Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,354 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
116 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 136 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bak Middle School Of The Arts
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
The Visual Art Department has helped me greatly and has inspired me to create and dream the impossible.

Bak Middle School Of The Arts
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
Buses may have problems with overflow and does not do a good job with transportation.


Bak Middle School Of The Arts
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
The school in general is a safe environment, but students will have to follow strict rules that have the most ridiculous punishments (etc. detention for no I.D).

Bak Middle School Of The Arts 3

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
My 6th grade year was my golden year in school. The teachers were friendly, we won many awards, and we had a creative atmosphere. However, Baks main golden age is now gone. The strict no-cellphone policy restricts creativity. The principle also turned the pep rallies into a battle of the majors, which often tears the school apart instead of bringing it together. The academic teachers are nice and in 6th grade, the teachers help you make the adjustment to middle school. The Visual Art teachers are the best however. The teachers are willing to help support pretty much any idea you have and will stop at nothing to make it a reality!

Bak Middle School Of The Arts 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a community member
This school is unlike any other school! The principal and all the teachers are really nice and cool, which is great! We have awesome pep rallies, performances, clubs, etc. If you are talented at an art form, you really should audition for this school. However, if you want to become a piano major, I wouldn't advise so. Take the word from one. The piano teacher, Dr. G, is too strict and can be a bit of a control freak. She won't let you play pieces you want to play, or your private teacher wants you to play. Also, she is always talking about how bad private teachers are, even though she is one! She chooses pieces for us and says that the pieces our private teachers choose are bad. Along with that, she also thinks that she knows us better than our private teachers, whom we've been with for a long time! I dislike this thought process greatly. Don't worry, though, because at least she can be kind and reasonable sometimes. Besides of this issue, everything else about the school is top-notch!


Bak Middle School Of The Arts 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a community member
I go to this school and i love it. I highly recommend it. It is worth all the hard work to pass the auditions.

Bak Middle School Of The Arts 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
My son is a 6th grade visual arts major and is very happy in this school. He is a bus rider and so far we have had no problems in the school or on the bus. Bak offers these very talented students lots of opportunities they would normally not have. It is very diverse and yet everyone gets along. I am glad we were given the opportunity to apply for such a great school.

Bak Middle School Of The Arts 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
BAK is a great school. It's worth the effort to apply, audition and commute to from across the county. Amazing exp for children


Bak Middle School Of The Arts 3

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Extroverts only. Introverts need not apply. My daughter is a fantastic artist and writer, but did not get in because she did not speak loudly enough and did not show enough emotion and gestures during audition. It is evident that there is only one personality type on campus when you visit.

Bak Middle School Of The Arts 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. I'm so happy that my 7th grade girl attend in VISUAL ART PROGRAM.....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bak Middle School Of The Arts
1725 Echo Lake Drive, West Palm Beach, FL  33407
(561) 882-3870
Last modified Bak Middle School Of The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bak Middle School Of The Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 136 reviews. Top