Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2007

We have been at High Point for years. While the school is overcrowded, the classrooms are not. The ESOL children are taken out of the classroom for special instruction, leaving the all English speaking children with quite a low ratio teacher/child. As for fundraising, we do two a year: Sally Foster & Silent Auction. We have had teachers in each grade and I can tell you without exaggeration that our children have had the best of the best experiences in learning on all levels. The teachers were fabuluos even when the administration was not. Now, with Mrs. Nash we are fortunate to have great leadership leading some of the best and most dedicated teachers. Ultimately the education anyone's child receives, regardless of where they go to school is in direct correlation to how important the child's education is to their parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Less than 3% of families living around High Point send their children there. That was the first clue. Our daughter transfered to High Point from a neighboring county and we were all unprepared for the level of disappointment. Specifically: the classrooms are overcrowded, more time has been spent translating than learning, the teachers are either brand new or ready to retire, and fundraisers are priority #1. I hope the redistricting in 2008 saves this school. Something needs to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

We ve had children at Highpoint Elementary for some time now and I thought it would be worthwhile to write and voice my support for the teachers, administration staff and parents. I have found everyone at Highpoint, from the principal on down, to be hardworking and engaging. When I drop my kids off in the morning I leave knowing their best interest, both educationally and socially, is being looked after. I attribute a large part of mine and my children s positive experience to my better half s willingness to become involved in as much as Highpoint Elementary has to offer. As I watch her and the other committed parents, I have truly come to believe that parent involvement, with a positive attitude, is a key component to success at this level. I challenge any parent who reads these postings, including myself, to become more involved. In lieu of posting negative comments on a message board visit the school, talk to teachers and staff, join the PTA and find out how you can help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

High Point is a wonderful school. The diversity at the school represents what Atlanta and this country is all about. The teachers are phenomenal whether brand new or old timers, they are focused on the children and truly WANT to TEACH. One teacher actually gave up a 100% paid scholarship in journalism at Georgia to pursue a career in teaching! One teacher is an EMT on weekends and one teacher just came from Iraq. These experiences and stories are wonderful for the children. As a parent of 6 children, 4 are at the school today so experience abounds with us at High Point. The administration is totally focused on the children with many having children at the school themselves! WE LOVE HIGH POINT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Highpoint is 59% Hispanic, with 80% free/reduced lunches, and growing at an amazing rate. With this demographic, what is being accomplished here is nothing short of miraculous! Read the reviews parents who are involved and committed love this school; parents who have issues with the demographics can t see beyond that personal blind spot. The staff, teachers and parents are building our future, struggling with realities no other school in this district has to face and they are winning! I ve been a HP Dad for 7 years now, and will be for at least 7 more. I ve seen the progress, and fully expect to continue to be wowed in the future. I m PROUD to be a part of this success story!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This is our first year at HP and I would say so far it is a mixed bag. The teachers I have met are genuinely interested in the students and have several years of class experience, the diversity is students is great. However, the administration is troubling. Example: parents were recently told of an edict from the principal: we could not walk our young children into the school, that we had to drop off from the curb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

High Point is truly an undiscovered gem! People that have not visited don't know what they are missing! The teachers & staff are first rate. They come from all around to work at High Point. A Happy Staff makes for a Happy Learning Environment. Most of my friends children go to private school. I wouldn't send my child to private school knowing that I have High Point as an option. The teachers have years of experience & those that are new come with exciting new ideas and a fresh perspective on teaching. Being in the education field myself, I understand the importance of mixing old & new ideas to make the learning environment fresh and exciting. An engaged student is a student that is learning! The Principal is available to answer any concerns that you might have. I would however, like to see more parent involvement on the volunteer side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

One of the best judges of a school is the teachers themselves. One teacher recently confided in me that she's very happy to be teaching at High Point. After spending a few years teaching in Alpharetta, she moved to High Point to be closer to home. HP is the only school where the assistant principal and principal came to her and asked what she needed to perform her job better. She really appreciated their offers to help in any way possible. I'm so happy that my child attends school where the administration and teachers work together for the good of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Highpoint is a great school. Our family has had a positive experience across the board. The teachers communicate with us on a regular basis. Our needs and concerns have always been address. And our kids are working at an above average grade level. If you want to really get to know Highpoint, get involved. Be a part of the solution instead of perpetualting problems. We as parent have the greatest influence on our children. We need to support the teachers and raise children to respect and admire the teachers and staff that give so much of themselves to enrich the students' lives. If you spend any time at the school you would see this supportive, learining evniroment. Get involved and form you own opinion rather than accepting the opinion of others
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Any parent who does not give this school at least four stars has not spent any time on campus. A three million dollar addition has brought all the homerooms inside the main building and expanded the playground. The school has recieved distinguised status for the last three years and has been awarded the status of a Georgia School of Excellence. The administration is dedicated, enthusiastic and fair. The overwhelming majority of students and parents love this school. Don't make your decision about a school based on a few people with an axe to grind who are completely ill-informed and think that diversity is a bad thing. Visit the school and make your own decision. No school is a perfect fit for everyone whether it be public or private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Any parent who rates this school higher than one star has not spent any time on campus. The teachers are either new (no experience) or ready to retire (no motivation). The administration is fully aware of the problem and does *nothing*.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

My daughter started Kindergarten at Highpoint in the Fall of 2006. She loved being a part of Highpoint and looked forward to attending everyday. She thrived in the environment and was reading full sentences by December. I think her teachers Ms. Churchwell and Ms. E did a great job. As parents we are both involved with our daughter helping her with any work assigned and have always been involved with teaching her prior to her ever being in school. Parents and teachers should work hand in hand. It is our duty to guide our children and not just leave it up to teachers and other adults who are involved in our kids' lives. In response to the comments below about the Hispanic population; I think it is great for our children to be exposed to other cultures and languages besides their own. This is the society we live in. Accept it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

My son is a 3rd grader who just attended his second year at High Point and we are greatly disappointed at this school's steady decline. Unfortunately, with public education, you do not always receive what you give. Teacher enthusiasm is great, but it is no substitute for actual teaching or a quality classroom environment. This school lacks both. As others have posted here, diversity can also be great, but this school has some serious problems. My son can learn Spanish in a Spanish class, and his early education shouldn't suffer because of this school's misguided sense of 'accommodation'. The administration is out of touch with the day to day educating of the children, and more worried about the next fundraiser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

My daughter started first grade at High Point this year and I have mixed feelings about this school. Her teachers (Ms. Pitchford & Ms. Lambert) have done a great job and my duaghter's reading & math have improved dramatically over the course of the year. The school has a huge percentage of Hispanic students, and the school seems to forget that no matter what the demographic, english is the spoken language in this country. They cater way too much to non-english speakers - to the detriment of the other kids. Also, High Point seems less like a school and more like a fund-raising foundation. They put a lot of pressure on these small children to sell things and get their parents to donate countless amounts of money, rather than focusing on education. I will be sending my daughter to private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

Yes, the principal is on-site and is a cheerleader for her teaching staff but does a poor job of addressing safety and educational student issues and working with parents. Although we were fortunate with our teachers, on several occassions I overheard others belittling young children. In light of these experiences we had and observed, to counter another review, I feel that children will find friends anywhere; this is not a reasonable criterion for a good school. Overall, I would not recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

This school is overcrowded and little playground. Teacher's are of a high standard however proncipal seems to be more concerned footware of teachers than student progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

High Point is a wonderful school with great teachers and a fabulous administration. I am confident that the education both of my children are receiving is as good as any available at any public school in the Atlanta area. I have been associated with High Point for many years and I have never seen any discipline problems that are not dealt with immediately. I never worry about the safety of my children while at school. Since Lisa Silverstien became Principal, High Point has been named a Georgia School of Excellence and received consecutive Distinguished School awards. Don't form an opinion solely based on what you read, visit the school and make the decision that is best for you and your children. Our experience has always exceeded our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

High Point is a once good school that has gotten a lot worse lately. As other people posted, many of the students are segregated into different classrooms to be politically correct. This is done with no regard to what the best situation is for the child or parent only to make sure no one is offended. It is impossible to make friends for your child at the school if you are not fluent in Spanish. The main contention we have had with the school is that bullying and violence go uncorrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

I have a child who isn't leaps and bounds above what I know but apparently he is way ahead of the students around (who are still learning colors in Pre-K). I agree - the teachers are great but this administration rations out the kids that are from affluent neighborhoods so that there is an equal distribution of race. The language barrier is so bad I feel like I am in a foreign country. Even if my child makes friends (which is the case) I can't have them over because I cannot communicate to the parents. There aren't any friends to make in the same boat as we are in (not race - language and culture!) I am all about diversity (why we wanted our child to go here) but this is ridiculous! Not sure the quality of education yet but the politically correct policies here really have me put off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

We have been at High Point Elementary for seven years. I have three children who have been educated there. My husband and I have graduate degrees and yet we decided that this was the best place for our children. Over the years, although the administration has changed, the children have received an amazing education. The teachers do a great job, care about the kids and set the bar high for them. Since Ms. Silverstein came, the teachers are happier. She is almost always on-site, and manages the school by walking around. She makes sure that the teachers do their jobs and rewards them well for a job well done. The music program is TOPS, with gifted instructors really helping the children learn, the group of parents is great! High Point School is a treasure! We are very pleased with our decision to educate our children there -- we strongly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
White 26% 44%
Black 17% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa Nash
Fax number
  • (404) 847-3294

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 Greenland Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30342
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 843-7716

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Schenck School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT