Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

730 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity School For Children
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers of the upper level grades were not very effective when it came to dicipline. There was one teacher in particular who had the worst behaved kids and her kids often were getting in trouble with other teachers since the expectations were lower with her.

Trinity School For Children
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
Zero dicipline instilled on any of the kids and parents made excuses whenever their child under performed. Mediocrity was celebrated.


Trinity School For Children
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
Saw very little of this with the adults there no not much of an example was being set for the children.

Trinity School For Children
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
It doesn't since certain kids where treated with favoritism even when they had dicipline issues.

Trinity School For Children 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has thoroughly enjoyed her first two years at Trinity. My husband and I have had a very positive experience with the teachers, assistants, office staff, maintenance staff...everyone! We've met Dr. O'Dea (the school's founder), who is a very kind, positive, and concerned individual and a very visible presence at the school.We have no bias or connection with the school. My comments are merely intended to tell our experience. Trinity teachers take an active interest in students' progress, maintain frequent communication, and host parent-teacher meetings twice yearly. "Experiential learning" includes field trips which help build upon classroom learning experiences and give parents the opportunity to be more involved in their child's education. Trinity's motto is "Citizens improving society". Students are taught to help their "friends" (classmates) and to behave in ways that serve the common good, creating a positive environment.. Bullying is a common problem with jr high students, in general, Trinity makes it VERY clear that students who do not comply with school policies will be dismissed. We have been nothing but very pleased with Trinity! Good luck in your search!


Trinity School For Children 1

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
I had 2 children at Trinity. They lack an arts program cafeteria and any real p.e. curriculum. Sports teams consist of mainly "staff's children". Bullying is a problem here. (Yes I know it happens everywhere but after 1 1/2 years and multiple attempts at getting the issue resolved it was still happening). The day after my daughter transferred to Trinity I attended my first PPA meeting. I was ignored and my attempts to share my contacts/business partners were dismissed. The school and "parents" are extremely "cliquey". Anyone not in the clique is an outsider. Homework is excessive, you will be nickle and dimed to death. I chose to pull my daughters out because the administration refused to do anything about the bullying. If you enjoy brown nosing, this is the perfect school for you. If not, find another school. I'm glad we're out and my girls are ridiculously successful and happy at their new "public neighborhood" school. I gave one star because there wasn't an option for no stars. I would give negative stars if I could.

Trinity School For Children 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
loved this school send your child here it's so good!!! my Child loved it! the teachers are so fantastic

Trinity School For Children 1

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
We are ending our first year at Trinity. All of this time at the school and my child still has no idea who her school principal is. She is never walking the building, doesn't appear in the classrooms or make herself known in any way other then a handful of email from her we have received through the school year. I have found this lack of visibility from her very concerning. This school has a lot of expectations from it's families starting with the $500 "Enhancement" they ask of you from day one. Another $100+ for school supplies, a handful of fundraisers through out the year, many requests for classroom donations and the list goes on. Now it seems they are also demanding our time on the weekends as well. I have to skip my Sunday school teachings in order to attend a MANDATORY class play put on by the 4th & 5th grades. I'm sorry, I do not think any school has a right to expect families to give financially all year, the 50 parent hours (but keep on going because they need you) and then demand that you also give up very valuable family time as well. I am very disappointed that the school I thought Trinity was doesn't match what it actually is.


Trinity School For Children 1

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is great...if you want to socialize and go on field trips. Totally didn't prepare me for high school. I went to Trinity for lower and middle school and then I went to Tampa Catholic. I have struggled this entire year. I am not a dummy but my class mates that went to public schools were way more prepared than me. So not only did my parents have to pay for private school tuition, they had to pay for tutors to keep me from failing this year.

Trinity School For Children 4

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
Great school in comparison to the other traditional "public school" alternatives. While there is no tuition per se there are some costs involved but compared to private schools it is practically nothing, plus there are ways for parents to volunteer rather than paying. The school requires parent participation but for someone really intersted in their children's education that is a GOOD thing! It is why the school has higher performing students than the public school alternatives. Just check out the Florida DOE school accountability reports.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity School For Children
2402 West Osborne Avenue, Tampa, FL  33603
(813) 874-2402
Last modified Trinity School For Children is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Trinity School For Children Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top