Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School

Public | PK-5 | 380 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

At the summer program offered at Lockhart Elementary, Jana researched butterflies and their habitats, created a schematic, and built a certified butterfly garden. Each day she shared all kinds of details about her new experiences. In the classroom she engaged in discussions that made it possible for her to reflect and make comparisons. This was excellent opportunity for her to be creative and exercise critical thinking skills in a real situation. She is very excited about starting her school year at Lockhart Elementary and I can't wait to hear about her new adventures. I am thankful for the teachers and staff members that made this program possible. I truly believe that programs like this are springboards to academic success. This program was empowering her as an independent learner. I am so very grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Lockhart Creative Science Centre provides opportunities for students to problem solve to engineer the future. The outdoor science labs are amazing. Students learn how to compost, build and maintain a butterfly garden and grow plants in a hydroponics garden.


Posted May 5, 2009

I love this school and their extracuricular activities. My kids have been in this school for their kindergarten year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

The academic quality of this school appears very low, pulling students mostly from the surrounding, lower socioeconomic community. The faculty and administrators are very friendly. The scope and variety of extracurricular activities is phenomenal--including violin, dance, singing, art, Latin, Spanish, steel drums, etc... Overall, I give the school very high marks for creating a varied extracurricular environment and friendly atmosphere, however the academics are lacking because it appears the teachers must teach to the lowest common denominator. Personally, I like the personal attention my child receives, therefore I'd endorse this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

teachers are nice, too many kids behind so that the kids who are on tract are not pushed to their potential. a lot of out of control kids at this school... practically no parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Acdemics seem to be ok. My dd teacher is very involved and accessible. Great oppurtunities for xtra curricular activities but has very low parental involovement and seems somewhat disorganized. Principal is nice and friendly with parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2004

I beleive this is a wonderful school as far as student interaction and teacher participation. My child use to be shy but he has really opened up to the point where he's playing two instruments and loves to write. I also love the fact that they kep us informed with what's going on I usually receive information everyday about different school events and their at different times so working parents do get an opportunity to attend. Last but not least the staff is excellent. I always know what's going on with my child, and if I have questions or concerns, someone is always available to assist me. On a scale of 1 - 10 academics they get an 8, and extracurricular activities they get a 10, parent involvement a 7. An overall rating for this schoo; I give them a 9. I am really impressed and grateful he is a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

For this to be a performing arts school, I was not pleased at all with the performances given this year. They could've been a lot better. My daughter was in two, and they were not all that great. Also, when choosing this school, one should be very mindful of the low socioeconomic environment that this school is located in. There was a lot of 'drama' and gossip going on between my daughter and her peers, and I don't feel that my daughter learned as much as she can academically. Rather, she learned a lot about how to deal with the hard-knocks and ways to defend herself. I would not recommend this school to anyone who is serious about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
White 6% 42%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%67%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lynn Roberts
Fax number
  • (813) 233-3565

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3719 N 17th St
Tampa, FL 33610
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT