Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academy Of The Holy Names
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
For the most part, teachers have been smart and caring. However, it is not unusual to have a high level of difference in terms of creativity and competence among teachers in the same grade.

Academy Of The Holy Names
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Teachers do not give a lot of homework for the most part. As the kids get older they do get more, and most projects are done during school hours.


Academy Of The Holy Names
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Sometimes the rules are too strict and kids fill stifled and more scared than respectful.

Academy Of The Holy Names 3

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has many good qualities. Facilities are amazing, technology is excellent and for the most part the teachers are caring. However, there are a lot of issues. No matter how much technology they use, the school is not making the curriculum very interesting or engaging to its students. Administration does not welcome parental involvement even at the Pre K level. We parents wonder what they are hiding. Lower grades do not take music, they take "creative arts" and for $14,000 a year, we expected a real music and art class. These changes are not discussed with parents, because the school's attitude is that they know better and we are supposed to write them a check and keep our mouths shut. The school is undergoing a huge transformation over the next few years so in order to finance that, they pack kids into classes of 22 and put pressure on parents every year to give more during their annual fund. Before you send your child here, ask how many different math programs they have gone thru in the last five years, why each year parents are worried about which teacher their child is going to get because we all know that one is much better than the other (in elementary school). Sub par curriculum also means that boys heading to Jesuit are taking summer remedial classes. Communication from the school is good, but depending on the teacher you may know what is going on and you may have no idea. Don't be fooled by all the exterior beauty, behind closed doors there are a lot of unhappy parents wondering where else they can go.

Academy Of The Holy Names 1

Posted December 14, 2014
- a student
The classes are not very challenging or interesting. They are unnecessarily strict with their rules. There are a lot of students who cause trouble in class. I get less homework than I did in elementary school. This is not a school that I want to go back to.


Academy Of The Holy Names 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
Great facilities, strong academics and my kids love it! After touring several private schools we decided on Holy Names, even though we are not Catholic and we couldn't be more pleased with how happy and challenged my kids are. My only complaint is that it does not have an open door policy for parents, we are kept a bit on the outside, though there are several activities throughout the year that give us some access, but I do wish there was more. All in all, this is great school!

Academy Of The Holy Names 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
The facilities are top-notch. The environment is safe and nuturing, with teachers that truly care about each individual student. The academics are appropriately challenging. The athletic department is amazing, with a swimming pool, tennis courts, track, indoor basketball/volleyball courts, and weight training facility. There are numerous extra-curricular activities. Communication with teachers and administration has been excellent for the four years I have had my 2 children at Academy of the Holy Names. 30% of the students are non-Catholic, acceptance is based on academic testing. AHN provides a first-class education.

Academy Of The Holy Names 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
I previously wrote a review of AHN that was critical of the Administration. After looking at other options we decided to give the school one more year to change our minds. We are so glad we did! It is now 2 years since I wrote the review and the elementary school has completely turned around under the leadership of the current principle. We have 3 kids at AHN and HIGHLY recommend the scchool.


Academy Of The Holy Names
no rating

Posted February 07, 2009
- a student
The academy of the holy names is a great environment for learning. the teachers are nice, and the kids there are great i have only gone there for a year and a half but the academy really is a great place to learn. also if you are worried about the highschool portion of the school being all girls its not that bad Jesuit,an all boys school, and the academy have many activities together. although the tuition is pretty expensive it is worth it. a kid graduating for the academy has more of a chance of getting in to a better college. also 100% of girls that graduate senior year all go to extremly good colleges.

Academy Of The Holy Names 4

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
All and all this is a good schoo. This school needs to find a steady elementary school principal. The continuous change is not good for the student body and the school itself. This school is above average in almost everything. The need for standards academically and behaviorally need to be raised maintained.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Of The Holy Names
3319 Bayshore Boulevard, Tampa, FL  33629
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (813) 839-5371
Last modified Academy Of The Holy Names is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top