Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tarpon Springs Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1022 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

I'm in 6th grade and I think this school is awesome! The music programs are awesome! The gifted and advanced programs are good. The Halls can get a little crowded but that's just school.


Posted March 20, 2014

Not a great school! They have issues with drugs, bullying and some below average teachers who truly hate what they're doing and should find other jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I think TSMS is a great school. These are fine educators that do a great job academically and with discipline. If the child wants to learn there is opportunity to do so. The gifted and music programs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I had three children attend Tarpon Middle and they all graduated on the Principal's list. They were in the Gifted program and Advanced classes. They made many friends from many backgrounds. They were enlightened by the real world. Tarpon Middle is a great school that supports a child's ability to succeed. Many parents get caught up in a school's location, however, now that my children are in highly rated high school, the same concerns parents have regarding middle school are a reality in high school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

This school really gave my son all the help and extra curriculam he needed, every school has its trouble no matter what some parents need to understand that not any school is perfect . You can;t run away from your problems . But other than that we enjoyed the three years he went to TSMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My son is going in to eighth grade in the fall and has spent the last two years at TSMS. Our experience with TSMS has been very good so far, the teaching staff is exceptional. Teachers are caring and quick to get in touch with parents should a problem arise. My son's grades started to slip and his teachers were on it, I was in constant contact with them and we worked together to help him rebound. This school is much better than what has been posted earlier, while I cannot speak to the access to special needs students, I can vouch for students like my son who benefit greatly from the wonderful teachers we are blessed to have at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Way to many kids for one school, to much trouble! Alot of fights!! Your kid is just a number and they will get pushed a side. there's to many kids for the teachers to be able to give your child the help they may need. I'm moving my son to another school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Its a great school, that gives kids a chance to succeed no matter what


Posted March 14, 2009

This school is horrible! The princible spends money on usless things like, name tags that most students lost the next week. and there are cops everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

The school is old but the administrators are all very helpful and patient. Even while being swamped with parents and children lining up outside their offices every admistrator was patient and very helpful. They are doing the best they can with the amount of staff they have. Since we are new to the school we cant comment on teachers yet. But I am very impressed with the staff so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

This school has high quality administrators and teachers. Everyone including the parents are very supportive because we know that putting our children first and supporting them is the key to their overall success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 10, 2004

We moved from out of state, and only lasted about 5 weeks. Too many kids, too rough in the classroom, My son didn't like the idea of a policeman standing guard at the school! Teachers never gave homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

394 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 9%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 40%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%60%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN W KELLER
Fax number
  • (727) 943-5519
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 North Florida Avenue
Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 943-5511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Santina Bay Academy
Palm Harbor, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT