Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barber Middle School 5

Posted August 19, 2016
- a community member
This is a title-1 school in Cobb county so it's course offerings, schedule and often course load are dictated by the county. That being said, my son has been there for 2 years and we have been really pleased. All of the teachers seem to care and want the kids involved, the music, dance, fine arts program is extensive and their communication via technology is very helpful (each teacher has a blog and they update it every day - not just a forgotten page in cyberspace). They all focus on helping the kids learn organization and multi-tasking. Very pleased. I saw a poster complain that there weren't organized sports held at the school specifically and that is because in the state of GA middle school programs are run via the high schools. The city of Acworth also has a huge extensive football and basketball rec-league program that plays in the Barber middle school gym.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
this is the worst school ever. My son went there for the 6th and 7th and 8th grade. the worst thing was a teacher named Coach Richardson. Instead of teaching all he would do is talk about thugs and how students won't be able to be succeed in the real world. But, there was one good thing. This one teacher named Laurie Caroll. She was so helpful to my child. She would care about the students and try her hardest to make them succeed.

Barber Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
This is a great school in a wonderful and safe community. There is a large involvement from the community, parents and teachers!

Barber Middle School 3

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I think that there could be a better mixture of course offerings. For example, there are no technology courses offered at this school. Also, Spanish is the only foreign language offered. There are no organized sports at this school. The student must go through North Cobb High School or a community league in order to participate in sports. The teachers are caring and do return parent questions in a timely manner. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.

Barber Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Zifer spent time before school just to ensure the kids could come for extra tutoring. My son's grade improved greatly.

Barber Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My son has homework just about every night, but hardly ever has homework on the weekend.

Barber Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mr. Abel for pushing the students to do their best and making yourself available to help them achieve their best. Thank you to Ms. Zifer & Ms. Morrison for the extra time you put in with running club, boosting students confidence & health.

Barber Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
We heard a lot of rumors and were very concerned about our son's transition to Barber Middle School. We have been pleasantly surprised. The office staff & campus officer have always been friendly & my son has not witnessed any bullying in his first year at Barber. My son's teachers are very dedicated and responsive. My son's math teacher, Mr. Abel, is ALWAYS at the school... no matter what time or event. I am impressed with how many teachers make themselves available before and after school for help. My son is excelling academically and enjoys being part of their superb music programs. He also participates in RSP & Running Club. Where else will you find teachers who volunteer to get up before 6:00 am on a Saturday to mentor & run alongside your student?

Barber Middle School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
A parent of a special needs student also had a similar experience with this school. This child was physically disabled and in a wheel chair. The student got angry one day and they put him in handcuffs! The kid cannot even get up and walk, but he was cuffed!!!

Barber Middle School 1

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I can describe my child’s experience with this school in one word—TRAUMATIZING. My son has autism, and was placed in co-taught classes; but the teachers, social worker and administration knew nothing about his disability or how to teach him. Rather than looking at ways to help him, they just wanted him out. Their focus was on making the environment so hostile and intimidating that I would have no other choice but to withdraw him. There was one incident that was so bad that my child just put his head down on the desk and started crying. This led to a nosebleed and instead of helping him they just let him sit there and bleed all over the desk; didn’t even give him a tissue. It got to the point that I didn’t feel my son was safe at that school, so I withdrew him. I decided to move to a MUCH better school district where they have teachers that are well trained and care about their students; and now my son is doing much better! If you have a kid with special needs, avoid this school if at all possible.

Nearby schools

Barber Middle School
4222 Cantrell Rd Nw, Acworth, GA  30101
(770) 975-6764
Last modified Barber Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top