Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts

Public | 9-12 | 1337 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

Seems to be a great school. Hoping for another good year for all new and returning students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

My daughter graduated from Dreyfoos last year. She completed her first year at a prestigious Boston college and did excellent! Dreyfoos totally prepared my daughter for a vigorous program of study. She took many AP courses and was active in all the honor societies there. She told me that many of her college friends were having difficulty keeping up with their studies. These kids had gone to private northeast high schools! She loved Dreyfoos and visit whenever shhe's home. My only complaint is that the school lost an exceptional language teacher (through no fault of his) who inspired the students & was loved by all! Michael went on to accept a position at a local prestigious private high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

Hey everyone! Honestly I cried when I received the letter letting me know i was going to be part of the dreyfoos class of 2016. I went to bak in middle school and loved it so much. When i didn't get into dreyfoos i was devastated. For the past school year I have gone through hell and back. I have a serious white blood cell condition that allows me to contract illness's and miss school constantly. No less than one month in American heritage i was dubbed with having aids. Not because I acted slutty or anything like that. We must wear a uniform and i don't even wear makeup. Im also very shy so i don't talk to many guys in the first place! The entire year I was ignored in fear of "contracting" aids. People would even wipe the handles on the doors so they wouldn't catch my disese. Thankfully I kept all my friends that went to dreyfoos and I will see them again next year. God bless this school for allowing kids to be a bit quirky and accepted. I walked into school to check it out for a day and i was immediately welcomed. Please allow your child to audition here, even if they don't get in the first time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2013

I am a parent of two students at Dreyfoos school of the Arts and I have been very happy with the quality of their education. The strings department has been awesome. The entire orchestra is going to New York for spring break and will be playing at Carnegie Hall. Where else would Carnegie Hall be part of the education. Also they have taken over 9 AP classes and I feel they both will be very prepared for college. Many of the students go on to very competitive colleges. I am happy that they are at Dreyfoos
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

I had a pretty poor experience at Dreyfoos. The administration was rude and largely incompetent, it was very difficult to make friends, and the environment was cutthroat and competitive. I was disappointed with my art area because there were too many unmotivated students (which wasn't addressed by the arts teachers at all). I did enjoy the guest speakers, the flexibility with scheduling, some aspects of my art classes, and the opportunities to participate in a lot of clubs and honor societies. However, that didn't make up for the unwelcoming and inefficient nature of the school. I would not recommend it.


Posted October 24, 2011

I love the way the teachers appeal to the students imagination by assigning projects that broaden their artistic skills while teaching them about history, social studies, etc.


Posted June 8, 2011

Hi I need a greatschools for my daughters. We life in Dominican Republic but next year we will move to Miami. My daughters love music, dance. I will like to known if we can visit the school next month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. My daughter also went to Bak and is a visual arts major. She is in ninth grade now and I think the school is exemplary. Unfortunately, we have to move to NJ and she won't get to go to 10-12 here. It breaks my heart to leave. If your daughter or son has a chance to go to this school JUMP ON IT. THE BEST school experience we have ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

hi i'm really interested in going to dreyfoos for there theatre program because i want o be and actress and a director, but i've heard dreyfoos has drama, musical theatre and acting, which one is for monologues and film festivals? somene please help me.


Posted September 21, 2010

My son try to enter in this school and he could get in, because he needed some more points, but my appreciation, a what I heard from him, is that this is a wonderful school, with incredible opportunities. My little boy will love be there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My son came to this school from one of the top private middle schools in the county. This is a great school, particularly for out-of-the-box, creative kids. The campus is open and not built in that post-Colombine prison-lock-down style in which most new Palm Beach high schools are being constructed. Mrs. VanArsdale, the principal, sets a high bar academically along with the arts programs. The band program is a student Grammy winner. The concert and jazz bands and the classical orchestra are the best in Florida. In 2009 the school had a 100% graduation rate, and more than $18 million in scholarships. Students audition for entry and it is very competitive. With budget cutbacks in the Palm Beach School DIstrict, the number of 9th grade entry slots into band dropped to 27 in 2009 from somewhere in the 30s the years before. If your student gets in, they will love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

A beautiful school, like nothing i have ever experienced before, this school is like a summer camp, i look forward to coming and have no anxieties when coming here, i feel very very safe, and i have lots of fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2009

I go to Dreyfoos and i am graduating this year. Dreyfoos has opened so many doors of opportunity for me, and has paved the way for me to become the successful individual I now know myself to be. It is so safe, and creates a great safe haven, I would encourage any parent to send their child if they're able.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

I am not afraid when my son goes to school. It is a safe environment with lots of kids who really enjoy attending the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

i love my school and i am very pround
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

This is an amazing school. It gives us students a way to express, build and exploit our artistic talent. All of the teachers understand this and work tirelessly with their students to ensure their success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

What a great educational environment for kids. I have two boys in Dreyfoos. One a senior, and the other a sophmore, both theatre majors. The have both had a positive experience with their teachers and classes. They have learned alot in both academics and life lessons. Some lessons were easier than others...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

As a current student entering my Junior year at Dreyfoos as a theater major I am proud to say I am a part of this school. I came in lacking experience and confidence in many areas of my art and have grown immensely in the two years I have already experienced. The core curriculum is solid and I feel that most academic teachers are preparing us for the world to come but the greatest benefits come from the art teachers. After taking many state tests and reading and writing I can enter my theater classes expecting a dose of reality and another challenge. It is a pleasure knowing I have something to look forward to every day of my high school career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

My youngest child is about to graduate from Dreyfoos and my older graduated a few years ago. Both had wonderful experiences. The school is a safe environment and the art and academic teachers - with very few exceptions - are outstanding! Funding to maintain the school's arts programs continues to be challenge. Know that the school needs your financial and volunteer support to maintain excellence in both the arts and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Dreyfoos is an overall good performing arts high school. The core curriculum is strong, the academic level is reasonably good and the yearly trips are culturally diverse. However, I can not believe they do not have private instructors assigned for each instrument. My daughter is a flute major and we had to find an instructor outside the school for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

332 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 20%
Black 10%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 100%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. SUSAN ATHERLEY
Fax number
  • (561) 802-6059

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 South Sapodilla Avenue
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 802-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Christian School
West Palm Beach, FL


Worthington High School
West Palm Beach, FL


Leadership Academy West
West Palm Beach, FL


Renaissance Learning Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Cardinal Newman High School
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT