Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tampa Adventist Academy

Private | PK-10

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $289,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2014

Tampa Adventist Academy is wonderful school where the love of Christ can be seen throughout. From the front office staff, to the teachers, to the maintenance workers and aftercare providers an exceptional, high level of Christian compassion for the students is displayed. I have worked at this school for several years as a volunteer and am continually delighted by the quality of the staff, families and students. The students are respectful, appreciative and polite. The families are committed and supportive. The staff excels as dedicated, caring professionals. The absent "fifth star" in my rating is only because of the aging facility. This challenge is not being handled lightly, as great plans for the continuance of this school in a new facility are currently being prayed over and planned for. As of 2014 this school has operated continuously for 97 years in six different Tampa locations. God has greatly blessed the Christian families of the Tampa Bay Area with this wonderful school that provides a quality educational experience.


Posted August 7, 2014

At first view, the school is a bit run down. But the outside is not an indication of what is happening inside the school. My daughter has been a student there for two years and has had excellent teachers. Her teachers care about her inside and outside of the classroom. They go far beyond to connect with each and every child individually and teach to their strengths. The teachers infuse every fiber of their classrooms with Christ, which is the whole reason we are at this school. The curriculum is top notch and challenging, yet developmentally appropriate and the creativity of the teachers brings out an excitement in my child. She comes home wanting to "teach" me all that she has learned. The school is small enough that it feels like a family. As I walk my child down the hall, teachers pass and greet her by name. She is not a number and she just shines as the teachers call to her by name. I would highly recommend anyone passing by to stop in and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Tampa Adventist Academy is a truly Christian school.. My children have attended there since 2009 and I am actively involved on campus. My student's teachers always go out of their way to give extra time and attention when needed. They live the example of handing troubles to the Lord first. Granted, the facilities need to be improved, but the building does not equal the quality of the school. I would recommend TAA to anyone who wishes to a quality, kind, strong Christian education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

I am amazed every year by this school. My son started in prek and is currently in the 10th grade. He took a practice SAT in 9th grade and scored very, very well! He has been taught by the great staff here and where ever he goes, I get compliments! TAA has helped him become the great young man that he has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Tampa Adventist Academy is a small private school that offers the best of everything. The teachers are fantastic and always go the extra mile to ensure the success of the students. The school offers a rigorous athletic program for all ages. My child has attended this school for numerous years and I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

My child has been at Tampa Adventist Academy for 12 years. I was shocked to read one of the previous reviews state that they experienced racism. My child is biracial and her race has NEVER been an issue at TAA, neither with the teachers nor with her peers. The diversity at this school has always been, in my mind, one of their strongest assets. I've always felt that the common bond the students share, in being Christians (many of which are Adventists), is able to transcend race, because we are all one in God's family. My child has received a well rounded, holistic education there. She has had teachers who are top notch and have cared about the growth of her character and her salvation as much as her academic growth. Academically, she's had the privilege of having a strong foundation that I am confident has prepared her for the future. But their holistic, well rounded approach is really what brings all the separate pieces of her education together and in my opinion, above par. Tampa Adventist Academy has been a great blessing to my child and our family. It's our second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

This is by far the worse school we have ever dealt with! For this to be a Christian school, the principal does not exemplify a Christian character at all. He tries, but a true Christian can see right through it. At this school we experienced racism & discrimination. The principal did absolutely nothing about it because he was a part of it! He is unfair in his treatment toward students as well as some teachers. We've seen many students & teachers come & go under his leadership. It seems that most of the good teachers have left what was once a great school (before the current horrible leader). I definitely would not recommend this school to anyone if you are considering this school. If you ever visit school, they make a really good first impression, but what is to follow after being there for awhile is not worth wasting your time nor sacrificing your child's education! If you are looking for a school that is warm, cares about it's students, family friendly & where your child can get an excellent education, TAA is not your choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

very caring and compassionate. This is a rareity now in days regaurdless of the reglion this school is worth investing in. the teachers are all soft spoken and know how to relate to children and communicate well with them. the sport programs are awesome and i love the fact they included gymnastics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Great christ-centered school with high quality and academics and dedicated teachers who care about their students on a personal basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

A Very caring schoool. One of the best kept secrets of Tampa. Outstanding teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 29%
Black 24% 23%
White 16% 42%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (813) 228-0170

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3205 South Westshore Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33629
Phone: (813) 228-7950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT