Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $309,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

170 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

Because they care for my children in a loving, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

We have been a part of the OLA family for 13 years. I can say that the children are well taught and well loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

OLA Catholic School provides a nurturing environment combined with excellent spiritual and academic instruction! The school community is filled with involved parents, great teachers and fantastic students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

OLA Catholic School provides a nurturing environment combined with excellent spiritual and academic instruction! The school community is filled with involved parents, great teachers and fantastic students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

OLA Catholic School is warm, nuturing, yet academically challenging and has a great, close-knit community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

A wonderful Catholic school with caring teachers and strong family support. The only drawback (and it's a big one) is the lack of a strong middle school math program. My children went on to Marist and then to competitive colleges; however, the lack of pre-algebra spots available in middle school caused them to be behind in math in high school. Every other subject they excelled in and were well prepared for after their years at OLA. Switch your students to Marist or another middle school, if possible to avoid the math deficiency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

I can't begin to express how pleased we have been with OLA. It provides a quality education and makes all feel as though we are part of a community. It will certianly prepare students for Marist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

OLA is a great school with fantastic teachers/students. had a great experience and was more than ready to continue at Marist. I suspect that the 1st (poor) student review was from a former student that finds it easier to blame outside factors for his/her own failures.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2008

Great Education. Great value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Worst school i ever went to. It did not prepare me at all for when i went to Marist. Unless you hate your child, dont send them here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 44%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Hearst Drive Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone: (404) 364-1902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marist School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT