Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spalding Drive Elementary School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2007

I am continually amazed by this school.We moved here from New York 5 years ago.I had been told by several parents to start looking for private schools because the public school system in Atlanta was awful.Spalding proves the critics wrong. The experienced teachers, the student to teacher ratio,the quality education based on each student individually. The list goes on and on. The parents are involved at Spalding.I know that they are in a warm and educational environment. The teachers are very accessable. The PTA is very supportive and active at Spalding. There is a non-profit foundation that was started last year to fund great programs for the kids. There is also an outstanding music and art program where my Pre-k and 2nd grader know VanGoh,Mozart and can't wait to join the symphony! I love our school and so do my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Spalding Drive Charter is an amazing school. Music, Art, Acting, Technology-all at one of the lowest teacher/student ratios around. My 1st grader did a powerpoint presentation for me this month! Respect is taught and expected and the staff truly cares for the children and their academic achievement. As with most programs-what YOU put into the school is 10 times what your child will get out it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

This school is wonderful! My son is in kindergarten there and I am so amazed at how involved you can be as a parent! It is very encouraged and the teachers are very experienced and constantly communicate with the parents to inform them of the progress their child is making. I definitely made the right decision here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

We moved from Virginia in March, and my daughters started in 1st and 2nd grade during the last grading quarter of the schoolyear. We were really impressed with this school, the teachers, and the programs. We loved the small classroom sizes, as well as the level of parental involvement. Our daughters felt truly welcomed and adjusted quickly and effectively. My oldest daughter even made the A Honor Roll! The level of communication from the teachers was excellent. Again, this school welcomed my children with open arms and provided the proper supports for them to excel in what could have been a very difficult situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

I have had children at Spalding since 2000. We have been very happy with the overall experience they have had. Each child is challenged at their level and allowed/encouraged to excel. It is a safe environment where good behavior is expected and realized. The teachers and staff are friendly and caring. The PTA is strong and getting stronger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

We are in our second year at Spalding and are so pleased with the school. The teachers are excellent, the classes are small and the school is committed to challenging each child at their individual level. There is a great group of very involved parents and the school really feels like a family. My daughter is so happy there and I am grateful that she can get such a great education in a diverse environment. She has a great peer group of friends. I feel her education will make her well-rounded and prepare her for life in our global society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2004

My three children love Spalding, and it is amazing how much the teachers care about and challenge the students to their educational potential. We find Spalding to have an inviting environment that promotes learning with a neighborhood school feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2004

We love Spalding! My children have the opportunity to experience a wonderfully diverse environment without any of the drawbacks. First, there is such a balanced mix of ethnicity that you don't see 'mostly white' or 'mostly hispanic' - you just see 'mostly kids' (the way it should be!) Although some of the children come from homes where English is not spoken there is really no language barrier there. Spalding's ESOL program is a magical thing! And as for my children, who are in the gifted program, they are challenged and engaged with above-level course work. They love their school! The staff is outstanding, and the PTA is phenomenal with 100% membership!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

78 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 23% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (770) 673-4070

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 West Spalding Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30328
Phone: (770) 551-5880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Epstein School
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT