Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 95 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Atlanta High School 4

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter spent middle school in a Buckhead private school and then requested to come to NOrth Atlanta. So far I have been impressed with the curriculum. There are courses that she can take here like Advanced Placement courses that were not available to her at her private school as a 9th grader. She loves North Atlanta and quickly got involved on the volleyball team and so far is excelling in all of her subjects. She intends to take advantage of the Move on When Ready option and the IB diploma. Again, two options that were not available to her at the private school. She did tell me there was a fight in the cafeteria one day. She is not used to any fighting in school so that was very shocking to her but she said that it only happened once. She likes her teachers and she is getting the academic rigor in her gifted/honors classes and her AP classes. So far so good! The principal is very engaged and holds regular coffee meetings with parents. The facility itself is beautfiul. I think with any educational setting it is going to be what you make of it. Get in and get involved. Whether public or private parents must be involved and supplement your educational program with outside educational programming. Parent and student involvment is key.

North Atlanta High School 4

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
I have two students in the IB program and we have been very happy with the rigor and the opportunities offered at NAHS. Yes, it's tough, but teachers are supportive and my children will be very prepared for College. No school is perfect and we've heard stories from friends who are paying $20k+ for private schools about how they have to deal with bad teachers and troubled teens! The core group of parents that support our school is a huge benefit. Very sharp, professional group of men and women. If anything needs to be addressed they work to partner with the administration to make things right. Plus, it is a very diverse, global environment where the students are making friends from all different backgrounds and getting real life experiences here that will help them once they graduate. Love NAHS!

North Atlanta High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
An IB student typically has 4-5 hours of homework every night, too much in my book.

North Atlanta High School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Wow, what a campus! It's a beautiful campus with amazing sports facilities. We have been there since 9th and came from private because of IB and the high acceptance rate for UGA and GA Tech. She has inspiring teachers, great friends and we as a family have a community(village) of people who are greatly involved with the school and students. We are very happy there.

North Atlanta High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
The values listed here (honesty, integrity, and fairness) could all use more attention at North Atlanta High. And also from within North Atlanta High families. These are values that take root in the home, and thrive in an also demanding high school environment with such strong expectations of its student body.

North Atlanta High School 4

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
North Atlanta High School (NAHS) is a living, breathing, comprehensive, and wildly diverse urban American campus and environment. It reflects the overall, blended community of Atlanta, Georgia very well, and it also reflects a truthful environment in and from which students will eventually be living, working, and playing as young adults. NAHS is not a sheltered, cloistered space by any means, and therein are its very strengths. North Atlanta High simply IS the society we live in. And the diverse student body reflects that. That said, the teaching staff is not cultivated from the very tip top of educators. Many seem to have a difficult time with a, sometimes, unwieldy student body. But as with the student body, there are many gems in the fewer rough patches. There are truly many rewards to be found within the overall NAHS teaching and administrative staff. If your child is an achiever, socially robust, active and engaged with the world around them, and is at NAHS to have a reality-based and strong college preparatory experience, and they are part of the International Baccalaureate (IB) program, then North Atlanta is an excellent choice of high school. The student, and the family, with engagement and commitment to their school and the overall community surrounding them should be happy, socially and academically involved, and thrive with their years at North Atlanta. Strong achievers matriculating from North Atlanta High all seem to merge gracefully on to great colleges and fine careers as committed citizens of the world, going on with a forward-thinking, sophisticated approach to leading interesting and engaged lives.

North Atlanta High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the Atlanta Public Schools system, overall, needs to actively recruit, hire, and retain a far better level of teachers, and pay them accordingly, than the system currently reflects. There are some to first-rate teachers. And then there are just some real dud losers too.

North Atlanta High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
I am NO fan of, nor advocate for, homework in absurd amounts. I feel strongly that too much homework effects family life at home after school hours, and that it causes an otherwise naturally high achieving student way too much unneeded stress. I'd like to see homework loads greatly diminished at NAHS. I find them worthless, and have yet to hear anyone justify, to my satisfaction, why copious amounts of out-of-class work are required in some classes.

North Atlanta High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
Sometimes I feel these attributes are emphasized at NAHS. As long as the leadership at NAHS is not in a continual state of administering discipline, and spending all their attention and time on any disrespectful and unruly students.

North Atlanta High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I think all the administrators and teachers really do strive towards developing a respectful and engaged student body. Students need to strive equally hard to meet fully, truthfully respectful standards of conduct and commitment to themselves and their fellow students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Atlanta High School
4111 Northside Pkwy. NW, Atlanta, GA  30327
(404) 802-4700
Last modified North Atlanta High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Atlanta High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. Top