Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alonso High School

Public | 9-12 | 2499 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I'm in the 9th grade at Alonso High School I hhave worst experience ever it's not a good school. The student are disruptive and terrible and the teachers are bad I haven't learn anything. The school is not welcoming at all, the guidence counselor doesn't do anything if you have a personal problem with a class. This school is terrible in my words, I don't have joy in going to school anymore I'm always mad and frustrated when I have to wake up and go to this school. I constently want to go to sickles high school cause I feel like more of careful school. Mr. Schider is always stating argument with kids and is the mean and disrespectful person that works at the school. I hope you see my review cause this is the TRUTH!!


Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

When it comes to students with learning disabilities,The school is horrible and the way the kids behave thats another story in itself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2014

My daughter is in 9th grade at Alonso this year and we both LOVE this school. The principal, teachers and administration seem to truly care about the students success. GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

The last review seems kind of ridiculous especially coming from a parent. I am sure it took you longer to write that review then it took for your child to get their schedule before school started. My son is an incoming freshman and I had no trouble getting his schedule maybe you asked the wrong person. I have done my research for the last 3yrs on all the schools in Tampa and live in Westchase. Every parent I know who's child goes to Alonso had nothing but positive things to say. I even had a parent who's child came from private school K-9th grade and he raved about Alonso and Mr Diaz the principal. There seems to be a lot of activities and programs for the students as well which I like. So far its only been a week but I am pleased with my choice to send my son to Alonso
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2014

I have a child going into 12th grade and another transitioning from Middle School. My sons friends have been able to pick up their schedules for the year from school. Just driven up, asked and been handing them, at various, random times. I visited the school and was told that I couldn't have them, they are not printed, being changed and will be given out tomorrow at open house. I already explained my kids are 8 hours away, I work long distance and cannot be at the open house. Knowing that others already got their schedules just by randomly showing up at the school, this was unacceptable. No-one was waiting, how long would it have taken? I explained that other parents have theirs. I was then told that yes, they had been given out at various times. I was refused the schedules. Disappointing that kids needs are not a concern here. The first day at a new school needn't be this stressful.. My oldest has special needs that require a 504 plan. My youngest is making the transition to High School from Middle School. Having their schedules would have eased a lot of stress for them. I am not impressed at all and am reconsidering my school options going forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

I think that,out of all the high-schools in Hillsborough County, Alonso is the best! The teachers are actually helpful and you see everyone get along!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2014

To all those parents who voice negative opinions about Alonso High School, I wonder how involved you are with the school or do you even have a student at this school? I volunteer at the school and wonder why more parents don't take the time to be involved. Join the PTSA. Join the Booster Club. There are volunteer opportunities in high school. My teenager choose to attend this high school over several other very good options and has been very successful in academics and sports. The teachers and staff of this school helpful and seem to geniunely care about the students success in high school. I would highly recommend 'A'lonso High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The previous comment is a GROSS exaggeration. The key is to be INVOLVED and get to know who your child's teachers are, and if you're not happy - do something about it! The principal Mr Diaz, is a great leader. My son is a junior and has had some AMAZING teachers who have made a HUGE difference in his success in school, including this year. Fights are going to happen, but daily is very misleading. NO school is perfect - including Sickles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

I have a 9th grade son involved with football and honors classes at Alonso HS. We have been impressed so far with the teachers and coaches. I have found that all of his teachers are more than willing to assist with his academic needs and have been timely with returning communication via Edline. The sports programs seem competitive and well coached. The school is very diverse but it seems to work. My son will tell you that he enjoys school and has found friends fairly easily. I'm sure Alonso struggles with issues as all high schools do, but I wish more of the area students would give this school a try before prematurely bailing out on it for private school. They may be wasting their money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Let's get an up-to-date review, shall we? Sophomore in the year of 11. The past reviews are unrealistic, as if it's either a flawlessly amazing school or a terrible prison for teenagers. It's not amazing but not painful. Not all the kids are sweeter than sugar cookies or more bitter than coffee, some are, but there's a pretty good mix of personalities and types, anyone could find a friend. Most of the teachers are alright, friendly, but some obviously cannot handle a class without shouting. I will not mention a name but one particular teacher got a bad group of kids for a class I was in, and took to yelling at them every single day, denying them going to the bathroom, things like that. Others are a bit too passive, however, saying nothing most of the class. The principal and assistant principals are usually good with big obvious school rule violations, but seem to do little when individuals ask for help. I personally love the school, mainly for the social aspects, but there is always room for improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

