Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watergrass Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 740 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I am very happy with this school and feel it is being ran exceptionally well. My kids love going to school everyday, their teachers and staff are very responsive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Wow thanks for the feedback and sorry your child has gone through this! . I have two kids at this school. I know you probably don't want to say who that teacher is but can you at least say what grade? I don't want my kids in a class with a teacher like that. Have you told anyone about this???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Parents be warned. This school is OVER RATED. Dropped from an A to a C school in public school ratings PER STATE of FLORIDA. Credit should be given where due. Yes the administration meets and greets students coming and going with a warm smile, and knows them by name, but that means NOTHING in the grand scheme of things by the end of the day when your child spends their entire day at school supposidly being educated to have to come home and spend hours on homework, computer lessons and tutoring. God forbid if teachers are called out on the carpet to actually communicate appropriately to parents and STUDENTS. Trust me, if your child says that the teacher is acting uncivil in class, terrifying, degrading, embarrassing, yelling, and acting out of sorts with your student or classmates it is probably true. Also, if you do desire OLD FASHIONED communication like in the "olden days" i.e. by phone or in person, your chances are slim to none in that department with some of the staff, even after pleading. DONT BLINK, read/keep ALL notes home. If you feel that you were not told something that is prob true too. LOTS of communication problems, LOTS!!!! PRAY hard for your kids and GOOD LUCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

I too am not sure how this school got a 7 out of 10. In my book, it is an 11. My child has been going there since Kindergarten (the first year it opened) and it is a wonderful school. The staff is great, they all know the kids and really care about them. The programs they have to help them are great too. The have Citizen of the Month Club and the Outstanding Owls Club, among others that help keep the kids motivated and build self esteem and character as well as give them a feeling of accomplishment. Mr. Mitchell, the principal is great with the kids and works with the parents and staff to help make the school a better place. This school is a 'green' school so it is also eco-friendly. I highly recommend this elementary school for anyone moving into the area...just an added note, the school received an 'A' grade rating for the 2nd year in a row.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

The BEST Elementary School in Wesley Chapel. Both my children attend and although I'm zoned for Quail Hollow, it is worth the drive to past two schools to attend Watergrass. Mr. Mitchell, the Principal, is awesome. He is outside during car ride pick up calling out the kids names. The teachers are enthusiastic, friendly, caring and it's a good team, with a leader who runs a tight ship. Lots of fun activities, and a safe, nurturing environment. My experience: K, 1st, 2nd grade teachers are exceptional. It's like sending my kids to a private school for free in Pasco County. It's a well kept secret for us parents. Thank you Watergrass administration and teachers. LOVE Watergrass OWLS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

Love Love Love this school!!!!!! My child just started Kindergarten...and ever single person I have met is just wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

This school is an excellent school. How it got a rating of 7 out of 10 is beyond me. I would have rated it as a "10." Starting with the principal who is very much involved and going on to the staff. They are excellent. My child absolutely adores this school and so do I. They plan so many activities for the kids and the teachers seem to get along beautifully. That is important because in a school where they don't get along, you feel the tension. I can go on and on about this school so I'll just end it here....I LOVE WGES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

The attitude of the teachers at Watergrass make a huge difference. My kids were previously at Wesley Chapel Elementary and I can tell you there is a huge difference between the two schools. All of the staff that I have interacted with are intelligent, motivated and really seem to care about the education of the students. I'm really happy to have my kids at Watergrass!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 29%
Black 16%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 154%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 27%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%63%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32750 Overpass Road
Wesley Chapel, FL 33545
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Academy At The Farm
Dade City, FL



New River Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


New River Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT