach good lessons! Football coach is rude, has a trash mouth, and extremely partial.

Jesuit High School 5

Posted April 28, 2012
- a parent
Jesuit High school represents the finest in academics and athletics programs alike. All while instilling the importance of community service and living the motto..."Men for Others". Without question, one of the finest schools on the country!


Jesuit High School 5

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
There is no other school in Tampa which we would ever consider for our son. If you are seeking a school which not only emphasizes academics and self discipline, but character development, this is the school to attend. Jesuit strives to graduate morally sound, thoughtful, strong, considerate, influential, and achievement oriented men. This is not a school for all. It is for those who recognize the values which make a good boy a great man.

Jesuit High School 2

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
Make sure your son gets a very good education in elementary and middle school before you come here [ you will need it] and make sure your son is catholic. This school says they take every student that is gifted or with learning differences. Also the discipline policy is the worst. If you do anything whether if it is forgetting your homework or bad behavior or being late, you get detention. There detention system is very different. You write things like poems, scripts, Copy books etc. Also some of the teachers are mean and/or rude. Finally send your son to another school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jesuit High School
4701 North Himes Avenue, Tampa, FL  33614
(813) 877-5344
Last modified Jesuit High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Jesuit High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top