school is amazing, it helps kids both in and out of the classroom
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

glad alonso gave us edline,,,keeps teachers and students accountable....i really like t he school...2 boys and they are getting a great education......good school spirit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I have two boys at Alonso and I could not be happier with this school. I have never been impressed with any other public school in Hillsborough County but Alonso is truly an 'A' rated school. From their academic program to their Sports program, it is a fantastic school, My son is on on the Football team and they require a 1 hour study hall before practice to ensure their athletes are on track with their grades. Excellent program! I would recommend Alonso to anyone! Thanks to all the school staff for caring for these students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Excellent School, the faculty has the best intentions and good will to teach the students. My daughter loves Alonso High School, she is sad she is graduating this year (2009). She will leave good friends and teacher that she loves. She always will remember all the good times she had at Alonso High the good friendship .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

The teachers, faculty and leadership (Principal) have treated my daughter with respect. This is my daughters last year (2009) at Alonso High School, she has developed wonderful friendships with many students, faculty members and leaders. As parents, we thank the faculty for preparing our daughter for the next stage in her life. We will visit and continue to volunteer our time to this great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

To all those parents who have negative views about Alonso High School, I wonder how involved they are with the school? I am a parent who volunteers at the school quite often and I wonder why parents think that once their children are out of elementary do they think their kids don't need their input anymore. I think that what the kids and staff at Alonso bring to their school is an atmosphere where learning is encouraged, not only for college but for life. I have one child who graduated and one who is just starting out and while they both had growing pains the atmosphere at Alonso has and is helping them both to be successful in whatever they choose to be. Oh and by the way, Alonso is also an A school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

I graduated at alonso back in 07, i think alonso hs is great, a big variety of extra curricular activities, nice and smart teachers and very tolerant administrators, rotc fantastic, in alonso high school the best memories of my life took place, i wnet to gaither for about 6 months and not even close to alonso, beautiful campus, now taht i m back in my country(italy) i tahnk god i had the chance to attend such a great school. Thank you
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

There is fighting amongst the students of this school constantly, they have no respect for each other, of the campus, or of the administration, and there is no one to crack down on it.


Posted October 6, 2008

I am currently a Sophomore here at Alonso ('11 babay!) and from my experience here, I've really liked it. The administration can be very strict and quick to jump to jump to conclusions but other than that, the teachers are doing their job to the best of their ability and the student is extremely diverse. Whats great about the student body? Well, lets just say that the teachers aren't the only ones who teach ;). Alonso is a fantastic school, but it does have it's drawbacks. Schedule changes once every nine weeks?? Why? While the admin. can be unorganized often, they still keep everything running.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

im a current student here at alonso and enjoying my time here weirdly. freshman '08 :) but one thing i wanna stress to the school board is why is there an exact zone to a certain school? im giving alonso its props cause they deserve it. my choice for a school is sickles but the 'zones' wont let me go. alonso is a good school, alonso is a great school, Alonso is an 'A' school but i still want to know why they will NOT let me attend sickles. i recomend alonso to everyone cause of athletics and teachers and staff etc. i have friends who are faking adresses just to attend different schools cause of the zones!!!!! it needs to change. fast. but overall alonso is koool dude :D
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

609 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

671 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

651 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

596 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

648 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

628 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

539 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 35%
Black 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%67%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LOU DIAZ
Fax number
  • (813) 356-1529

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8302 Montague Street
Tampa, FL 33635
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 356-1525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT