Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

730 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity School For Children
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 14, 2016
- a community member
I rated the teachers somewhat effective to mean they are doing as well as they can with an administration mired in apathy in regards to excellence.

Trinity School For Children
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a community member
Children understand when others are given special privileges. It creates a basic feeling of unfairness that is hard to explain. I believe the administration actually encourages this for those whose children are enrolled there.


Trinity School For Children
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a community member
Administration's children are not held to same accountability and are frequently given special exemptions and considerations. The culture encourages that behavior.

Trinity School For Children 1

Posted June 14, 2016
- a community member
The very best teachers this school has are leaving due to frustration with the administration's lack of support and focus on education. To the administration, it's all about the money and the bottom line. Their Academic Apathy has gotten out of control and teachers can not fix that without administration support. Please talk to people who have had children there, or who work there and seriously consider other schools for your child.

Trinity School For Children 1

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Administration has let go of some of the best teachers. Focus is on $$$ not quality of teaching. Large turnover rate. At one time this was an excellent school, but I am glad we chose not to send our child there. Watch out.


Trinity School For Children 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Great academic program. Safe, supportive and loving environment. Teaches the students self responsibility. Nice kids. Overall, an outstanding experience.

Trinity School For Children 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
At a time when most schools are pushing for stricter classroom guidelines and stressful standardized testing. TSFC does an outstanding job of incorporating hands-on, creative learning into their stellar academics, as well as fun outdoor exercise and play. I am grateful to have a school like this in the Wellswood/Seminole Heights neighborhood. I'm not involved with the PPA or related to any of the administration or staff. I've attended a few PPA meetings early on and thought everyone was warm and kind. But I've never felt judged for not attending more meetings through the years. I've never felt like an outcast for being an introverted parent. Some of the parents and families at TSFC are close friends (just like any other school), but I've never felt like their behavior was rude, immature or exclusive. For the most part everyone I've encountered at TSFC is approachable and friendly. Does TSFC ask for money often? Sort of, but hardly any of it is mandatory. The enhancement fund is OPTIONAL. School supplies, classroom party supplies (Halloween, Holidays, etc), Trunk Or Treat, GALA tickets/auctions (which we've never attended), fundraisers (magazine drive, TB Buccaneers tickets, Scholastic Book Fair) are ALL OPTIONAL. Field Studies, Winter Show and Kindergarten/8th Grade Graduation (Tampa Theater) are OPTIONAL. Teacher birthday gifts and Teacher Appreciation are OPTIONAL. Field Day shirts, lunches and snow cones are OPTIONAL. Dress in TB Lightning colors for $1 during the playoffs? OPTIONAL. I know this because we are a one income family and have a child with expensive medical needs. We do what we can, whenever we can. I've never felt disliked or treated unfairly when we could NOT. Parent hours are not optional. There is a minimum of 30 hours per family or 15 hours for single parents. There are plenty of easy opportunities throughout the year for both working and stay-at-home parents to collect their hours. I've never felt burdened. Uniforms are not optional. And yes they are OMG WTH pricey, just like private schools in the area. So there you go. A valid complaint. Risse Brothers should have a free wine bar. Give TSFC a try and I bet you'll be pleasantly surprised. They truly love and believe in their kids. And those kids love the welcoming, inspiring and safe environment this lovely charter school provides.

Trinity School For Children
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers of the upper level grades were not very effective when it came to dicipline. There was one teacher in particular who had the worst behaved kids and her kids often were getting in trouble with other teachers since the expectations were lower with her.


Trinity School For Children
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
Zero dicipline instilled on any of the kids and parents made excuses whenever their child under performed. Mediocrity was celebrated.

Trinity School For Children
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
Saw very little of this with the adults there no not much of an example was being set for the children.

Nearby schools

Trinity School For Children
2402 West Osborne Avenue, Tampa, FL  33603
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (813) 874-2402
Last modified Trinity School For Children is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top