Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Private
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 228
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Howard School 3

Posted August 23, 2013
- a teacher
The Howard School named its library after a woman that no one at the school has ever known.

The Howard School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing. My son has Mixed Language Expressive Receptive Processing Disorder. He has a language delay as well. He entered into this school last year and it has made such a difference in his life. He now has confidence, can read, is part of the movie club, the art club and more. The administration is wonderful and the teachers are unbelievable. Teachers are wonderful! and amazing to work with! The Lower School is wonderful and there is a great lower school principal that is great with amazing counselors. They are worth the money that we pay to have our son go there. I hope we can stay forever!


The Howard School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
The Howard School has been a Godsend for our family! Our son has OCD, and experienced extreme anxiety in his large public high school. He missed nearly 25% of his freshman year due to anxiety-related absences, and really struggled to make friends. While we knew he was bright, his grades suffered because of missing classes and coping with stress. We transferred him to Howard in his sophomore year. The class sizes are small, and the teachers get to know they students well. Our son has been challenged academically, but has been given accommodations when he needs them. There is a lot of discussion in class, and students have the opportunity to really delve deeply into their subjects. Our son was readily accepted by the other students, and he now has good friends. He rarely misses a day of school, and his grades have improved significantly. He's had opportunities to play school sports that he never would have in a 2,000-student public school. He did very well on the SAT and the ACT and he will graduate this spring and attend college in the fall. Our son is now a happy, confident young man, and Howard gets the credit! We cannot recommend it highly enough.

The Howard School 4

Posted December 27, 2011
- a parent
A different approach does, indeed, make all the difference. For parents of students with LD struggling in the public or private schools in the Atlanta area, consider the howard school. This curriculum is geared for student success with eventual matriculation ot colleges or vocational based secondary education. The teachers are committed and the campus is inclusive and welcoming. Although not academically rigorous, the program reinforces independence, progression and success for students.

The Howard School 5

Posted December 13, 2011
- a community member
Disregard all negative reviews on this site I am a senior this year at the Howard school with severe dyslexia and there is no better place to be than right here I started in ninth grade and could hardly read and now I can read just about anything the teachers are great they strive for independence and the curriculum is challenging as it should be it is not behind in any way!! If your child has a learning disability and this is coming from a student at Howard this is where they need to be!!!


The Howard School 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
We began our journey at The Howard School January 2011. We have a daughter with dyslexia and all that goes with it. We were shut out of several of the Buckhead schools mid-year that accept children with reading and language difficulties. However, Howard realized that when a child is diagnosed with learning challenges, immersion needs to begin immediately. She is in the lower school and has made such amazing progress in understanding and comprehending what she reads. Math continues to be a challenge, but the tools Howard provides students will help her in the years to come. I fully believe that early diagnosis and immersing her at Howard will provide the best foundation for her in the years to come. I realize with the focus on getting them to read, write and compute math at grade level, they may miss things in other subjects. It will be easy to make up in the years to come. Plus...who really ever used what they learned in 2nd grade earth science anyway.

The Howard School 2

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
The Howard School has been a big disappointment. After three years on high expecations for our ADHD child, we have given up and are much poorer for it. THS averages down child with ADHS to make them feel like they are smarter. However, the disservice is that they do not keep up academicallly. Our child is older and further behind his age group three year later. Do not waste your time or money on this school. It is a loser!

The Howard School 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is amazing!! Our journey with the special needs of a dyslexic & LD child has taken us through 5 schools. The 5th being the Howard school. I wish he could have been here all along , but after 2 years he's an 8th grader now and will definitely stay to be a graduate. In the first year his reading and comprehension rose 4 grade levels. They totally got him and started his "happy days". His self esteem is soaring and he is aware how to accommodate himself to get his studies done. He actually told us he definitely wants to take their summer program to get started on his high school maths! ( He used to dread school! ) He has lots of friends now, ( he used to be very quiet and play alone.) The changes we have seen make the tuition so much easier to pay. Of course if you have a special needs child you know the tuition isn't cheap at any of the schools because these children need low ratio classes and highly qualified teachers. We have experienced teachers that go above and beyond expectations.Their motto is " A Different Approach Makes All the Difference", and it certainly does.


The Howard School 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
The Howard School saved my child. She entered as a high-school sophomore and is graduating this year. She was identified with ADD in 5th grade, and even with "accommodations", public school (in a high-achieving school district) was not helping her academically, and was destroying her self-esteem. She could still be stronger academically, but at least she knows she is valued for her strengths and as a person. I think she now has a good chance to go to college and succeed. Her teachers really showed her that they believe in her and think she has a unique voice that deserves to be heard. Also, as a parent, I appreciate the tone of parent/teacher interactions. I finally feel like a team member working with my child and her school, instead of fighting for my child to be served appropriately.

The Howard School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
This is our third year at The Howard School. My son has always felt supported while being challenged and looks forward to each day. The staff and teachers are excellent; we are lucky to have a school like Howard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Howard School
1192 Foster Street Northwest, Atlanta, GA  30318
(404) 377-7436
Last modified The Howard School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
The Howard School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top