Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,229 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Howell High School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
We have a freshman and a junior at Lake Howell High. Our kids "love" Lake Howell. They love the sports teams they are on and the clubs they are involved in. They used to think that they wanted to go to Oviedo when they were in middle school but say now that they are glad they are at Lake Howell.

Lake Howell High School 1

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
If your child is a special needs child or at risk do NOT count on this school to help your child. I have had 2 LD children go through this school. One was just pushed through and given her special diploma then sent on her way being told, well don't count on getting into a higher learning school with this but you can get a janitorial position!!! My other daughter also LD missed a lot of school on account of illness and was told, maybe high school isnt for you and pushed out by GUIDANCE and told she will never graduate until she was well into her 20's! Then they showed up at my door with withdrawal papers to further push her out! In every meeting at her school only 1 of her teachers cared enough to show up..She also was bullied a lot in this school to which they did NOTHING. If your child is LD GET THEM IN LYMAN HIGH SCHOOL They have a fantastic LD program!


Lake Howell High School
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
I am the grandmother of one of your students.My grandson faces some challenges at home and he was doing so poorly in school for 9th and 10 grades. This year the school placed him in a special program for him to try to make up the work he had missed and he has blossomed. I am so grateful to the school because left unattended to he would have eventually dropped out of school and God only knows what else. He was going is such a bad direction. Today he is thriving, still facing his challenges at home but well on his way to a happy adulthood. Thank you so very much for the program that steps in and says no you will not fail. This is a very bright kid and you were there when he needed you badly. Thanks again.

Lake Howell High School 2

Posted March 10, 2010
- a student
Speaking as a student here, I can honestly say this is not one of the best schools to attend, especially if you intend on being in honors classes. The faculty really doesn't care about the students, and all they want is money. They are getting rid of regular and honors classes so students have no choice but to take AP classes, so they get more money, and get higher ratings. They then punish all the students because so many kids that aren't ready for AP fail. If you have a choice, don't go here.

Lake Howell High School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The faculty are the best in seminole county always interested in helping the students succeed! I love being a Silver Hawk parent!


Lake Howell High School 4

Posted August 31, 2009
- a student
Although our facilities are well below par, the extracurricular sponsors are incredibly creative and make excellent use of the resources we do have. A few of the outstanding employees I have come to highly respect are Mrs. Skipper and Mr. Brendlinger. I had Mrs. Skipper two years straight- one for English II hon, one for AP Lang- and she consistently offers each student individual attention and concern. Even now, I visit her regularly for help on my college applications and she cheerfully guides me to the right course of action. Mr. Brendlinger is the theatrical director. He is greatly committed to the program and offers opportunities rare to any Florida school. We perform an average of twelve student-directed plays a year. Our performances are entirely student-run. We also receive huge donations from Disney and a yearly free workshop with famous make-up artists. GREAT OPPORTUNITIES!

Lake Howell High School
no rating

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
Disappointed in this school. From reviews and data prior to enrolling my child, I expected a more achievement oriented student, teacher, and administration. Administration seems to value bringing lagging students to higher level, and not enough importance (focus and support of AP and Honors classes) to high achieving students. For all High Schools, the No Child Left Behind handicapps Florida schools into an emphasis on the low achieving versus nurturing the bright, capable students. President Clinton said the education crisis in Florida is comprable to the poverty crisis in Haiti.

Lake Howell High School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a student
Lake Howell High School seems to have a nice edge to it.I love the expectations that they serve


Lake Howell High School 1

Posted February 07, 2009
- a parent
The administration at this school is awful. Cannot have meaningful dialog. They are always going to look into things with no resolution ever offered. I have to agree with the other post about no support for parental participation.

Lake Howell High School 4

Posted September 15, 2008
- a student
There are truly fantastic teachers at this school. The arts at Lake Howell are in the top 90% in Seminole County despite perhaps the worst facilities, and sports programs have allowed several atheletes - most recently Brandon Marshall of the Denver Broncos - reach the highest level.

Nearby schools

Lake Howell High School
4200 Dike Road, Winter Park, FL  32792
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (407) 746-9050
Last modified Lake Howell High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top