Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Jackson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

We are the most grateful parents of a 1st grader who needs special education resources. They are wonderful, knowledgable, patient, and understanding. The best thing is that our child is learning so much and is always so happy to go to school. He is in a great environment and we are thankful for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

The teachers are dedicated beyond duty and have proven their worth with the students passing courses and the Georgia mandated test's.


Posted November 9, 2010

This school is a joke! Children run wild in the classrooms and the teachers have very little control. Due to NCLB above average students are ignored in order to try to reach state standards with those who really should be left behind. And when you tty to get extra effort out of the teachers to help your child reach their full potential, the teachers then retaliate against the children. For example, one child urinated on the feet of several classmates while sitting on the classroom. The students who "tattled" were punished for telling on him. Run from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I have no idea what the previous reviewer is talking about. The school has always been clean and smelled fine with the exception of one year when there was a sewerage problem (embarrassing for anyone!) which was promptly fixed within a short amount of time. This school has been very good for my children, with few exceptions. The classes are small, the teachers are attentive, and in the case of my youngest child, who had a VERY rough first few weeks of kindergarten, they were willing to work with me step by step to see him through the tough transition. This is a great little country school and even when we were given the chance to move to Jefferson City School, we turned it down as my children enjoy/have benefited from South Jackson so much. My children have never experienced any administration encouraged sharing of food as mentioned in the otherit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

My daughter has had a wonderful experience at SJES. The teachers care about her and her classmates. She receives individual attention and exceeded on all areas of the CRCT. I can't wait for my son to start there in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

Wow! I am So impressed!!!! My children just started school here last month. All I can say is this school is a world of differance compared to the school they attended in the past! The kids fit right in with very little, actually no transition problems! The teachers were great at helping the kids feel comfortable, and fit right in. Can't wait to have many more years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

SJES is a great scool. It was great pleasure to have met such a wonderful staff & group of teachers. They do make the childern top priorty. I could not have asked for more. Tammy Shekey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

My child had a great year! Her teacher was organized and dispersed fun and discipline in equal doses. My daughter looked forward to school every day! It was a big move for us and we couldn't have been more pleased. The lunch room music technique is an ingenius way to get kids to co-operate. The entire staff seem truly interested in making it a great experience for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I attended SJES as a child. I now have two children attending. I could not be more pleased. The faculty and staff are great. My kids love their teachers. What they have learned in the short amount of time they have been in school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

I Think the children are the number one priorty at South Jackson. All the teachers, staff members take extra time with the students and make them feel special. The after school program is one of the best in the county. The students don't want to leave when it is time to go home. They have great staff to help with student homework. This helps working parents alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

I have been involved as a parent at SJES for about 6 years. My two children have benefited greatly. My youngest child is still at SJES. Over the years I spent a lot of time communicating with the hardworking teachers here. I have dealt with some of the Special Resource Teachers who have always shown great care and concern for my children and made sure that they recieved the direction that was needed. All of the staff at SJES give of themselves for these students. The principal has knowledge of all the children and shows great interest in their needs. I think this school has been and continues to be the best experience in learning for my children. If more parents would take an active part in their child's education and work with these teachers, they would see the growth and desire to learn in their children like I have.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 44%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Black 9% 37%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pam Johns
Fax number
  • (706) 543-4032

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8144 Jefferson Rd
Athens, GA 30607
Phone: (706) 543-8798

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT