Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Acworth, GA
Students enrolled: 1,045
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barber Middle School 3

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
The principal is the problem at this school. She doesn't care about the kids or the teachers. She doesn't listen or interact with parents; she's only concerned about her looks and appearance. She is defensive and aloof. She needs to step down asap.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
This school is more concerned about getting a pay check than actually teaching the kids. They spend more time on petty stuff than teaching. They do everything they can to keep you in the dark about your child's learning. I feel like my child is an entire year behind. No review of tests, my child had to check the blogs daily just to see what he made on a test and then they would not review them so he is left with not knowing the correct answers to anything. I am transferring my child out of this school as it has been a complete waste. From the admin to the teaching staff..

Barber Middle School 1

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. The principal is very fake and is more concerned with her appearance than she is the students. If you try to go talk to her, they won't let you. Now I see why more and more parents are choosing home school these days. The connections classes are wonderful. There are also a handful of ac teachers who are as well: Eby, Carroll, and Also Mr. Ruiz and Abel. That's it.

Barber Middle School 2

Posted July 09, 2014
- a community member
I used to go there two years ago and it was better when i was an 8th grader there. However, the have become more strict because of the upcoming 8th graders. The school is very relaxed and really deal with no issue at all. But the school s very good if you are concerned about academics. Though i believe the school should have more cameras especially behind the auditorium. There are things that happen down there that no one knows about. And they should really lock teacher workroom doors. Kids go in there to do..certain things.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted June 17, 2014
- a community member
I'm a student, and this is one of the worst schools I've been to. There are drugs, violence, and bullying issues here. The worst part is, the administration doesn't care! If you are thinking about sending your children here, rethink immediately!

Barber Middle School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a nightmare. They did not do anything special for the students. They were not even allowed to have an 8th grade formal or a field trip. The administrators claim to support the students but do not allow them to do anything. What kind of school does that?

Barber Middle School 2

Posted May 10, 2014
- a community member
The school doesn't know how to deal with sexual harassment. Guys never leave me alone and follow me in between classes and the administration just tells me it's because of their age and I should be flattered.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
I am an 8th grade student at Barber. Unfortunately, I cannot say this is a good school. There are many issues concerning meeting with the principle, bullying, and even attendance keeping. My fellow classmates and I have been to the principle numerous times about bullying and nothing has changed. The students go unpunished. They get a slap on the wrist (metaphorically) and that's it. My father has tried to meet with the principle more than once, but has recieved no form of contact from her or anyone ele in the office. I am a child with not the best health. I have a bad kidney, sever migraines, and that isn't the end of it. I have went to doctors, and have excuses, but they have failed to count them as excused. Ther excuse was "We cannot go back more than 3 days." Which they have done before. So overall, if you have a choice between Barber and another school, choose the other school.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted November 13, 2013
- a community member
Seriously? I'm sure if he was a fetus then everyone there would be looking out for him.

Barber Middle School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a community member
JUst Google "Texas school tosses 6th grader s breakfast in trash after he can t pay 30 cents" and you will see the rest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barber Middle School
4222 Cantrell Rd NW, Acworth, GA  30101
(770) 975-6764
Last modified Barber Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barber Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top