Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wellington Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 840 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

It s great!!!!, in fact Miss Mills is the best teacher !!!!!, And the school is very very good!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Great school, friendlier staff & teachers. The PTO board members and volunteers work very hard to help students and teachers with their needs. Safe environment, very concerned about kids security. Needs more parent involvement and knowledgeable front office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

I must say that my son who is now 9 years old, started his first years of school there have been hard work but his teachers from begining to now have been beyond fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I am very disappointed with the teachers at this school! My child was treated like an outcast and it was painful to send her to school everyday! I now believe what I read before my child attended, "If your not a part of the PTA your child will be treated different." Sorry I am a single mother who can not attend the meetings, but the teachers have no excuse to treat a child badly or different! I am so happy my child is moving on to the next grade and very thankful a new teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

Basic school, academics seem to be kind of bland. Need to make academics more of a priority. Enrichment activities should be added. All other elementary schools in this area seem to be doing really well, but this school's academics are probably in last or near last place for the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

This school does provide busses if you live outside the 2 mile limit. My neighborhood children are bussed.


Posted August 29, 2009

This school seems to provide good education, teachers, and curriculum for their students but unfortunetly they do not provide school buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I agree with this writer that some of the teachers and most of the office staff are unapproachable and cold. They are not kind if you are not an 'it parent'. The academics are great, the school clubs are a dissappointment. I am sure my child will do well here but if I could reassign to a different school, I probably would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

The new principal took over at a difficult time, but this was my children's best year at this school! Even with the construction, the focus became relevant academics with an emphasis on child-centered learning. The emphasis on student safety was appreciated. I also wish the PTO would move all meetings to the night time so working parents could be involved instead of just the stay home parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

When we moved to Florida the only thing we knew about Wellington was the great schools. We were not disappointed when we started at WES. The current principal was the AP at the time and he was as helpful and accessible as he is now. Unfortunately, with the overload work teachers get these days and little money and time is hard to have closeness, but not impossible. All teachers do their best to accommodate any parent's needs. The mixture of 'seasoned' teachers and 'new ones' works at WES, because they are all up to date with the newest practices in teaching. I attend the PTO general meetings (always at night) to get my information and the communication between school and parents is very helpful (teacher's weekly newsletters, PTO newsletter). The ESE department, Cafeteria, Office staff, and Head custodian get an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

I have two children at this school and they both love it. Both of my kids have had great teachers and instruction. They were part of the reading counts program and excelled in the contest because they wanted to be interviewed by the principal on the closed circuit TV (they both made it several times). The last event I attended was the Book Fair and Pizza night. There were so many families. It was nice to see other parents supporting the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

I disagree with the parent who writes that the administration is not unapproachable and cold. We have grandchildren there and are always welcome on campus to join them for lunch when we are in town visiting. The front office staff is always helpful and welcoming, I do not know of any other schools that have such an open and welcoming policy these post Columbine days. Wellington Elementary is a warm, friendly family oriented school. Mr. D'Aoust has even come up to us with a friendly handshake and hello, and remembers who we are from our last visits. How can that possibly be cold and stand-offish? Try dropping in for lunch with your children someday and give it a chance. We have even volunteered for lunch duty and the walk a thon in the spring. We know our grandchildren love it there, as do my daughter and son in law.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

This school is tops in the area. Both of my children have gone through K-5 and have had excellent teachers all way through. The administration has been extremely supportive and are seen throughout the community. This is why we moved to Wellington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

Great school! Great parent involvement. Professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

I have 2 kids here and they both love it. The teachers are the best! the administration is somewhat unapproachable unless you're one of 'the parents.' Parents are very involved and there is definetly a sense of community, a real neighborhood school. The common area bathrooms need a really good cleaning, but the classes are clean. Pta meetings alternate between days and night, but attendance is not what it should be. There are after school activities, but not always known about. Need to put out listing w/ days and times and grades open to. Over all the school is tops in the area. Academics are up to standard & some teachers put the bar a little higher. The administration needs to be more personable and visible to all parents and the kids. They can sometimes seem a little cold and stan offish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

My daughter attends 1st grade & loves it. Her teachers are great. My only complaint would be the cleanliness of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

The WES faculty is one of the oldest faculties in the entire county. Many teachers here have been with WES since it opened 25 years ago. That has advantages and disadvantages. For instance, many of the seasoned teachers are fantastic teachers and their years of experience are a huge bonus, as they have seen it all by now and can deal with children very well, as well as excellent parent interaction, including involving parents in classroom activities when appropriate. The main drawback to having so many of the older teachers is that as they got older, they became burned out and grumpy. Many of these same faculty members believe they run the school, not the administration. The administrators are very nice, however, ineffective and non-decisive. If your child is very low in any FCAT-academic area, he/she will get attention. The super bright kids and the average children get no special attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2005

Much of the students' work is 'completed as class' according to the stamps on my child's work. Very little emphasis on project based learning, hands on learning or applying skills to anything but worksheets. Tests were graded - everything else came home with 'completed in class' or a sticker/stamp on the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

My son started at this school in the middle of 2nd grade and the teachers and principal were both very receptive of us. He has had some struggles thru the years and the school has worked with us to make it work and strived to let him be the best student he can be. thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Hispanic 28% 29%
Black 13% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:05
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Eugina Smith-feaman
Fax number
  • (561) 651-0650
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13000 Paddock Dr
Wellington, FL 33414
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 651-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

College Assist
Wellington, FL



Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT