Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davidsen Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 974 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Davidsen Middle School is a very good school, especially the music groups. The music teachers are wonderful at what they do; the groups always recieve a 'straight superior' rating at the annual evaluation festivals. I attended this school last year and am now in the ninth grade, and I miss it very much! Go dragons!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2006

I think davidsen is a realy wonderfull school they have realy nice students.The have challanges for the students to make us smart. And Im happy to be at the school ever since I steped in the school every body gave me a warm welcome.So if I were you I would put my child into davidsen..They love it.Alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

Good school and the staff is very caring and there is plenty to do.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2005

I have once attended this school, and I can tell you it is one of the greatest places to be. The teachers treated me as if I were family. I recieved a great education, which has prepared me for high school which I am graduating a a Salutorian and recieving a full ride scholarship to the United States Air Force Academy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2005

This school is sadly lacking in leadership. So many students have failed and it is a definate result of the lack of teaching ability and lack of administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

This is a great school with great diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

This is an outstanding school! There is great communication between the administrators, teachers, parents, and community. My child spent 3 years here and learned not only academics, but also a lot about community learning and giving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

A very positive experience for my child. Children are placed in class levels commensurate with their abilities. Parents should be proactive in contacting the teachers / school if there are any academic concerns as most teachers will work with you and your child if needed. Sports and music programs are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Davidson proved to be disappointing as far as the teachers caring about the students. My son certainly not an angel, was demoralized and the teachers only cared about where they were in there study planner. My son was in advanced classes with over 3 hours of homework each night. It was certainly not the best environment for a balanced enducation. Some of the teachers are retired they just don't know it themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

I know Davidsen from being guardian to both my niece and nephew attending this school. They offer a good sports program, but the curriculum that is being actually offered is different from the one the kids receive. This past year the school has dropped in the rating from an A to a B school. It looks like it is going to take some time for this school to recover. More leadership and commitment is needed from parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

My daughter is in her second year at Davidsen Middle. Her first year was a disaster. Before attending Davidsen, my daughter was a straight A student. Under the 'guidence' of Davidsen 6th grade teachers, I have seen her grades drop dramatically. The teachers at this school, from what I have seen, couldn't care less about my child. I am giving the school another chance in the hopes that things will change for her this year. My daughter received the presidential award for academic achievement in the fifth grade in Bellamy, and her first 'F' in science in the sixth grade at Davidsen. -Sheila Hunt
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 36%
Black 5%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. BRENT MCBRIEN
Fax number
  • (813) 558-5299

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10501 Montague Street
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 558-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT