Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 55 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

114 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a great school with great teachers and a great new administrative team. My favorite part of working at Woodland is the immense diversity within the student body-- which I think can be one of the most educational experiences for a child. Our students learn so much academically, artistically, and culturally.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I have been working at Woodland Ele school for four years. Our principal, Amy Gamble is such a wonderful person. She's very professional at all times, very understanding, and a good leader.We have a great administration team. The teachers and staff here at Woodland are very friendly and professional.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary School has a strong sense of community, a committed and highly qualified staff, and a dedicated PTA program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a great school with dedicated and quality teachers/parapros/staff. The environment is wonderful for both students and teachers. There is a real sense of committment to the students and the staff and teachers are passionate about what they do. I enjoy working here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

There's a new sheriff in town at Woodland Charter Elementary School. With Mrs. Gamble at the helm, both the mood and atmosphere have changed. Much of the staff is new to the school this year although not new to teaching. The veterans are the teachers who want to be there and who are committed to the students. As a mother and a teacher, I wouldn't hesitate to send my kids to Woodland where all eyes are on the kids and there is a feeling of teamwork that may have been missing in years past.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Although I have had some concerns about Woodland in the past, I can honestly say the new Principal has really made a difference so far this year. My child has a wonderful teacher who really cares about the students learning. The work is challenging and my child comes home telling me she had fun at school today. I can really see the changing at Woodland and I am pleased with the growth and development of the school community, the teachers and staff, and the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a fantastic school! The teachers and staff are extremely dedicated. Students and staff alike are held to high expectations contributing to the continued success of Woodland.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

The teachers at Woodland are caring, dedicated, and professional. Students are challenged to meet their potential whether they are Special Education students or TAG students. The diversity of the students enriches the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary School is an outstanding school! This is my third year teaching at Woodland, and I couldn t be happier. The faculty at our school is dedicated to the success of the students. We go above and beyond in the classroom. Students are actively engaged in the learning environment. They are receiving the best education by some of the best professionals in the education field. I m proud to say I m a Woodland Wildcat!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

This is my first year teaching at Woodland and I have really enjoyed the past few months. Everyone is very friendly and takes care of each other. The teachers are dedicated to their students and go above and beyond each day. I feel very fortunate to be a part of Woodland!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is on the rise! Parents, teachers, and administrators are working together to help our little wildcats excel!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is an excellent school focused on excelling students' in all academic areas. The staff is very supportive and teachers look out for the best interest of all their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Working at Woodland Elementary feels like family. You can depend on each other to do what it takes to help students be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

If you are looking for a school that cares for the whole child then Woodland is it! Not only will your child have a great education, the teachers really care about the quality in the curriculum they teach. They have a wonderful enriched learning environment and the teachers are very accommodating.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a great school! This is my first year teaching; the staff and administration have been so supportive. Woodland provides each child with a quality education! Woodland provides differentiated instruction, which allows teachers to meet the academic needs of all students. All students receive an academically rich and safe learning environment at Woodland.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2011

This is my fourth year teaching at Woodland and have really enjoyed my experience. There are many great teachers who are helpful and really care about their students. I feel that the Administration has been supportive this year and great in providing new strategies and materials to provide a better learning experience for our students. I am glad to be a teacher at Woodland
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2011

This is my first year teaching at Woodland and I love it. Administration, especially the principal, is wonderful and supportive. My peers make me feel welcome every day and I feel a true sense of camaraderie. Most importantly, I adore my students and do my best every day to ensure that they are having fun while learning and being challenged. I have found a home at Woodland and know that anyone who chooses to work or go to school here will too.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2011

I have taught at Woodland for five years, and it has been an amazing teaching experience. The administration, parents, and staff have all been very supportive in providing the best education for the students at Woodland. The Woodland staff provides quality instructions, sets high expectations for student achievement, and works assiduously to meet the needs of all students. I enjoy every moment at Woodland. The workload and obstacles are no more at Woodland than any other school or work environment. I feel respected and empowered to express my creativity in the classroom. I was happy as a parent and remain happy as a staff for Woodland s culturally diverse and positive school climate. In my opinion, Woodland continues and will always be a school of excellence!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2011

Woodland is a four STAR school, where the number one priority is student's success and safety. The teachers are hard working and dedicated to the mission of the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2011

Do not move in this district. My daughter attended Woodland last year. My goodness, what a HORRIBLE experience. We moved at the first opportunity. I am so fortunate to have had the opportunity to move; many don't. Now my daughter attends a school with teachers who are not burnt out, children whose parents actually care about their education. The dynamics at Woodland are simply not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Gamble
Fax number
  • (770) 673-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Spalding Dr
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 551-5890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT