Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori Academy Of Tampa Bay

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2009

My three children attended this school, and my oldest was recently accepted into the University of North Carolina. WE are so proud and grateful for all he was able to accomplish at such an early age . We loved the hard working teachers who traded pompous for diligence ; arrogance for experience ; and entitlement for reality. Go to this school if you want your child to achieve more on their own and less with dependence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

This is a GREAT school. My daughter was enrolled at Primrose in New Tampa and was pulled out after two days due to the inattentiveness of the staff. She then went to Bright Horizons at Hunters Green. The teachers were attentive but she wasn't learning much for the $1000 a mos tutition we were paying. So then we transferred her to Montessori in 2007. While there, my daughter began speaking Spanish, reading, learning georgraphy, and science all BEFORE Pre-K. We were so impressed we moved her to the Montessori school on 53rd when it was time for Pre-K and she will likely stay there through elementary school. And as an added boon, the tuition is well BELOW most other schools in town. I can't recommend it enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I used to teach here, and my advice is to go to Berkeley or a public school. The list I could give you too long for this post but basically your money just goes into their pockets and not to your child or teachers. Lots of hidden and unexplained fees! I've had students leave Montessori and they are behind in public school! Go to a school that really cares about your students success and not their wallets, ok? I now teach public school and have more resources and more success for my students
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2008

My children began attending the school when they were 18 months and are now in 4th and 6th grade. I could not be more pleased with the education and preparedness they have received from a teaching and administrative staff that loves what they do and values the importance of allowing each child to learn independent of differing skill sets, all the while teaching life lessons, public speaking, and how to respectfully interact with peers, regardless of differing opinions. A previous parent mentioned value? The cost comparison to the education my children have received is about 5k less than what is charged in other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

I love the style of teaching. It is what excited both my son and I and prompted the move from public to private school. Given that, I feel that I'm not getting the value out of the high expense of the tuition and plan to withdraw my son soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

A great fun environment, loving teacher - at least the ones that were there before, and a great opportunity to learn. My oldest son attended and later went to public school where he was ahead. my youngest went a couple of years later, the experience the second time around was ok. some new teacher were a little rough with the children. but he did come a long way he is beginning to read. he has been very expressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

This is a great school. The teachers are very caring and compassionate. I only hope that they don't let their academic reputation ruin this in the future as I've seen happen with other good schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 29%
Hispanic 32% 24%
White 31% 44%
Asian 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (813) 915-9580

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 West Waters Avenue
Tampa, FL 33604
Phone: (813) 933-4782

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT